We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the ONE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kutuma

Save Saved
You added Hotel Kutuma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kutuma
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2x 3l7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Rutland, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“This is the ONE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

It pains me to share this but out of fairness to my fellow trip advisor reviewers and the owners of this establishment, this find needs to be exposed.

Been staying in Montreal for many years and this small hotel is at the top of the list for cleanliness, location, price, and value. Staff couldn't be more professional, friendly and do enough for you. How about candles at the end of the tub in the travertine lined bathroom or an umbrella in the wardrobe just in case it rains? Or valet parking for $15? Perhaps you need an outstanding bakery steps from the hotel, it's there! Using the metro?..how about a two block walk to Sherbrooke? Many choices for cafes and bistros within walking distance on St. Denis.

There is no doubt about it, I will be back again and again but the next time with my wife.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so if stairs are a challenge for you, request the second floor but you will sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    53
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
148
19
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great little hotel with good service small but clean and well maintained rooms locally on St-Denis and Sherbrook street. Stayed there a while ago but have a good feeling when remember it, in addition to their famous Ethiopian food. I'd recommend but please make sure all your requests are expressed in advanced. Also calm and silent inside the room... even if its downtown.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a room with kitchenette and a nice little lounge area - very cozy and stylish if you are fond of animal print! Service was good - apart from our departure where we couldn't get an itemized bill. Hotel Kutuma is located in a very nice street with lots of restaurants and close by is the metro - Sherbrooke. We will definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Let us add to the chorus of voices praising Hotel Kutuma. It begins with a great staff led by a superbly friendly and helpful manager, Tafari (not sure of spelling). Michael (an intern during our stay) was quite helpful as well, along with several others. All were great! The room was excellent as well but keep in mind there is no elevator so you might need to climb some stairs. The location was superb if you want the ambiance (and convenience) of staying in the Plateau district--easy walking distance to multiple bars and eateries. Among them is Zero 8, specializing in a menu 100 percent friendly to people with the eight main food allergies, including wheat for those with celiac disease. To our knowledge it is the only such "food allergy-free safe eating" restaurant in Montreal, and the food was decent. For reference, Hotel Kutuma is perhaps a 20-25 minute hike to the old town/harbor. As for parking, the staff drives your car to an undisclosed secure (but open to the elements) location for a daily hotel rate or you can park just up the street in an enclosed parking ramp for a couple of bucks more. We went the hotel parking route. All in all, we were very pleased with Hotel Kutuma!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great hotel!!
When we arrived we were told there was a plumbing problem with our room. At first we will a little disappointed. However the hotel staff solved the problem very quickly : we were taken by the hotel owner to another hotel for one night and upgraded to another room for the rest of our stay (3 nights). We were very impressed with the efficiency and friendliness of the staff. The room we had for the rest of our stay was amazing : a huge suite with jacuzzi and bathroom. The room was very clean, superbly furnished and decorated, and well equiped (including the fully equiped kitchen). The hotel is very quiet and relaxing even though the room was on the main street. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant (Le Nil Bleu) and it was delicious! The hotel is also close to the city center (Latin quarter just 5 minutes by foot). We would definitely recommend the hotel and return for a future visit to Montreal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Completely redone room had a huge comfortable king size bed, fridge, microwave and lovely sitting area with a couch and coffee table. Bathroom was beautifully appointed with a large bath and shower with overhead and side jets. We were on the 4th floor so wifi was hit and miss. No elevator but hotel staff were happy to carry luggage up and down. Lovely French bakery a few doors south on the same side of the street for coffee and a pastry called Mamie Clafoutis. Delicious eggs benedict breakfast another morning for $5.45 across the street and north of the convent. Make sure to get the valet parking for $17. Parking is impossible to find. We received a $86 ticket for parking on St. Denis between 7 and 9:30 a.m. Ate at the Nil Bleu, the hotel Ethiopian restaurant, one evening. Good vegetarian/vegan fare. Would recommend this hotel for location and well appointed room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I booked this hotel as a curiosity on our short stay in Montreal and it worked really well for us. The location between the cool shopping section of St Denis and the Latin quarters made it really convenient for us. The tourist main attractions are 2-3 metro stops away and the nearest station is just 2 block away. City bikes are available one block north and a great bakery is just 50 meters down the street.
The hotel itself looked a bit suspicious from outside, but from inside it was clean and the rooms were quite spacious and quiet (I would ask for a room facing the yard, even though you won't get any views). The only caution is that there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep.
We had only a quick snack at the restaurant but wished we had had time for a proper meal as the snacks were tasty and the service was good.

Room Tip: St Denis street is quite busy so I would ask a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Kutuma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kutuma

Address: 3708 St. Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2x 3l7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kutuma 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kutuma classified as 4 stars Boutique Hotel, located in the heart of Montreal on St. Denis Street around a historical area of about 15 blocks or so filled with boutiques, cafes, restaurants and bars. Easy walking access to festival sites, Old Montreal, downtown and Mont Royal Park. Ideal Hotel for romantic getaways for the perfect wedding honeymoon, for long and short term. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Kutuma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kutuma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.