We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Le Roberval to your Saves list
Le Roberval
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2008

We drove from NYC for an Independence Day vacation, stayed for 3 nights. Overall, if you did some traveling in large cities you know that you can't expect anything special from $140/night hotel. You get what you pay for - basic (and hopefully) no-nosense service.

Good things about Roberval: location - couple of block walk to Rue St Denis (and the rest of Latin Quarter) colorful restaurants/shopping, 5 min drive to Old City; rooms - we had a clean suite w/ kitchen, tiny bedroom and sofa/pull-down-bed in another room; breakfast - fresh and nice: croissants, bagels, coffee, fruit salad; no problem service - rooms cleaned (garbage taken, towels changed, sheets changed), girls downstairs always friendly. Kitchen was Ok - gas oven, fridge, no dirty plates or pots as others wrote (even though we brought our own little pot - just in case). Oh, had we known that smoker rooms had balconies we would have opted for one.

Not so good: underground parking ($15) is in the building accross the street/around the corner - very annoying b/c you do need a car to move around Montreal (not exactly a tiny city); TV - old tiny hardly visible, 15 louzy channels (half French); view - on the parking or a street, nothing to write about.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    140
    70
    25
    21
See reviews for
79
91
38
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

I stayed there for a night with wife and 2 kids. Room was small but clean and kitchen had all basic appliances. The bed was in a separate room. The kids slept on the sofa bed (when of those that open up). Internet access was complimentary with excellent speed but required an Ethernet cable (no Wi-Fi). Breakfast was and excellent and also complimentary. There is also a computer in the lobby anyone can use. Parking costs $15/day. You may park for free overnight on a back street until 9:00am. Hotel location is very convenient and close to many attractions. Staff at front desk was very friendly and helpful. This hotel was great deal for the money. Definitely recommended for budget travelers.

  • Liked — Location, kitchen, breakfast
  • Disliked — The need to pay for parking. Parking in Montreal _is_ expensive...
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpls
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

over all a good value but webooked it thru the quebec wayside booth and found they had wanted 15 extra for our daughter to stay even though we had a reservation printed for 3!! i insisted we hold firm and they did that but what a hassle entering after a long drive and getting the stonewall there! not professional- the night staff. we liked the clean rooms but were upset that the kitchen was there and that we had to clean the cups and coffee maker or not get our 250 usd deposit back! good location for the village, old port and china town the metro is right behind ! oh and the parking is very compact so if you are bigger truck use another lot! good breakfast and coffee!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2008

Overall stay was a pleasant one. The staff were helpful and friendly.

We booked our hotel in Montreal this time based on price and location (we were heading to the Jacques Villeneuve circuit the next day) and kept in mind that it was only going to be used for one night to lay our heads. This was a good choice for that. It is in the vicinity of the University of Quebec, and must have been residences during the school year or something because each room was a mini-suite that came with a separate bedroom and bathroom from the kitchen and living room area.

We ended up having to switch rooms 3 times because the first room had no working air conditioning and the second room had the same plus there was work being done to the stove and kitchen area (they should have really check on this room before we tried it). Once we got settled into our third room, it was deemed satisfactory, a working airconditioner, appliances and clean bathroom. The TV remote needed a change in batteries but then again we were not spending lots of time there.

Outside the building was a little shady in that the buildings around it were a little dilapitated and when you walked up to St. Catherine street, there were quite a few homeless people close by. But being at the corner of Beri St and Rene Levesque we were very close to shopping on St Catherine St, St Denis St. and St Laurent where there are many great cafes and restaurants to choose from.

One restaurant on St Catherine we enjoyed was called De Giovanni's where they served awesome pasta. They must make it fresh daily, and you should see the meatballs!! Here is a review: http://restomontreal.ca/restaurants/index.php?section=viewresto&resto_id=601&show=ratings&lang=en

We only paid $92 for the night and got a huge continental breakfast included with the price in the basement floor of their building in a little cafe restaurant. Served was juice and coffee, hot/cold cereal, yogurt, real Montreal bagels with jam or cream cheese, toast, fruit salad muffins. A real tasty treat first thing in the morning!

Advice: don't settle ont he first room you get, there are also hotels int he area like the Hotel Lord Berri and another around the corner that are all part of the same company but I think a slight bit more expensive.

  • Liked — The continental breakfast.
  • Disliked — Having to switch rooms a number of times.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
135wamsw
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

The concpet of a kitchen in the hotel room is great but if it is not cleaned it is a disgusting idea. It does not make any sense to pay extra money to have a kitchen cleaned and it makes even less sense to not clean it at all. The room was big and comfortable, but we had to kill some bugs when we were there. I am now having trouble sleeping in my own bed becuase when I returned home from this vacation with a rash I learned that these were bed bugs and now fear that my own home is invested with this disgusting insect.

I will never stay at this hotel again and if anyone reading this decides to stay here I would suggest not staying in room 510 becuase the couch is infested with bed bugs.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copster Green Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

We crossed the border from the States into Canada and called at the Tourist info. They were very helpful and booked us into this hotel. We were a little worried about the distance from the centre and the external appearance. However once inside we were pleasantly suprised, helpful reception. Our room came complete with fully equipped kitchen, the room was basic but very clean and a good size. The walk into central Montreal was fine.

Stayed July 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2005

Upon checking in we got a small, dark room with lingering nicotine smell, with windows that face directly to the next building brick wall. We insisted to switch to a better room! We then finally got a decent room, only to be surprised that maids do not clean the kitchen area. So you can imagine how dirty the pots, glasses, and utensils are. I mean do guests really care to clean stuffs they use? It's not like they'll use it again.

The breakfast was OK. But on first morning there, my b/f found lipstick marks in his juice glass. That just put an ick factor to the meal.

The hotel doesn't seem to be professionally run either. This is just not what I expect from a hotel. It looks more like a cheap motel. The bed is uncomfortable and the linen looks dirty too.

The best thing abt this place is location. The Berri Metro where 2 other metro lines intersect, is right around the corner. It's also 15 mins walk to old montreal, abt 10 mins walk to chinatown. The hotel is located in the latin quarter area. The location can't be beat.

Next time I'll stay somewhere else. I will never come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Roberval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.