We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The poutine is pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poutineville

Poutineville
1365 Ontario East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1S2, Canada
514 419-5444
Improve this listing
Ranked #358 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Contemporary, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bienvenue chez Poutineville / Welcome to PoutinevilleLa place où vous pourrez créer votre propre Poutine Gastronomique à votre façon avec nos pommes de terre maison, écrasées, juliennes ou douces, Venez nous voir ! Choisissez parmi nos excellentes poutines haut de gamme et novatrices.Come and create your own Poutine from a list of fantastic and fresh ingredients or choose from our chef's specialties.
montreal, quebec
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The poutine is pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The french fries taste very industrial
the sauce was pretty flat
I had expected a bit more of an authentic food

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Public Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Our fries are far from industrial, the potatoes are all washed and then are sliced by hand...! We're sorry your experience fell short. Hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Try the classic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

While they have a variety of poutine options, if you are not familiar with poutine (gravy & cheese on fries) the classic is a good place to start. They add shredded beef & the gravy is very flavorful. I also like that they serve it over chunks of fried potatoes instead of fries.

The staff was polite. We got a waiter that spoke perfect english & he took the time to answer our questions. This is not necessarily the english experience in Montreal.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Public Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your Poutineville experience! "The Poutineville" is one of our best sellers - our signature "smashed potatoes" are a hit with everyone. We hope to see you soon, bon apoutine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“très bon, encore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I went there again, this time with other friends.
My poutine was excellent. I prefer they give you the sauce ON THE SIDE, and not directly poured on the poutine, as if they do so, it becomes mushy and soft. Therefore I prefer the fries to stay crispy. They will if the sauce is not directly poured on top of the whole poutine.

I have the personalized menu and I chose the 3 cheeses (they are free anyway) + ground/minced beef + mushrooms + grilled red peppers + their regular sauce (it comes free). A very good, light poutine. I do NOT recommend the big one unless you have't eaten for a couple of days :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Guest Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for the kind words! We're glad you again had a great time at Poutineville! We hope to see you again soon! Maybe you can try the heart attack next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Maybe we ordered the wrong thing?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We ordered the classic poutine - just fries, gravy and cheese. We wanted to experience the genuine article, not a tarted up version with nachos or whatever. It was totally, "meh." Maybe we should have ordered one with extra ingredients piled on. Te cheese was sparse and the gravy had very little flavour. Honestly, I just had poutine from a deli at the airport because our flight was delayed, and it was much better - lots of gooey cheese curds and peppery, flavorful gravy. Also, it was crazy hot in the restaurant. Sort of unpleasant. Maybe they don't have a/c?

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Guest Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Perhaps next time you can try our famous "Le Poutineville", braised beef with red wine sauce on smashed potatoes. We do have A/C and you should not have hesitated to ask any of the servers to make your dining experience more pleasant.

Thank you for your honest words, and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Truely Original & Unique Poutine Experience in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

First of all, if you want to have a REAL and authentic Poutine experience, do it in the Province of Québec. Its a true Quebecois fun dish, comfort food, something you have once in awhile.

It started in the province in Québec ( the French speaking one in Canada)and there are many versions of how and where the first poutin started. Each story is great and realistic.

BTW the only people who can pronounce it correctly are Québecers... pronounced Poo-tzin. Unless you were born or raised in this province you will say it wrong but that is half the fun of it.

English speakers often miss pronounce it and call it Poutan ( Which is prostitute in the latin languages)........ so if you don't get your dish... and a woman in a short dress approaches you .. well you asked for it...

Why is Poutinville different...
Well the best part, the fries don't overwhelm the toppings when you create your poutine which is very cool.
The creation of your own personalised poutine is great and kids will love it.
They are locked on St Catherine close to the Jacques Cartier Bridge, so after fire work evening in Montreal.. this is a great spot for late night drinks and poutine.
The staff are exceptional, really nice and friendly.
I had the braised beef poutine their house speciality. The meat was incredibly tender the fries were not greasy or oily and the cheese curds melted just right and everything was in proportion. For once I also found that it was not too salty... it was just right.

The have another location on Beaubien .. hmmm try it its great

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poutineville S, Public Relations Manager at Poutineville, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you or the kind words. We always strive to provide exceptional service and our servers are there to answer any question you may have... or even poutine combination recommendations! Thanks again, we hope to see you soon, perhaps at our Beaubien location next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poutineville also viewed

 

Been to Poutineville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poutineville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.