We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labarake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montreal

Montreal
298 Place d'Youville, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2B6, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))
514.282.1837
Improve this listing
Ranked #368 of 4,678 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
uk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Labarake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Only been opened a few months and set in an old renovated fire station. Food was superb, the decor and atmosphere delightful and some of the friendliest staff you'll meet. Just down the road from the Olympic arena so great if you're this end of town. Opened 7 days a week. A great find.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The BEST Chicken Souvlaki and Poutine ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Good menu choices and best fries every with curd cheese and gravy (Poutine) My personal Fav is the Chicken Souvlaki. They also have burgers, smoked meat, and lots of family favorites. The service is excellent. They don't accept credit cards so keep extra cash on hand!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visited during Christmas, it was so cold. 19th-century architecture and street names like Rue St Denis and Rue Saint Sulpice. I’m in Canada, but this quasi-European, culturally French city makes me feel intercontinental.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Everything was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I went with two friends.
The menu is very impressive - it's hard to decide what to have. We each had something different and all three meals were wonderful.
My friends asked the waiter to suggest a wine. One of them was having fish and the other was having beef.Whent the waiter asked how much they wanted to spend, they said between fifty and one hundred dollars. He brought a wine priced at $55.00 that they simply loved.
It was a wonderful evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Commensal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

As I'm vegetarian I use to go there from time to time and I always enjoy this healthy food. They serve a variety of international offerings, most of them made with seasonal products and supplie a selection of fresh vegetarian meals along with salads, artisanal ice-cream, wine, beer and juices. My non-vegetarian friend can also enjoy some chicken

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montreal also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.