We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking forward to our next visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A la Carte Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A la Carte Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added A la Carte Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
5477 10th Ave., Montreal, Quebec H1Y 2G9, Canada (Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 147 Montreal B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

My partner Chris and I quite often stay at B & Bs in our travels in Europe and North America.We have experienced highs and lows in this style of accommodation. After our recent stay at A La Carte in Montreal, I can quite confidently say that we have stayed at one of the best.
Petra and Daniel are warm and gracious hosts.Their home is beautiful .Their poodle Monsieur Petit is a delightful added bonus. Chris and I would leave our door open to encourage Monsieur Petit to come in for a visit.
A La Carte is a few steps away from a shopping area full of restaurants, gourmet food shops and Chris' favourite - La Succersale , an artisanal brew pub.We came home with Quebec cheeses for the Christmas cheese board and local gourmet treats to fill Christmas stockings.From this location it is quick and easy to see the sights of Montreal by car, taxi or transit.

Although I have been travelling to Montreal for years, Petra and Daniel are a wealth of knowledge and made excellent suggestions for things to see and do in Montreal. Daniel's breakfasts were a wonderful way to start the day - my favourite was the crepes- and the coffee was amazing.

We always enjoy visiting Montreal. Staying at A La Carte enhanced the experience. Chris and I will definitely return for a stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    9
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
61
148
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

My partner and I just finished a lovely weekend at A la Carte B&B and decided to write our first TripAdvisor review because we had such a blast. Despite the fact that the weather in Montreal was a little on the cold and cloudy side, we couldn’t have asked for a better weekend getaway. Daniel and Petra were kind and conscientious hosts who ensured that we had everything we needed to have a fabulous time. They even waited outside on our last day until the taxi pulled away from the house to say a last goodbye.

The B&B was beautiful, clean and in a lively area with a number of good restaurants and bars. We particularly enjoyed the dessert and live music at a local jaunt called Café Lézard, less than a ten-minute walk from A la Carte. Daniel made sumptuous and plentiful breakfasts and Petra was more than willing to sit down with us, make recommendations for sightseeing and carefully explain the directions and maps to us. Their little dog, Monsieur Petit was so sweet, we might even get a small poodle in the future!

We highly recommend staying at A la Carte primarily because of the exquisite hospitality you are bound to receive and we ourselves hope to be back in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Should your wish be to discover Montreal and live like a quebecois for a few days, you would choose A La Carte BnB.
We are a family of 5, first time in Montreal, for a 6 day stay. Petra and Daniel are just awesome and they run their BnB very professional. First the welcome, both were there when we arrived and it was not by accident, we had a rental car and they let us park for free in front of the appartment. We took the large appartment upstairs. Extremely clean and well thought of. Nothing was missing, should you have an extraordinary request, I am confident ither Daniel or Petra will find a solution for you. On the following morning, Petra came upstairs with stacks of maps and guides and provided us with good advice on what to see and where to eat. We followed almost all of them and our stay in Montreal was a blast!
in the evening we lit up the real wood fireplace: everything was set for an easy start.
We strongly recommend A La Carte for its location as well: Although not in the city center, we could easily drive around the city (late fall) and if you choose to come in the summer, I would recommend biking to the city center as well. Very quiet neighborhood, very typical as well with rows of the Montreal Triplex houses and maple trees all around. the BnB is walking distance to a nice shopping area for grocery mainly and nice restaurants with good value for money
We would definetely come back

Room Tip: The appartment upstairs great for family. In the winter time you need a car to drive to city center
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Although Montreal is a wonderful city to visit, the best part of our trip was the A la Carte B&B. From the warm welcome, comfortable, clean rooms & the excellent breakfasts, this B&B was pure joy. Daniel, Petra & Monsieur Petit were amazing hosts. Petra sat down with us & introduced us to the various "sights to see" & showed us how to utilize the transit system. (We were not driving.) The location was excellent as it is 1 block from buses and in a lovely district filled with restaurants, shops, etc. We are pleased to recommend A la Carte to family & friends as well as to anyone who enjoys staying at a B &B.
George & Sandy

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Original art in your room, a lovely rain shower, and the sweetest little welcome doggie Monsieur Petit. Petra and Daniel are wonderful hosts. As others have also reviewed: an exceptional value and a lucky find!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Daniel and Petra are gems. What a great place to stay, reasonably priced and tastefully decorated. We liked being close to the Jardin Botanque, but not super close to other sites. But the parking, atmosphere, hospitality, and easy access to Public Transportation made this an exceptional value and a lucky find.

One night we just wanted to veg.....over 600 movies to choose from their remarkable collection made that an ez decision. A great place call home and feel at home in Montreal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during a trip from Toronto to Quebec. What a lovely part of Montreal with a 'village' atmosphere to the area. Lots of good restaurants and coffee shops in the area.
Daniel and Petra were superb hosts. We can understand why they have many repeat bookings.
The rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you could possibly need. The bonus of a little white fluffy dog to keep you company is a bonus!

We have recommended this place to so many people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A la Carte Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A la Carte Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5477 10th Ave., Montreal, Quebec H1Y 2G9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Rosemont-La Petite-Patrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 147 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A one-of-a-kind, award-winning Bed and Breakfast with style! An elegant, urban B&B accommodation in a quiet residential neighbourhood with convenient bus and subway connections to downtown Montréal and all tourist attractions. Offering two designer rooms and an apartment - luxurious, spacious and air conditioned; cozy fireplaces, Jacuzzi, patio, BBQ ... delicious breakfasts and charming services beyond cordial hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Carte Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.