We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Historic, and Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast
305 East Ontario Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1H7, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Romantic, Historic, and Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

My husband and I were looking for a nice place to stay where we would be comfortable staying in the room to relax and close to interesting areas of the city so we could explore. This B&B was perfect. The house is gorgeously restored. The room was so romantic (although a bit dark) with the clawfoot tub, pedestal sink, and comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious, and we had to walk through a secret door behind a portrait to get there! We took advantage of the billiards table on a rainy day, loved the free wi-fi and computers in the entry, and appreciated the central air and strong hot shower in the room (very modern conveniences in such an historic building). The neighborhood is filled with restaurants and bars, so you don't have to go far for nice affordable food. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
77
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

Location is in heart of Latin Quarter, easy to walk to cafes, restaurants & shops. On the internet they gave us choices for parking (from $7-$24 USD a day) but no one could, on arrival, even give us directions to these places. Rooms are average size, bed was comfortable, bathrooms small, but we, too, had street facing window which was very loud on Saturday night until almost 5am. Home does have a history and it is displayed along with some modern furnishing. What others fail to tell you in reviews is that yes, the breakfast is mostly breads, jams, light fair BUT.... YOU get your plates & silverware, YOU get your coffee, and YOU get your ONE freshly squeezed orange juice from refrigerator (yes, there is even a sign inside frig "only one juice per guest" ). We spent one morning attempting a pleasant breakfast all the while the kitchen helpers stood and starred at us ... very uncomfortable feeling. The owner can not spell hospitality ..... never even introduced himself for all the days we stayed, only approached my wife on last day for the "who will pay" question. How about at least a "how was your stay?". Feels more like a quaint impersonal hotel and there are, at least by quick count, 3 dozen more places within five minutes of this hotel. Although, if in the area we can definitely recommend two very good eateries La Brioche Lyons for wonderful crepes and The Virgin Restaurant (fairly new) for a great dinner. Both, are on Rue Saint Denis, south of Rue Ontario.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

This place was so quirky and charming I never wanted to leave. From the "special" door to handsome clawfoot tubs overlooking the lively streets, this place has it all. I should mention the breakfasts consisted more of breads and cheeses than traditional breakfast...but I thought it was DELISH!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2009

A wonderful choice for my quick four day visit to Montreal. This turn of the century house feels very warm and inviting. It is extremely comfortable, well appointed, and has gracious hosts. In short, one could not ask for a more gracious experience in Montreal! It is easy walking distance to the metro, to St Cathrine, St Denis, wonderful shops, nightlife, restaurants, etc. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

My fiance (we actually got engaged on our trip to Montreal) stayed here for several nights and thought it was fabulous. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Montreal-- especially if you like historic buildings, claw-foot tubs, pool tables, and delicious breakfasts.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RWC, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

My wife and I stayed in this B&B for 4 nights and we loved it. The Pink room is big and is on a very quite garden side of the building.
The location of the B&B on rue Ontario one short block from rue st. Denis is absolutely great. A lot of very good restaurants in the neighborhood. 10 minutes by foot to Vieux Montreal.

The B&B itself is in a very nice restored Victorian. All the amenities available including wireless Internet.

Breakfasts served by Dennis and his staff were delicious. I have never eaten such wonderful French country bread.

The next time we come to Montreal we'll definitely stay at the Victorian Heritage B&B.

  • Liked — a large quiet room
  • Disliked — steep stairs
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

We stayed at this B&B on our honeymoon. The room was big and comfy...and breakfasts were out of this world! We enjoyed the view from our room out to the busy street, as well as sitting in the garden behind the house in the mornings. The neighborhood was fantastic, busy, and we felt right at home. We would recommend to our friends and family and would stay there again!

  • Liked — Comfortable room with great breakfast!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 305 East Ontario Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 1H7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Villa Right Downtown Montreal. Sumptuous rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Heritage b&b
Victorian Heritage Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian Heritage Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.