We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kutuma to your Saves list
Hotel Kutuma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2x 3l7, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Puerto RIco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

The hotel is awesome, beautiful, cozy, and has a very good service. I was a little afraid because I could not found enough reviews to make my decision but I took my risk and it was worth it. Also this hotel is in the middle of downtown so every thing is near to the Hotel. I really have a very pleasant stay in this hotel and I really recommended to anyone. The only constraint is that hotel lacks elevator for the four floors that have.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — elevator
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    59
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
170
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Fantastic stay at this hotel. The location is great, on the busy Rue St Denis (though the rooms are surprisingly quiet). The rooms are decorated in an african theme, and are really well equipped. We were upgraded into a suite with a fabulous bathroom (whirlpool bath for two) and small kitchen.
The staff were helpful and very polite. The restaurant downstairs is excellent. The only minor problem we had was regarding breakfast. There is no info on it in the hotel information booklet in your room, so we asked at reception what time it was served, and were told half eight til half ten. We were then told we could have it delivered to our room if we wished, but we declined, and said we'd just come down, assuming it would be served in the restaurant. Following morning we came down and a different member of staff was at reception - we were told breakfast was only served in the rooms and had to be reserved the night before. This really hadn't been communicated to us the previous evening so we were a little put out. However, about ten mins later there was a phonecall to our room, and they had prepared us a continental breakfast which arrived soon after.
Overall the room quality and service more than made up for this misunderstanding, but perhaps the management should put info about breakfast in the rooms, or make sure that guests are told about it at check-in.
Would definately stay here again and would recommend to a friend.

  • Liked — the room and the service
  • Disliked — confusion about breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

SPOTLESS, helpful staff, wonderful Ethiopian restaurant downstairs. The bathroom was FAB.U.LOUS. The bed was super comfortable and it's in a fab location. I loved this little jewel of a B&B. Worth every nickle. We booked it last minute just for a little getaway and I would return again without hesitation. It's wonderful!

  • Liked — It was a perfect romantic getaway!
  • Disliked — There were a lot of stairs..
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

CUTE little hotel with lovely decor, recess lights and wall heaters all around room. It's a deadly cozy full comp little studio with a kitchenette which includes a microwave, fridge, plates and cutlery, kettle and extremly kind and sweet staff. It was my hubby's b'day and they ensured chocos and champagne was waiting for him upon arrival. Lydia was ever so helpful with pointers on where to go. I believe there are only a few rooms (nine) but the touch is so so personal. Full lenght mirrors with makeup zoom mirror in the bathroom (u would be amazed how many chains lack full lenght/head to toe mirrors). Iron/ironing board, cable, disposable tooth brushes, lotion and shampo and a tasty Kutuma brand of coffee which I already miss :(
There is a balcony. View is nothing to write home about but it's just a nice to sit out there.
I hope my review and pictures helps anyone thinking of booking a room here. The price, location and service surpasses most 5 star hotels. You won't be disappointed. Kutuma is on St Denis Street (Rue St Denis) a block away from the Sherbrooke metro on the orange line and very, very close to all the action including walking distance to Old town and downtown.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phila
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2008

After reading all the reviews on the tripadvisor (thanks for all your advice and opinions), we decided to give it a try--

We loved our room-- it was very cozy and we felt like we were in our own small studio!

To update any previous reviews, the bathrooms now have a proper showerhead, so taking a shower was no problem at all!

The service was great-- very friendly and genuine people-- even gave us a big umbrella as a souvenir, which they provide at the hotel entrance for the convenience of the guests.

I did hear that the restuarant downstairs is great but did not have enough time to go try it-- so many good restaurants in this city~

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2008

Just returned from a great weekend stay at Hotel Kutuma. The hotel is in a great location - close to restaurants, shopping and night life. Our room was very comfortable and nicely furnished as was the entire hotel. Even though it is a small establishment (9 guest rooms) we felt completely safe and secure. The highlight of the hotel is definitely the staff - we found them to be always pleasant and willing to offer assistance. They really went the extra mile. The hotel lobby is currently under construction but it in no way impacted our experience. My only regret is that I didn't get to try the hotel restaurant but I will definitely make that a priority next time I visit.

  • Liked — The location and amazing staff
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2007

Was sick of staying in boring big chains for my Montreal business trips and Kutuma got great reviews on Trip Advisor. It lived up to my expectations. I can't believe how nice everything was for the price.
- Great location on St. Denis.
- The African theme is fun and well-executed.
- The hotel upgraded my room upon arrival so I ended up with a gorgeous junior suite with balcony for my $115/night. Incredible deal.
- The bed rivals the Westin's dream bed, soft music is playing when you arrive in your room.
- there was a complimentary disposable toothbrush for each night of my stay in addition to the regular creams and shampoos, etc. I've forgotten my toothbrush tons of times when traveling so I thought that was cool.
- Complimentary big bottle of Kutuma-brand bottled water.
- There was a funky kitchenette not only in my jr. suite but also in my colleague's standard queen room.
- The staff was really helpful and friendly.
- The dinner downstairs at the Nil Bleu was really good. -Complimentary desert was a nice touch.
- There's no elevator but there are only 4 floors so no big deal for me.
I'm giving this hotel a 5 despite the 2 issues below because frankly I really enjoyed myself and the value was amazing.
- I couldn't get an internet connection (the wireless is free, which is great, but I couldn't get a connection and asked for a cable to plug into the connection directly, they gave me one and hooked up my computer for me but that didn't work either - i gave up and didn't bother asking again)
- There is no shower (i don't see why they don't just add a hook up on to the wall since there is a hand held shower) and because everyone is taking giant baths in the soaker tubs instead, there was no water at all on our first morning and no hot water on the second. Also, my plug didn't work (I didn't complain though so don't know if it would have been fixed or if I would have been offered a new room) From a convenience and an environmental standpoint (think of all the extra water massive tubs take to fill vs. a quick shower) this sucked.

  • Liked — Great rooms, ridiculously comfy bed, fun decor, fantastic service.
  • Disliked — internet problems, water problems.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2x 3l7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kutuma 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kutuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.