We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added W Montreal to your Saves list
W Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Laval, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Modern and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pros: convenient location, just in front of the subway and close to some upscale restaurants like Toqué and Graziella; comfortable rooms; modern bathroom with large stall shower and nice bath products; quiet; efficient service. Cons: haven't experienced any over my two visits here.

Room Tip: A Cozy room is ok if you're a single traveler, but it's quite small. Opt for a Wonderful ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    245
    94
    43
    27
See reviews for
66
404
90
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Great location, very close to old montreal and a cute park by the river. Catherine at the front desk was very helpful. The main bar gets busy on the weekends and isn't cheap, but still worth checking out. Wish we could have stayed for another night or two.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a great time at the W Hotel in Montreal during the last weekend of the Jazz Festival. We've been to Montreal several times and this was one of our best stays in the city. The overall experience was great with only a few minor issues (nothing worth selecting another hotel; we would stay here again). When we first arrived, having only two people handling reservations was not enough but it was a rush check in time. A manager helped out by handing out waters and checking in with guests as they waited for rooms to get ready (keep in mind we were early so it is fine the rooms were not ready immediately). As soon as the room was all set, he let us know and brought us water and keys etc. This shows how customer service oriented this hotel is; all of the staff were exceptional and worked hard to make sure everyone was happy and having a great time. The room itself was very nice. We were on the fourth floor facing the park and never heard the disco on the first floor. I was worried about being on the fourth floor after reading some of the reviews about the noisy dance music but we never heard it. Also, the much talked about open concept of the room and specifically the open shower was really cool. The room and hotel were minimalist, almost futuristic in style but in an interesting and fashionable way. The decor, lighting etc. made it feel like a real getaway. We also enjoyed the downstairs cocktail bar, again, the minimalist and colorful decor was really cool and trendy but not in an obnoxious way at all; the W was always friendly and fun, never pretentious. As other reviewers have noted, the location of this hotel is amazing; close to the subway, Old Montreal, blocks away from the main streets and the Jazz Fest areas, and just a few blocks from entering the city. Also, if you go to the basement level with the work out room you will see a convenient door and well lit passage way to the subway. We used this several times and it was really convenient on the one day it rained. One odd thing about the room was an unusual smell in the bathroom, but we finally figured out that it was the paint, and not anything related to cleanliness, since the rooms are well maintained and clean. For some reason the paint used in the bathroom has a smell that some may be sensitive to, but not a big deal. Just pointing it out but not an issue at all. We really loved our stay at the W and would definitely go again. We considered this a real getaway and even used the AwaySpa, which was really great and relaxing. So definitely go and treat yourself to a first class experience. If you have AAA you can find a great rate online. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: upper-level room (4th floor was fine) with a view facing the park (or front of hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments; it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoyed themselves during their travels. We do have great deals for AAA members and it’s always good to check our offers.
We will be pleased to welcome you again!

Thank you
Your W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

This is simply a fantastic hotel. Very well located in the center of Montreal, walking distance from restaurants, the Old City, etc. location is great.
Rooms are fantastic, no doubt, the best pillows in the world are to be found at the W.
Rooms are silent, service is great, cleanliness is simply outstanding. Just the decor might no be up to the taste of most conservative people... Overall experience just great. A place to come back over and over again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the taking time to share your experience with us and we will gladly share your positive comments with the team.
We will be pleased to welcome you again!

Your W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I've stayed here four or five times over the past two yrs, and I swear it doesn't get any better.
The staff is amazing, the location is amazing, the rooms are amazing.

First off, the staff is most excellent. Always eager to place regardless of whom you ask. The front-desk staff know their stuff, the bar-staff is all hot and they know it.

The rooms are super-nice. I usually get upgrade to the deluxe suites and never been disappointed.

The restaurant Otto leaves a little bit to be desired. Usually eat breakfast there, and it's a hit or miss with the morning waiters if they get the order right, how long it takes etc.

Location to old Montreal is prima. Roughly a 10 min walk to a mecca of good places to eat. The hotel is also close to chinatown and the St. Catherine Square; Great place to people-watch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your consideration, it’s good to know that you always have a wonderful stay with us. We hope to welcome you again in the near future!

Thank you,

Your W Montreal Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

W Montreal is one of the three choice hotels in Montreal I like. The vibe at the W is the most fun and the atmosphere/decor flow are very well accomplished. It is one of the better designed W hotels. They have three bars and one restaurant which I have enjoyed all of them. The vibe is sophisticated and modern with friendly professional service

I usually stay in a spectacular or wow suite and enjoy both as they are quite large and spacious.

Valet parking is excellent but the garage is offsite; be sure to call for your vehicle at least 10 minutes in advance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have never stayed at W before! Stayed at Westin a few times! Overall, the hotel is hip and trendy. The room is too dark! I prefer many windows! However, the building used to be a bank I think. The bar is great and the restaurant for breakfast is great (reasonable prices). The area is by Old Montreal so eating options are endless - try Mechant Boeuf if you like tartars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#25 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.