We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casa de mateo, montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Casa de Mateo

Save Saved
You added Auberge Casa de Mateo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auberge Casa de Mateo
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“casa de mateo, montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

very nice and homey, located in Montreal's old port in a beautiful area. The services were good, and the staff always friendly. Very basic rooms, but very clean as well, great value for price. The Mexican restaurant was really nice too.

I think the location was the best thing about it though. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    20
    9
    10
    16
See reviews for
9
24
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

it was a great place they had a really good service and if i ever go back to montreal i'll for sure go there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend with my best friend for a girl's weekend and there were good and bad points.

I had booked online with Tourism Montreal for two nights and when we arrived it was set for three nights, but they changed that quickly. They also let us check in three hours early, which was awesome as we walked from greyhound with our luggage and were very tired.

The first night we were there there was an electrical issue and the fire alarm was going off and then stopping, and then going off for hours, probably from 11PM to 3AM or so. The concierge was trying very hard to get the issue fixed and was very apologetic. But it was still very tiring.

The breakfast was very good. It was juice, a spicy scrambled egg concoction and fruit, with toast and croissants and muffins available.

The staff were all awesome. The location was good too, very close to lots of attractions.

The rooms were clean but it was a bit odd there was just a bunch of small soaps and shampoo packages in a basket on the dresser.

The shower door in the bathroom did not catch properly and would not close. It did not leak but it had obviously been that way for a while.

Overall it was a good experience, but the lack of sleep the first night sucked.

Room Tip: The room with the broken bathroom was directly up the stairs on the third floor, and to the left in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Quite basic rooms, but great value for the price. Very friendly and helpful service, and a very generous breakfast. We were very happy there and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Finding a hotel and a restaurant where everybody speaks Spanish (they also speak French and English) is pretty hard nowadays, unless you are in Spanish countries. However at Casa de Mateo, i found friendly people from all over latinamerica who provided me with a really good service and made me feel at home. I went to Montreal on a business trip and i never expected finding such a charming place in this French city. The staff was very friendly to say the least. The rooms were cozy and clean. The breakfast was delicious too. This is a very special spot for latinamerican people staying in Montreal. I certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The first thing I noticed about the hotel when i arrived, was that it was managed by a family. This in my opinion, makes things a bit different, in a good way.
When I booked my room, I was surprised by the prices compared to the other hotels around the same area. I really enjoyed my stay and the locations was WONDERFUL. I got a room bigger than expected, clean and simple.
I do not understand people who complain about what they get after paying a small amount of money. It seems some people want a 5 star hotel service when they are paying for a 2 star one.
Anyways, in general, I found this hotel is a very good option for non-complicated people who know what they are paying for and do not expect more than what they are supposed to get.
It was perfect for my of course! I will come back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amserdam
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I came all the way from the Netherlands to attend the conference of human genetics at the Palais du Congres in Montreal. I found this charming hotel, very close to everything we needed. With my coworker, we decided to give it a try. We stayed there for 5 days and I have to say that the prices, compared to the other hotels, are very flexible. We shared a room with a queen size bed and a private bathroom. The room was clean and organized, Simple but satisfying. Our breakfast was included and really, really generous every day. After our first day, we realized the whole hotel was booked for people like us! It was pretty exciting.

The office was closed some times, but you could always contact somebody to help you out if you wanted to. They seemed happy and were very kind all the time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Auberge Casa de Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Casa de Mateo

Address: 438 St Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T3, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Auberge Casa de Mateo 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in picturesque Old Montreal, Auberge and Restaurant Casa de Mateo are in the heart of all the attractions of the Old Port. The 22 rooms in the auberge are exceptionally cozy and equipped with a small kitchenette, air conditioning and cable TV. Our Luxury Suite offers all the convenience of an apartment, with full kitchen and bath as well as a living room and separate bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Venere and Otel so you can book your Auberge Casa de Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Casa De Mateo Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Casa de Mateo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.