We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is INTERESTING! we enjoyed our multiple stays though” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Montreal to your Saves list
W Montreal
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Cyber Monday Exclusive
Ranked #25 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“This hotel is INTERESTING! we enjoyed our multiple stays though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Both me and my husband have separately stayed in this hotel multiple times for work travels to Montreal. I am not sure if I like the taste of the internal architect who designed this hotel but definetly it is not like other hotels. We once had a business meeting here and the pictures on the second floor with themes such as "porn star movie" made me a bit uncomfortable in front of colleagues. However, this is a modern, clean, comfortable hotel with really good food, coffee and our multiple stays were all very comfortable and the location is ideal as it is in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    564
    243
    92
    43
    26
See reviews for
65
402
89
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in a suite to celebrate NYE.

Positives:
1. Good location
2. Suite - good size
3. Manager was helpful - see below
4. Concierge was helpful and got us a table at short notice.

Negatives:
1. Not satisfied with the suite given (stained chaise lounge etc). Apologetic manager who did offer rebates of sort as other suites were not available.
2. Not sound-proof. Could hear conversations from next room - unfortunately they were so chatty all through the night until 8am.
3. Accounts; Pre-paid the room, so they should only charge incidentals. 3 days after checking out and they're still trying to reconcile the payment in their system e.g. charged for the room again upon checking out and they had to refund.

Have stayed at other W property too. This was probably the 4th time. Same concept - trendy and really on the darkish (i.e. not much light) side. If you like that sort of things, fine. But if after turning on all the lights in the room, you're still struggling to read - then I suggest other hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your stay. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you went through at our hotel. Checking into a suite to find the sofa stained can leave a negative impression that overshadows the rest of the trip. Rest assured that your comments have been passed onto the Hotel Management to prevent similar occurrences from happening in the future.

Sincerely,

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've stayed here the previous 4 visits to Montreal and all were great. The Conceriege has great meal picks, the rooms are clean and spacious, and the hotel location is perfect for Old Montreal and downtown access.

Room Tip: Splurge on the Mega room. watch for web deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We, as a family of 3 (our son is 2 ) just spent a fantastic new years at the W Montreal. It was our first time staying at a W and would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for hotel that offers great services and attention to detail. The ultra modern feel is complimented still by a comfortable "homey" feel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to our individual family needs and we were greeted personally by the hotel manager welcoming us to the hotel and offering us his card and contact information in the need that we needed anything above and beyond the already great accommodations. The OTTO ( the lobby restaurant) was an excellent place for breakfast with extra friendly, professional wait staff. We will be staying at the W Montreal again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your positive feedback from your visit with us. We will make sure to pass along your comments to our team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the W Montreal from November 2011 until October 2012 for a total of about 100 nights. I stayed at a few other hotels in the area (Sheraton, Westin, Sheraton near the airport) and by far the W is the best. My stay was a mix of work and leisure and the W is a great venue for both.

I had great experiences there working in conference rooms for work, having friends stay with me for the weekend, and having my girlfriend visit for a romantic weekend.

There are many reasons I loved staying at the W. Overall it is a fun experience with a cool exterior and interior, with is complimented well by its friendly and welcoming staff.

Great things about the W:

1. Wonderful staff. From the bar staff to the front desk to the concierge, they will go the extra mile for you. They are friendly and helpful - truly all you need to do is ask. They will make your stay that much better especially if you need anything coordinated for you (a reservation change, dinner plans, a conference room, etc.).

2. Great location - right near downtown, the subway, and near cool Old Montreal. Ask the concierges for tips in the area - they are very helpful!

3. Fun and stylish building and rooms. This particularly applies to the bars (Plateau Lounge, and Wunderbar). Otto has good food (same food as the room service) so a good choice for a nearby Italian dinner. Lighting could be a bit better for working in the rooms - but you can always ask for an extra light.

Overall I would highly recommend staying at the W. I will be travelling back to Montreal soon and will definitely pick the W over the St James, Ritz, Westin, Sheraton, Intercontinental and Hilton for my home away from home.

Room Tip: Park facing rooms on the upper floors are the best. The most natural light and less noise from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Starwood Preferred Guest Program and for writing a review about your stay. We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments – it’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels.

Thank you for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Sincerely,
W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the W hotel in Montreal for only 2 nights but during this quick stopover I found all members of staff friendly and helpful always with smiles on their faces. Food was good also - would highly recommend

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Previously I had stayed a newer W properties in Asia and had great experience there. And I decided to give W Montreal a try for my recent trip to Montreal with my friends during Christmas holiday. Overall, the value of my stay was ok given relative low rate during Christmas (around CAD$200). But unfortunately, there was no WOW factor at all and the hotel has some obvious problems which can be a deal-breaker.

First, let's start with the positive:
-Good location at Square Victoria. 10 minutes walk or 5 minutes drive to places of interest and good restaurants. Hotel building is connected to metro station
-Complimentary one-way shuttle(Acura MDX) to anywhere in downtown area. Valet was very helpful in recommending places for sightseeing and good restaurants
-Concierge is friendly and responsive to our inquiries
-Received a gift (glassware) on Christmas Day, nothing too fancy, but very nice touch

Now, the problems:
-My friends' room had a see-through shower and bath, and they had to call housekeeping to have a curtain installed. And my room had an interior view with no sunlight at all. And the lightning was simply insufficient
-No in-room coffee/tea maker. Had to call housekeeping for a kettle
-House-keeping lack attention to details. Some glasses were unchanged and my T-shirts were thrown to ramdom places unfolded.
-Noise from the club was extremely disturbing on Wednesday night. We had read comments on Tripadvisor regarding the noise issue at night and requested our rooms on higher floors. But even with earplugs on, we could still hear the bass and it did not stop until 4 am.
-Food was just terrible. Ordered room service, the pizza recommended by the Whenever/Whatever staff turned out to be extremely dry and sauceless. The hotel agreed to remove the charge after my complaint. Also had breakfast at OTTO, service was so slow that we had to remind the arrogant waiter of our coffee after 30 minutes of waiting. When the coffee finally arrived, we realized that the coffee cream they gave was ice cold. As a result, after adding the cream, our coffee became too cold to drink.

I am not sure if this hotel can represent the standards for W in North America but it is definitely not on par with other W properties in Asia. As a W fan, I have to say I am disappointed. But putting aside the noise problem on that one night, given the relatively cheap room rate for my stay, the overall value was OK. But If you want a stay with real quality, I would recommend paying a bit extra for the newly renovated Ritz.

Room Tip: Get a park-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MtlWInsider, Manager at W Montreal, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meat the expectations that previous W Hotels in Asia have provided for you. One of the major purpose of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve on for the future. I would like to mention that our rooms are designed with an open bathroom concept and that a curtain can always be installed if requested to recreate a more intimate and separate space. Also, coffee makers/kettles are available upon request with our Whatever/Whenever team. The room service troubles you encountered during your stay are not typical of the service we offer. On your other points mentioned, we will investigate this further, as we would appreciate the chance to prevent similar events from occurring.

Thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
W Montreal Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Montreal

Address: 901 Victoria Square, Montreal, Quebec H2Z 1R1 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montreal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#19 Business Hotel in Montreal
#22 Family Hotel in Montreal
#24 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the city's historic Banque du Canada building transformed into a rich, modern tapestry, W Montreal is close to Old Montreal, the Montreal Museum of fine Arts and the city's downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Priceline, Otel, BookIt.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your W Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Montreal Hotel Montreal
w Hotels Montreal
w Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.