We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy winner in the Old Port of Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mon Cafe

The Mon Cafe
376 Notre Dame O, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1T9, Canada
+1 514-281-0008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #124 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: $4 - $9
Cuisines: Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A cozy winner in the Old Port of Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

My girlfriend and I visited this wonderful owner run establishment in the old port of Montreal. It's rare to find a breakfast/brunch place that has excellent coffees but this is the one. A great breakfast sandwich and eggs Benedict with wonderful locally made pastries for dessert. A winner.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    26
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A gem for breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Tried Mon Cafe on our first morning in Montreal and came back the next day again because it was so good. Ask Louis the owner to tell you about his awesome hot chocolate recipe! The staff was extremely helpful to us non-French speakers.

We ate: BLT bagel, Egg and Cheese Croisant and Frech Toast with Chai Latte and a Hot Chicolate.
All were fantastic and fresh made. Best Hot Chocolate ever. French Toast is only served weekends but it is worth a second visit. Tip: Louis will actually reserve a table for you if you are worried about not getting a seat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

A little gem. Beautiful food and drinks, presented well. Very good service, friendly. My only question is why are they not doing something bigger as they are clearly very capable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Disappointing considering all the rave reviews.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Brunch menu: vanilla extract with eggs on toast, hard bacon (bring your own chainsaw), and Notatoes - just like potatoes but you can't have any. The mocha was very good though.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pole
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“4 of 4 stars (excellent, casual fare).”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

(see explanation of ratings below)

Great place for breakfast or lunch. Talented baristas and excellent baked goods.

Get the TMC: sliced hard-boiled egg with your choice of bacon or ham, your choice of cheese, lettuce and tomato on a lovely croissant.

About $10-15 per person.


About my ratings:

Only high-priced dining establishments can garner five stars. Until TripAdvisor realizes that a fast food joint cannot possibly be ranked equally with a $100 per person place, I need to draw the line somewhere. If we were only talking about the quality and presentation of the food, it would be a different story. But, as we know, TripAdvisor's rankings take into account the entire dining experience.

Therefore, I divide restaurants into three categories (and I wish TripAdvisor would do the same):

1) fast food and "fast-casual", low-priced (no table service).

2) casual, mid-priced dining (table service, average entrée price: $10-$20).

3) fine, high-priced dining (linen napkins, no plastic cups, no TV's in dining room, average entrée priced at more than $20, can vary depending on the city).

High-priced dining can earn a max of five stars. Mid-priced dining can earn a max of four stars. Fast food can earn a max of three stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mon Cafe also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to The Mon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.