We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vegetarian food, the price is really worth it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Panthere Verte

La Panthere Verte
2153 McKay, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2J2, Canada
+(1)514 903 4744
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #467 of 4,554 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Middle Eastern, Vegan, Vegetarian, Eclectic
Restaurant details
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian food, the price is really worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Great food is served, quick and excelente service. Salad is always fresh and crunchy. Also large variety of juices and smoothies, whenever you feel like having lunch or a snack. On the other hand, seating places could be more confortable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Different veggie resto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

They improvised on a lot of vegetarian options-enhanced flavor with tahini-great juice variety made fresh -pleasant staff

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent vegetarian food at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This places serves excellent vegetarian fare and everything they use is bio. Even the plastic containers they use for deliveries are compostable !.

But more inportantly, the food is great. Good flavor due to good use of spices. I usually have half pita along with a salad combo. Their salad varies from day to day but it seems to always have quinoa, sweet potato and other great tasting goodies.

They delivey in the immediate perimeter using bikes. You won't be hungry after eating here,

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service, slightly uncomfortable seating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I just had a really lovely lunch at La Panthere Verte yesterday with a friend. The staff were really uncommonly friendly and helpful (perfectly bilingual) and the food was absolutely to die for. I had their excellent falafel sandwich which was absolutely packed with freshly cooked falafel, unlike most places that put in one or two pieces that have been sitting on a counter for hours (or days...). The fresh, thick pita was bursting with veggies and a really nice tahini sauce. My friend's curry (the lunch special) was really good too. We shared a piece of carrot cake - words cannot describe how good it was. The icing was melt in your mouth and soft as silk, and the cake was fresh and so flavourful with candied ginger pieces and whole nuts to give it some interest. We finished with excellent coffees (almond, rice & soy milk available).

I'm really impressed with the philosophy of this place. They have a compost bin for customers to clear their unfinished food into, and they obviously place high emphasis on running as green a business as possible. This combined with their delicious food and charming staff make for a real hit. My ONLY complaint would be the chairs/tables. The large base under the table meant there was literally nowhere to put my legs, so I had to sit sideways (I was also crammed up against a pillar). The chairs are quite hard and slippery (wood of the school variety) - this is really the only area I think they could improve in, as even the decor is fun without being gimmicky.

Overall, it's a must-try downtown - I would say probably the best lunch you'll get in an informal setting and the prices are so reasonable it's astounding.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Panthere Verte also viewed

 

Been to La Panthere Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Panthere Verte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.