We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dangerous Balcony” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Roberval

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Roberval to your Saves list
Le Roberval
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Montreal
1 review
“Dangerous Balcony”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I went onto the balcony the door locked behind me and there was no way to re enter the room. Luckily I had my cell phone. the front desk could not access my room because I had dead bolted the door for overnight security. At no time was I advised not to use balcony or the danger if the door shuts. The staff instructed me to to try to force the door open which I did eventually. Then the next day upon checkout they charged my card for being locked out and the damage to the door!!! This locking door leaving people outside with no way to re enter their room is a huge safety concern. They instructed me to to force door then charged me for following their instructions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suites_Labelle, Director of Sales at Le Roberval, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Cian,

As per e-mail and phone conversation, I would like to apologize again for this unfortunate event. As explained, the defective door lock was replaced immediately after your departure.
There is no warning about locking balcony doors because the locks on these doors are not self locking.

In regards to the charge, as explained, your credit card was never charged at any time. An authorization was taken, but was immediately released when management was made aware of the situation. I recognize even the authorization should not have been requested and concerned staff were made aware of their mistake.

I truly regret you had to live through this unfortunate event but would like to mention that the issue, as for any other that comes to our attention, has been promptly fixed.
We do of course take all necessary measures to insure safety of our guests.

Once again, I apologize for the inconvenience and the misunderstanding and hope you might reconsider staying with us again on your future stay in Montreal.

Best regards,

Martin Roy
Director of sales & marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    139
    70
    25
    21
See reviews for
78
91
38
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night in June 2012, I literally was only in the room to sleep so didnt really use the room to its full advantage.
The room was right by reception and had a mini kitchen and living room area, the bedroom was fine and comy, bathroom big enough and clean.
Good location in Montreal, reasonable price, area was ok felt safe enough, plenty of dining and shops nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Room was clean and had everything we needed. Staff was friendly but less helpful. My issue was with parking. We park our minivan in a parking lot (does not belong to hotel) nearby for $15 and our driver window was smashed. Next two nights we just park on the street for free and everything was fine. Take ALL your valuables out of the car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I spent 8 days in Roberval, it was very comfortable, I slept very well despite the road. The room was clean and large.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My first stay in Montreal. The location was perfekt for me. Walking to the congress hotel: 25 Min. So I could see something of the city by the way. I tried also bixi-bike, bus and metro - very close to the hotel!
I was 6 nights in Le Robertval. The bed in my room was good and I had a perfect sleep.
My room looked simple but had everything I needed, incl. little kitchen - great. And free WiFi! Everything was very clean. Friendly staff.
If I ever return to montreal, the hotel Le Robertval will be my first choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This was our 7th or 8th year staying at Le Roberval for Grand Prix weekend and we have never been disappointed.
The rooms are clean, spacious and you simply cannot beat the location. Being only one bock from the Berri-UQAM metro station is fantastic for getting to the race or downtown for the festivities.
The staff are always courteous and friendly and we have never had a problem.
The one downside is the pullout bed. The mattress was so uncomfortable that it was nearly impossible to get a good night's sleep on it, but we managed to get by. That said, more than 1 or 2 nights on it may have broken a back or two.....
Free WiFi is definitely a big plus!
Overall we are always satisfied with Le Roberval and hope to continue our tradition of staying there for years to come.

Room Tip: The rooms with the murphy beds seem to be much better on the back. Get a murphy bed rather than a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Clean hotel, very spacious, great location, and cheap.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Roberval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Roberval

Address: 505 Rene Levesque East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 5B6, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Roberval 2*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Montreal’s Quartier Latin, Hotel Le Roberval is in the heart of the city’s cultural centre. Its proximity to transports, main attractions and major festivals sites makes it the perfect solution for travellers seeking clean and comfortable accommodation at rates defying all competition.All of our 76 downtown Montreal suites and studios will meet our guests expectations, and our professional and friendly staff will do all they can to make sure you enjoy your stay in Montreal!All our rooms are non-smoking and equipped with modern amenities such as LCD flat screen television, high quality mattresses, free WiFi Internet. Our rooms are furnished with wet bar, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Our downtown Montreal suites and studios include a kitchenette or full kitchen making them the perfect lodging option for longer stays and weekly and monthly rates are offered all year round. Why pay more for a simple hotel room when you can have your own studio or apartment in Montreal for a fraction of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Roberval reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Roberval Montreal
Le Roberval Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Roberval, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.