We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Authentic Crepes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Breizh cafe

Breizh cafe
3991, boulevard saint-Laurent, Montreal, Quebec H2W 1Y4, Canada
514-419-5634
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: French, Bistro, Creperie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Falmouth, MA
Top Contributor
396 reviews 396 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“Excellent and Authentic Crepes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This place reminded me of a crepe restaurant in Paris with the same name. We had a gallette with egg, ham, cheese, and caramelized onions (which I can still taste) followed by a crepe doused with chocolate and a salted caramel sauce. The service was friendly and the atmosphere pleasant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Delicious and authentic French crepes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Came here with my mother on a whim, and neither of us regret it!
Had the "chevrette" and "oceane" crepes -- two of the many savoury options; and we were very pleased. They were tasty and light. The dessert crepes were very sweet and delicious.
A great atmosphere and selection, and the waiter was very helpful.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this restaurant. Great value for great food!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

The galettes and crepes were amazing, great service and reasonable price. I definitely recommend it!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very authentic, friendly creperie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Being French and always on the lookout for good food, our national pastime, I can wholeheartedly recommend Cafe Breizh if you want a simple wholesome meal prepared with the right know-how. The rillettes de porc were some of the best I've had on either sides of the Atlantic. The sweet potato curry soup was also excellent, great creamy texture without letting the spices overwhelm the taste of the vegetable. The crepe Chevrette with goat cheese and caramelized onions was delicious except it could have been a bit saltier. The blanquette de veau was fine, but next time I'll try a gazette for a main meal. The killer though is the dessert crepe: run, don't walk, if you are anywhere near, and order the crepe with caramelized apples!! So first the dough: the perfect speckled color, the texture the right elasticity, and most important, the right taste, just like my grandma. Not too sweet. Apples brown from cooking in butter and perfectly soft and pillowy. Drizzled with just the right amount of caramel. Go. Now.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“True to the name”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I happened to stop here sort of by accident, but it was a pretty happy one. I found it authentic, with the owner actually from Bretagne. I had the table d'hote (good value for $22) and started with the soup of the day, which was a curried sweet potato and it was delicious! Then I had the crepe "chevrette", which was very nice, though lacked salt. To finish was a carmelised apple crepe, and it was pretty great! The cider selection is very nice, and the owner is very knowledgeable about the differences in each. Overall, I would definitely come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breizh cafe also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Breizh cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breizh cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.