We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awe Inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium

Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium
4801 Avenue Pierre-De Coubertin | Metro Viau, Montreal, Quebec H1V 3V4, Canada (Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa))
+1 514-868-3000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 39 Fun & Games in Montreal
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Change your perspective at the Montreal Space for Life. Plunge into a thrilling odyssey to the sounds of symphonic music at the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium. Discover the beautiful starry sky above Montreal with a skilled astronomy interpreter. Like an explorer, embark on an exciting virtual journey that will take you thousands of light years away from Earth, to the stars and beyond! Located close to the Biodome, the Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium offers a completely fresh experience of astronomy. Thanks to cutting-edge technology you will live a unique experience of the Universe through two different shows - one focused on science, the other more whimsical. Its exhibition, Exo: Our Search for Life in the Universe, enriches this cosmic journey. Get ready for an unforgettable experience!
Dalhousie, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awe Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

A great show! Very informative. The staff are bilingual, helpful, and polite. Expect a lot of children during the week and they seemed to enjoy the presentation as much as we did!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    68
    27
    17
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“What a waste of money and time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

You must be kidding. Such a big deal about this new Planetarium and this is what we get in Montréal? 2 shows and one hour between each other. After seing the insignificant first one (except the excellent musif of Philipp Glass), I didn't want to loose my time and see the other one. I have visited the previous Planetarium and it was better. The exhibit was nice but not enough - I was expecting much more. We have so many talented groups who could have brought some ideas to amaze the fans of the stars. 2 floors that are wide empty white walls. You call that a Planetarium?

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Billed as a "totally original approach to astronomy," it is anything but. The first show features lots of pretty pictures and special effects, but without any explanation or scientific accuracy. The second show is your standard planetarium view of the night sky, which is fine, but hardly totally original. I was not the only person who had a hard time staying awake. The disappointing experience was not helped by the lack of clear signage coming out of the Metro station and sidewalks that had not been cleared of ice and snow.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“IN THE SPACE OF AN AFTERNOON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

The Montreal Planetarium, LIVING SPACE.
Life, Space, a moment of giddiness and excitement.
A reflection on our little person.
The smallest being that we are, we are connected to this vast space.
Finally we get out of our small daily hassles, the evening news on television.
I left the exhibition as well as 2 shows, full of energy.
A Sunday like no other, I wish you all.
good visit

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A family of four (two girls 8 and 12) - we all left the first presentation 'Continuum' wondering what we just saw - a film of nothingness.

The second presentation, a narrated session "From Earth to the Stars" was much better. An interesting view of the stars above in the Montreal sky, before taking a trip into space to view some of the galaxies. Interesting, but many people fell asleep in the comfy chairs - maybe the narration was not as exciting as it could have been.

Overall, a worthwhile experience - but really quite average.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium also viewed

 

Been to Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Tinto Alcan Planetarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.