The apt is one of four in the building and you have to walk up a flight of stairs. It was close to shopping/restaurants, etc.
The apt was clean but with sparse amenities (e.g. no hand soap in the bathroom--they don't provide--, dull knives--could barely cut a baguette). The leather couch and dining table chairs were not at all comfortable. Would be nice to have a docking station for an iPhone/iPad. We stayed there only one night out of three we paid for...unfortunately, no gesture was made by the owner to refund even part of the cost. We moved to a downtown hotel for the last two nights.
The owner should consider providing some amenities (e.g. toiletries, refrigerator staples) to draw renters for short term stays.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oct 24, 2013
Thanks for the review. I'm sorry to see you were SO disappointed. From what I understood when we spoke, your expectation were much much higher as you had previously rented villas and such. You also told me you were too far from downtown and that downtown is where you wanted to be. All our ads are very clear with the fact that we are located in the middle of the Plateau Mont-Royal. From what I understood, you were taking the blame for renting a place that is "too simple for us" and in the wrong area.
We do not advertise our place as being a high class hotel. It is a nice clean place in a building built in 2009. Also, being 5 or 6 steps up we do indicate in our ads that the apartment is not wheelchair friendly. For all bookings made in our apartments, we always recommend the lower apartments to families and elderlies.
We were informed of your dissatisfaction at 5pm on the second day. You had already taken an hotel room downtown and called me as you were stepping out. We manage several apartments in the area and there were two others with availability that weekend. We would have been happy to show you our other places and make sure that you leave a happy client. We believe we were not given a chance to give the great service we usually provide.
In order to make sure that our clients are happy, we are currently considering the possibility of changing some of the furniture. Even though all of it was purchased year and a half ago, we will replace anything that needs to be replace.
We have purchased a cable to plug an iphone or any device to the sound system.
We have always been tempted with the idea of providing small soaps and tiny bottles of shampoo/conditionner. Over the past three years in which we have been in business it was only brought up a couple of times by our customers. We are currently surveying our guests on the subject and we will respond accordingly.
We hope the rest of your vacation was nice. If you ever come back to Montreal, we will be happy to offer you a 30% discount on our Penthouse apartment.
We would also do everything to make sure you are happy as we hate seeing bad reviews.
Yann & Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.