We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Ol' Montreal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Champ-De-Mars

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Champ-De-Mars to your Saves list
Hotel Champ-De-Mars
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   756 rue Berri | Vieux-Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3E6, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good Ol' Montreal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay for a few nights after partying it up, this is a perfect little spot. The staff is very friendly and willing to help if you need anything. Breakfast was great, only priced at $10. The location in Old Montreal is close to everything. There were some negatives, which have already been mentioned on this site (small tv, smaller rooms and so forth), but this is not the Ritz and one must know this before staying here. All and all, I had a great time in Montreal and found Hotel Champ-De-Mars adequate for my 2 night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    45
    37
    35
    76
See reviews for
25
90
33
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ajax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First the positive,

The staff was friendly, even though they gave us a "free" upgrade and then charged us an extra $30 a night. The bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. The outside and the lobby look welcoming.

Now for the negative,

I traveled with two couples, one being a gay couple. When I went to check in they said they would give us a free upgrade to two rooms with two beds each. I'm sure they did this because the three of us at the counter were men. When my wife came in after parking the car we were told that we would have to pay $30 extra a night but the other couple didn't have to. We checked out the room with one double bed and my wife started getting panicky with claustrophobia. The single rooms had nothing but a bed and a washroom. It was like staying in a walk-in closet. The other couple had a room near the stairs and were kept awake by the noise of people walking up and down the old, loud stairs. We barely got any sleep because the walls are paper thin. We could overhear other guests talking in the other rooms on the floor. When they talked at even a slightly elevated tone we could understand every word they said.

One other negative was that the hotel has no parking and we had to park at a green P lot two blocks away. For the extra $48 per day we spend on the "free" upgrade and parking we could have stayed in a much nicer place.

Finally, we booked with Expedia and did not get a complimentary breakfast but those who booked with other sites did have breakfast included.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so you probably want a room on the first floor. The rooms with two beds are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I am uncertain why there are such a high number of negative reviews, aside from the possibility that people came here with a different expectation. If you expect luxury and modern amenities at every turn, this is not for you. If, like us, you are looking for a place with a cozy atmosphere, charm to match the city, and comfortable rooms, all within a European style building, then this is the perfect place to stay.

We will certainly be coming back during our next visit to this city, and recommend to those who do come to get the D4 breakfast: same prices across whole menu, but a full and delicious breakfast complete with toast, tea or coffee, and juice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Great period hotel close to Metro and right in the old city. Clean and comfortable room and friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant is a reasonable option for a fast meal or to enjoy the atmosphere but there are lots of other choices nearby.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spend couple of night at this hotel. The staff are very friendly, excellent service, very cozy rooms. There is a little bit of europe in every corner. The hotel is very clean and passed our expectation. The other advantage is being right at the heart of Old Montreal where there are a lot of activities and entertainment for visitors.In general we enjoyed our 2 night stay in the Montreal and we will defintely stay in the same hotel the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bottineau, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My stay in Montreal was greatly enhanced by staying at the Hotel Champ-De-Mars. They were able to help my navigate through the city with thier guidence. The room was just as I expected, I found it quite comfortable. I had several meal in the Hotel dinningroom and they were always very good and service friendly. I will stay at the Hotel Champ-De-Mars again on my next vist to Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Location was great, close to river and Old –Montreal. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was good for the price. Easily warm enough when -l0C outside. Would have liked a bigger TV and Wi-Fi. Overall, it felt like old Europe !!

Room Tip: If you are looking for a new glitzy hotel, this one's not for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Champ-De-Mars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Champ-De-Mars

Address: 756 rue Berri | Vieux-Montreal, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 3E6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Champ-De-Mars 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Champ-De-Mars reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Champ-De-Mars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.