We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond In The Rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kutuma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2x 3l7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Mt Isa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Diamond In The Rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

What a Gem!!! After a lot of perusing different accommodations in Montreal, we finally decided on Hotel Kutuma. This turned out to be a great choice. From the first greeting on our arrival, to enjoying dinner in their Restaurant Le Nil Bleau,to the final smile on our departure, we couldn't have asked for anything more. We stayed in Room 203, which was on the first floor, with a Balcony. King sized bed, amazing bathroom, luxury amenities, a full kitchen and sofa. We only had one night here, much to our disappointment. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend Hotel Kutuma to any visitor, both Tourist or Canadian who visit Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    55
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
151
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Unfortunately for us we stayed one night at Hotel Kutuma. At first blush the hotel looks like a motel from the outside but once you step inside the rooms you are treated to many luxury amenities: King sized bed, amazing bathroom and tub, tribal decor. Our room also had a balcony and full kitchen and sofa. Great value for the money. Would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My husand and I decided to go to Montreal for our 20th Wedding anniversary and stayed her for 4 nights. This hotel was highly recommended to us and we were not disappointed. The room was small but romantic with luxury items to make your stay more eventful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too difficult for them and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was clean with a very comfortable king size bed, small kitchen and coffee machine which came in very handy every morning. The hotel was within walking distance to great resturants, bars, and shopping that Montreal had to offer. I would hightly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Montreal and would definitely come back and stay here agin.

Room Tip: Any room that you get is unique, there are no rooms alike which makes this hotel a stand out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The hotel is located in our new favourite neighbourhood in Montreal, Le Plateau. It is surrounded by some of the best restaurants, bars and shopping in the city. It is a short walk or a Metro stop or two away from everything great Montreal has to offer. As for the hotel itself, the staff was great and our room was incredible. We stayed in the Deluxe Suite. First of all, it was a steal at $180 a night (booked on booking.com). It had a full kitchen (including a coffee AND espresso maker), living room, extra wide king size bed, HUGE bathroom with jacuzzi tub as well as a fire escape/balcony for the smokers. We had a great stay and couldn't have asked for anything more. It was the perfect combination of location, comfort/cleanliness & value! Also, the Ethiopian restaurant on the main floor is excellent and definately worth stopping in for a meal if you like ethiopian food (and why wouldn't you like ethiopian food...it's sooo good!)
Book a room & enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Pros- Great location
Friendly staff
Clean
Quiet
Cons-Smell(fried onions) from adjoining restaurant was everywhere
No view, dark room could hardly tell if it was night or day
Weird "rain forest' like shower was awkward.
Not cheap($160.00 CAN per night)

I really wanted to like this hotel ,but the cons outweighed the pros for me YMMV

Room Tip: If you do decide on this hotel..ask for a room on the top floor with a street view.Maybe the smell w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide River, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for a mini-getaway. This hotel exceeded my expectations. It is very small- I think only 9 rooms, with a restaurant downstairs. The staff were friendly and the room was awesome. It had a mini kitchen which was handy, and the bed was very comfy. The location is also very good, 3 minutes to the subway and a short walk from huge strip of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Part of the appeal of this hotel is it's cleanliness; barely used hotel products were replaced daily (even candles). Staff offered us an umbrella on our way out and seemed quite friendly. The kitchenette was useful especially for snacks, the hotel also provided kitchen tools (cutting boards, pots and knife). The air conditioner worked REALLY well.

The hotel doesn't offer a view of the city, and the balcony is shared with others, so when the curtains are open people are free to peer in.

We weren't interested in trying the restaurant (blue nil). The room is stocked with a few small shots of espresso but no coffee or tea.

The area is nice for small restaurants and shops and is conveniently located near the metro. The nightlife is not huge here, things seemed to close around 10.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if you don't like taking the stairs a room on the first or second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2x 3l7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kutuma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kutuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.