We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central , chic and Wao” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Montreal

Save Saved
You added W Montreal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #26 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“central , chic and Wao”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is one of the best hotels i have visited in Canada, location are central, close to work and pleasure

THe hotel is very chic you are in love from the min you step in, the staff are helpful, it's the one of the in laces in montreal with nice bars and night clubs

If you looking for memorable visit stay at the W montreal

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are always very pleased when a guest enjoyed his stay with us and our recommendations.

It is always a pleasure for us to provide you with the best service and experience ever.

Looking forward in welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    233
    86
    42
    25
See reviews for
64
387
89
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First of all, I loved my stay in Montreal, what a great city!!!

Doreen and Daniel the Insider(Concierge) made our stay memorable!!! Well done guys!
There were several major inconsistencies experienced during our stay. The wait staff at the Lounge bar was bland and we waited for over an 40 mins for 4 drinks with friends and then the staff demanded for a tips, because it was the rule despite the poor service:-( The team member never checked on us during the entire time we were at the lounge bar. The the team member told us off for using the vouchers provided by management. The room division was also inconsistent in making our room. But we LOOOVED Doreen and Daniel superb!!! Great recommendations and extremely attentive:-) Well done guys!! We would return, simply because of you two!!!

Room Tip: Definite the higher room and upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your stay.

I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our concierge service, it’s always a pleasure for us to assist our guests.

It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your welcome expectations. One of the major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. Thank you for your comments and we are sorry about this event with our Talents.

We hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Sincerely

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I want to like the W... really, I do. The decor is cutting edge, the hotel bar scene is great... But I just can't. I mean, it was okay... but for close to $400 a night I am looking for some thing different, I guess. Between my teeny tiny room with a view of the interior of an office building, and the incredibly annoying perpetual state of darkness inside the entire hotel, it just didn't do it for me.

The staff members and service were great, and the food and drink were excellent, but that just wasn't enough for me. Every time I walked outside I felt like I was climbing out of a cave.

Not terrible, but I will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to post your comment on your stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t enjoy your room. You would have probably enjoyed another room category with a Park View to be able to enjoy natural light or more luminosity.
We hope to welcome you again to get a second chance to impress you.

Sincerely

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We loved the super modern feel to this place. If clean, sleek and modern are ok with you this is a great hotel choice. We were upgraded bc of our SPG status and had a beautiful room looking out on Victoria Square and the city. There is no wall to the bathroom and some, including an in married couple complaining next to us at the bar, didn't like that. But for a married couple I don't have a problem with it even if it does lack privacy. It has a rain showerhead which we thought relaxing but again heard a couple complaining. Just don't be surprised when you see these modern features. It is in close walking distance to the Old historic Port city. We found plenty of fantastic restaurants to eat. We used the rent a bike features which is in the square right outside of the hotel. We also jogged to the Mont of Montreal which is about 3k. Overall a lovely stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a fantastic experience at the W Montreal! From the moment we pulled up to valet we were given excellent service. Pat, who I feel was always there for us when we walked out was without a doubt a professional and an expert in treating guest the way they should. Back to Pat later!

Overview:
Wife and I drove up from Boston to celebrate our 3 year anniversary and 9 years together. W Montreal is in a prime location, steps from Old Montreal and Ste-Catherine. We pulled up and right away Pat came and assisted us with valet our vehicle, and got our bags and brought them inside. Super personable and engaging and just overall very helpful. The exterior of the building is very trendy and modern. It must as it houses both Wunderbar and Otto, two hot spots in Montreal.

Check in:
Super quick check in, never had to wait in line and there were no issues to speak of. Lobby is beautiful with dark lighting, red couches. Definitely our style

Room:
We booked a Fabulous Suite which is the highest category before the WOW and Extreme Wow suites. If you can get the room, I'd recommend it. It's a large open space, with an open bathroom concept. Don't worry, there is a separate are with a door where the toilet is. So there is privacy. Bathroom has both double sinks, huge 4+ person shower with a Rain shower head and there is a separate deep soaking tub. It's a corner unit so you have tons of windows that overlook the park. Fabulous view and tons of sunlight in the morning.

Nightlife:
You really do not need to leave the hotel to experience nightlife in Montreal. They have the super trendy "WunderBar" with a DJ spinning and great visual lighting and beautiful & stylish people. Wife and I are big into fashion so we noticed.
There is also a separate lounge called Plateau Lounge. Cool spot that made some delicious drinks. I had a dirty martini which was made perfectly. And we enjoyed people watching while sitting on the comfy lounges.

Concierge:
Wow! These guys are awesome. I planned a nice surprise for my wife, and the executed the surprise perfectly. I had requested rose pedals all over the room, draw a bath and chocolate covered strawberry's, etc. They timed everything right and the bath was still hot. All of their recommendations for restaurants were outstanding! Thanks again! Wish I remembered their names!

We absolutely loved our stay and we're planning on making a trip back in late November/Early December.I am a SPG Gold member and hope to earn a Lifetime Platinum Status in the next few years. We only stay at Starwood hotels, and we absolutely LOVE the W brand.

We hope to see the same crew there and maybe grab a beer with Pat. Tell him Doug and Julia said hi!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great feedback you have provided.

We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our valet service.

Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you again soon !


Sincerely,

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Another awesome W Hotel that definitely raises the bar in every imaginable category for excellence. Wonderful n Wow & Whatever n Whenever is the motto. If you are looking for the ordinary mundane and vanilla boring flavor then this magnificent hotel is not for you.

As an SPG "Lifetime Platinum" member with over 1,000 nights in 9 years clearly represents my LUV for SPG. Many people never travel often and if they do they typically never leave their comfort zone. I always travel and continue to explore the vast richness of Canada. This W Hotel is a definitely experience to constantly leave you in AWE. From valet to checkin to drinks in the colorful Living Room to the Mega Wow Suite is truly like no other run of the mill blah blah blah no-tell motel.

Don't be boring and boring and boring like every other individual out there that's unhappy and miserable. Step out and mingle as you network with vibrant and energetic people in a Hot Hotel - voted winner of Conde Nast Traveller. Make sure to visit Square Victoria Park right outside your windows n front door, plus have your Google Translator iPhone App ready in case you need to speak some occasional French.

So, enjoy life to its fullest and take no prisoners....book the W Montreal and make history as you are in the centre of the old town with breathtaking culture, attractions, sights, shows, cuisine, and have fun like there is no tomorrow..... In one of the most "ROmantic cities in the world. I don't want to leave this beautiful city and actually, I think I'm gonna stay:))

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our very small room looked into a conference room in the building next door, so was not private if the curtains were open had electrical outlets that failed to work( so my phone did not get charged) had no nightlight in the bathroom and a glass wall from the bed to bathroom meant that anyone getting up in the night, had to light up the whole room to go to the toilet. At least the beds were comfortable, the sheets were good, and thankfully, the room was quiet. But overall the experience was not positive, because we also were not told that the decent sized room we had booked with a view over the park was unavailable, Although we have been to it a half dozen times in the past, we will not be returning. That probably suits them as well. We are not their preferred demographic.

Room Tip: When we had rooms overlooking the park on a high floor, we liked them. However even if booked, ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for posting your feedback from your visit at W Montreal.
We are sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy your stay because of the room’s facilities. It is unfortunate that you encountered these issues, our Whatever/Whenever department is always there to assist with any issues.
Thank you for your comment, we will be able to provide the best service possible for future experiences.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again in a W Hotel and give you an enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#13 Business Hotel in Montreal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#26 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.