We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally found the true Istanbul flavours in Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Sefa

Restaurant Sefa
5136 Ave. du Parc, Montreal, Quebec H2V 4G5, Canada (Le Plateau Mont-Royal)
+(1)(514) 903-7332
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 4,416 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish, Middle Eastern
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Finally found the true Istanbul flavours in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This is a great find for true ottoman cuisine. Connoisseurs of the richness of this particular oriental gastronomy will certainly appreciate the authenticity of the dishes, the special blend of spices as well as the freshness and quality of the ingredients that generate unique flavours via a perfect slow cooking approach. The menu contains a small variety of options to address several palate and dietary preferences nevertheless, the lamb dishes are truly outstanding. We were a party of 7 which allowed us to share several entrees as well as to compare notes on the main dishes. It is difficult to recommend any of the choices less than the others. We were all delighted by each and every plate. Incidentally, most of them carry a little story in the menu highlighting the origin and age of the recipe like one of the deserts that legend says was first made on Noe’s arch (and it is probably true! I wonder which passenger did Noe get the pasteurized milk from?). The establishment offers equally a good private importation collection of Turkish wines, excellent desserts as well as the legendary Turkish coffee done and served to perfection; a must! The service was truly excellent without reproach. We will definitely go back!
Last, but not least, I may not award this place the top score as some items were not available on the menu and the restrooms although clean, may benefit from a bit of renovation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    8
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Turkish restaurant in Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Everything we've had - the entrées, the main course, the dessert and the wine were authentic Turkish items.

Very tasty entrées (Böregi-Phyllo dough and Feta and Çiger Tava-Seared Liver) followed by outstanding veal and lamb main courses.

The owner and our server were polite and knowledgeable.

Would go back again any time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

All of our meals were fantastic and the people at the adjoining table who we quizzed had a fabulous meal as well. The service was informed and outstanding. Everyone reading this please go here to eat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good Turkish Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We went to Turkey last summer and loved the food. I was pleasantly surprised to find this cute Tur ish restaurant near by.
The music is good , the service is impeccable. The food was on the higher end side and everything that we had was very tasteful. My only critique is that my dish (I had the köfte )' was good but it would have been nice to have vegetables or rice on the side. Everybody else's main course was also very good and came with a side dish.
In summary, if you are looking for a good restaurant with reasonable prices, I would definitely recommend Sefa!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Turkish Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We had food there and we really enjoyed Turkish food. We had the same taste that we had already in Istanbul.I strongly suggest this restaurant for others. Give a try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Sefa also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Restaurant Sefa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Sefa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.