We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gay Village's best place to stay for its convenience, service and price.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dorion

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dorion to your Saves list
Hotel Dorion
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Dorion
1477 rue Dorion, Montreal, Quebec H2K 4A4, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Gay Village's best place to stay for its convenience, service and price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

I have been staying in the Hotel Dorion during all of my stays in Montreal for the last 15 years due to its convenient location in the Gay Village and because of its reasonable prices. During my recent stay at the Hotel Dorion, I was pleasantly surprised by all of the improvements in the hotel since my last visit two years ago. A new wing has been added which is nicer than the old section with its attractive, clean, modern rooms and with air conditioning. My room also had a refrigerator and a fabulous Jacuzzi. Other improvements are that the hotel now offers a continental breakfast on weekends, fresh coffee is available 24 hours a day and the hotel now has wireless Internet service.

The most noticeable improvement is the competent new management of the hotel, especially Joanne, who is a delight to be around and who is completely on top of the situation. Raymond and Carlos were also very helpful to us and very friendly. The bilingual staff provided good service and a friendly atmosphere at the Hotel Dorion. Everyone that I encountered was very accommodating, such as helping me with driving directions or making sure that I have fresh towels and everything that I need in my room. I like the fact that the staff, obviously, cares about their guests.

With the new improvements at the Hotel Dorion, I wouldn’t consider staying anywhere else in Montreal. For convenience and service at a reasonable price, it is the best place to stay in the Gay Village. I would definitely recommend it to my friends!

  • Liked — Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff.
  • Disliked — NA
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    10
    3
    2
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
11
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
west hollywood
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

even though this hotel is located directly above club taboo (gay strip club), it is very quiet. plus the staff members are very nice and the rooms are clean.. a metro (subway) station is located very close by as well as banks, grocery store, and of course gay clubs. old montreal and chinatown are within walking distance. my only reservation about this hotel are the staircases......they are fairly steep so you'll get plenty of exercise even while walking up to the front desk area. be sure to ask for a non-smoking room if you don't smoke.

the hotel dorion is a good place to stay regardless of what your budget is.

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — walking up/down the stairs
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany ny
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2006

I stayed at the Hotel Dorion from Christmas through the New Year 2006 and I believe it was a good value the price..
The 24/7 staff was very friendly, it has a secure entrance that you have to buzz to gain entrance..It is within walking distance of the Gay Village..The linens were clean, there is no room service, but they will exchange towels, sheets, etc. if you bring them to the front desk..They have a continental breakfast on weekends which is ok because there are some great restaurants nearby..The Metro Papeniau is across the street, a supermarket on the corner, a Drugstore on another corner, The Taboo [----] club and bar downstairs..The showers can however be kinda tricky with the hot water adjustments..I am returning this winter and I will be staying in the new addition..The rooms are suppose to be larger and quiter..We'll see..

  • Liked — The Location
  • Disliked — The water temperature swing in the shower..
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2005

The Hotel Dorion was quite nice, seemed to be recently remodeled, bathrooms were new, and there were no problems with noise from the bar downstairs from the 3rd floor, which is where I believe all the overnight rooms are located. The A/C in the room was provided by a window unit which was noisy but not any more so than units I have owned in the past. The staff were very pleasant. However the room absolutely reeked of tobacco smoke, to the point that I had difficulty breathing and felt really sick at points. To be fair the hotel has no-smoking signs plastered all over the place, so this is mostly a case of the patrons being . However one would think they could install those very sensitive smoke detectors as they have in airplanes or take some other kind of measures to solve this problem. In any case I would recommend this as a great budget hotel for those who smoke or live with a smoker and are used to the smell. Otherwise, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2005

Located in Montreal's gay village, and above a male dancer bar, this hotel is popular with gay men. Whilst the music from the bar downstairs was not loud, this isn't a quiet hotel - 'though you can certainly get a good night's sleep okay.

The gay village is buzzing with bars, clubs and restaurants so this is an ideal location for anyone on a budget like I was ($60 Canadian) wanting to be able to walk back after 3am.

The room was adequate. Clean room and linen, comfortable bed and enough space. Color TV with cable channels, air conditioning, telephone in the room. The ensuite bathroom was very small with a shower but, again, adequate.

You enter the hotel by a buzzer at the front door, reception is on the second floor. Video cameras monitor all coridoors which are clean and well lit.

Breakfast is only available at weekends, but there is a fab. cafe just across the road. Subway is just one short block from the hotel. Nearest bar is ten yards from the hotel.

Hotel address: Hotel Dorion, 1477 Dorion, Montreal H2K 4A4.
Tel. ------------ or toll-free ------------

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dorion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dorion

Address: 1477 rue Dorion, Montreal, Quebec H2K 4A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dorion is proud to offer clean and cozy rooms at affordable prices. We are but a few footsteps away from St. Catherine street which houses numerous restaurants of all ethnicities, cafes and shopping. Your room will be refreshed every day and there is always someone at the reception desk who is more than happy to help you in any way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Dorion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dorion Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dorion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.