We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hostel I would gladly stay in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Bishop

Save Saved
You added Auberge Bishop to your Saves list
Auberge Bishop
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auberge Bishop
1447 Rue Bishop, Montreal, Quebec, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A hostel I would gladly stay in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

+location - centrally located.
+excellent rooms - loads of light and very clean.
+breakfast - breaksfast and a good one in a hostel. Need I say more.
+pricing - very reasonable. I have stayed in a 6 bed and 10 bed room and was pleased with both.
+utilities - WiFi, washer, dryer and a kitchen make it very convenient for long and reasonable stays.
+ caretakers - very friendly and multiple caretakers to take care of the guests.
- language - being in a french province some of the caretakers don't speak English and since they don't have a website there could be a minor glitch to clarify something (in my case the caretaker made sure I received an email to confirm all my queries were clarified)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is going to be a real easy review, because I have nothing negative to say. I decided to stay here based on other reviews, the location, and the fact that it is air conditioned.
Let me start by saying this hostel was slightly more expensive than others in the area, but not by much, and well worth it. It cost just over $300 for a 12-night stay. Some of the big hotels cost that just for one night.
It is in a perfect location, very close to downtown.
Another major plus, is that it is cooled. I have stayed in hostels in Montreal before that were so hot in the summer, that I couldn't sleep. I often had to bring a little fan. You don't need that here. All the guestrooms and common areas are cooled in the summer.
There is a kitchen area, lots of washrooms and showers, and a laundry room. At the time I stayed there, it cost $1.50 for a wash and $1.50 to dry, which is not bad.
The building has a very "homey" feeling. When I returned from my day on the town, it felt like I was going home.
It is the small things that make this place nice. Great staff, the free breakfast that is actually served in a restaurant instead of a huge community table, stained glass windows, beautiful woodwork all over the place. The rooms and toilets were always clean.
The only thing that took getting used to is the co-ed washrooms and showers. They don't have "men's room" and "ladies room", they are all shared. It just seemed odd having a woman walk into the bathroom at the same time I was using it, but after a couple of days it didn't bother me.
There is no swimming pool or fitness center on location, but there are some close by. There are also lots of places to eat within a few-minutes walk.
Overall, I highly recommend this as a place to stay while in Montreal. I will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Perhaps Auberge Bishop's best asset is its location, on a street full of restaurants and bars, and a short walk from everything Downtown has to offer. The building itself is architecturally unique and very clean... there are a deceptively large number of rooms wedged into a building that doesn't look that huge. It has cool wooden paneling and stained glass windows. In the morning there's a free continental breakfast... nothing fancy, some croissants and coffee, but good stuff. The staff were very friendly, despite not having the best English (we had more success speaking to them in Spanish... go figure).

The few negatives: our group of 5 were booked together online for a 6-bed dorm... Due to a crowded hostel on Grand Prix weekend we were split up, 4 people in 1 room and 1 in another. Not the best situation, but may have just been because it was an exceptionally busy weekend. Also, rooms that face the street can be quite loud at night if the windows are open, as there are live bands that play until the wee hours in several adjacent bars.

Overall, Auberge Bishop was a nice, clean place to stay in a great location, and for not much $. With the few caveats mentioned, it comes recommended for the flexible traveler on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Superbe! Stellar location in the heart of the action and only three minutes walk to the metro. Very, very clean with comfortable thread count sheets and towels if needed; breakfast and wifi provided also. Benjamin et Mikel (staff) are cool, tireless and uber friendly. Unique architecture with stained glass though space can be efficient yet comfortable on booked nights. This place is brilliant and checks all the boxes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Va
Top Contributor
425 reviews 425 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Wow...this is definitely one of the nicest hostels I've been to. Beautiful wood floors and really nice bathrooms. It was super clean (opened the beginning of June 2012) and the staff were super kind. It included free breakfast which was nice. Rooms were neat and organized - some more spacious than others. There was free internet. Towels and linens were provided. A laundry machine was also available. I loved the location - in the heart of all the action off of St. Catherine. I will without hesitation stay here again. The manager Benjamin did an outstanding job making sure our stay was satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Bishop

Address: 1447 Rue Bishop, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Specialty lodging in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Auberge Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Bishop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.