We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great and Warm Knowledgeable Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great and Warm Knowledgeable Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

With so many choices to stay in Montreal it can be a bit daunting. We were really torn between this establishment and another. In the end we stayed here for about two weeks as it meet our needs for being close to the Metro system, Pharmacy, restaurants and grocery stores (4 in total) around .
The best thing about this hotel is the staff were warm and genuine. They seemed to be really interested to make the stay worth while. Teal and the staff were great as when we went out to sight see we just had to tell the front desk to clean up our room and everything was speck and span! They even helped provide directions on how to get to various places by foot, metro or bus.
There are so many eateries around that the staff could point us in the right direction every time as they have tried most of them as they love really good food.
Even though there is a convection oven, stove, fridge extra, I doubt you will use it as many of the supermarkets have cooked food such as ADNOIS! or IGA.

A bonus to staying here was the free breakfast (the staff member Frederick was always on top of things) and the free snacks twice a week which were on offer by the hotel in the evening sometimes helped to fill an "empty" stomach.

Taking the metro is so fast and efficient that we never had to drive anywhere because we used the metro pass which was good for the train and bus! The museum of fine arts is only 8 minutes away by bus! and to get to old montreal is under 30 minutes by metro.

The only problem per-se was one of the windows couldn't close properly so noise from the people coming back from the festival was a bit loud. If you are not in a rush don't leave your room during peak times and expect the elevator will be there for you.

Next time we come back we are surely to book this place again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor facing the mountain to wake up to a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    147
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
81
91
38
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights (Aug 1-4th) in a two bedroom suite.
NO housekeeping ! !
We would leave the hotel early morning and be back late at night and the beds were not made, and no clean towels were placed. NOT acceptable.
We were a group of young people, so we didn't bother calling or complaining, after a long day at the Osheaga music festival, we were too tired to care.
Just because it is known that young teens are the guests - doesn't mean that they had to be prejudice and discriminate by assuming the rooms didn't need to be clean.
Breakfast - just okay.
Not worth the premium rate for this suite and lousy service. We will never stay at another Residence Inn "MARRIOTT" chain again.

Room Tip: book somewhere else. We stayed at the Fairmont Queen Elizabeth, last August - 100 times better th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Silvia R

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had with the room not being made everyday. Our hotel’s best practice is to indicate all of our guest request & complaints and follow up with them to obtain all guest satisfaction. It is very important to let us know such issues so they can be dealt with right away. We aim for all guests’ satisfaction not only certain stereotype. Would it be possible to contact the hotel referring to this comment; we would appreciate having more information to make certain this situation does not reoccur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The hotel is in a convenient location-couple min walk to Atwater metro and Ste. Catherine st. Room cleanliness lacking-dirty light switches, fans etc. Breakfast bar very busy but good and staff attentive. 2 elevators for 12 floors meant long waits.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mandey M,

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay with us and fellow travelers. We are terribly sorry to hear that you didn't fully enjoy your time with us. Thank you for bringing the concerns to our attention, rest assured we will follow up on them with team leaders. We are happy you have enjoyed breakfast and our staff assisted to your needs.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We had an awesome stay at the marriott residence inn. We stayed in a one bedroom suite with 2 double beds. A crib was set up on arrival as per our request. There was just enough space for 2 adults and 2 small children. There was a full serve kitchen which looked recently upgraded with brand new appliances, cupboards and serving utensils. It was perfect to prepare quick meals (warming up ready made food, making macaroni, making salad). The air conditioner unit had a thermostat and worked perfectly, albeit a bit noisy. The air conditioner fan had to be on when using the shower, or the smoke alarm would sound because of the steam. The bathroom was a good size and was kept very clean by the maid staff.
The hotel had an indoor pool on the penthouse floor that was small, but usually only a few patrons were using it at any given time.
There was a hot continental breakfast served daily. There were eggs, bacon, potatoes, a waffle station, cereal, oatmeal, juice, coffee and fruit. The food was excellent.
The hotel is in the heart of downtown and is within walking distance to restaurants, shops, grocery stores and cory attractions. The biodome is a 15 minute drive through the city and the mountain is a 10 min drive.
The elevators are the only downside to the building. They are very slow and tend to get busy during "rush hour" times (9am and 5pm).
We had an awesome stay and will definitely be back at this hotel in the future. We have also strongly recommended this hotel to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Upon arrival upgraded into one bedroom suite (originally booked with free night certificates, studio room) on 12th floor. Hotel is in apartment buidling in the middle of residential area (probably never disegned for a hotel, anyway), some 2 blocks from subway station and also 2 blocks from nearest grocery shop. There are only 2 lifts, which can be sometimes problematic. Staff is very friendly and accomodating, but hotel is dated and needs renovations ASAP. One bedroom suite was roomy, but bathroom on very small side with some half century old sink and bath, and shower head that was about to break out of the wall. Toilet seat has also seen better times. Kitchen was useful and more modern, same goes for bedroom. Internet was fast and reliable. Breakfast very basic, more motel that hotel style. Good hotel for families and groups, but I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Management at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear HotCat11,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and other travelers. We are sorry to hear that you will not be returning to our property. Please know that we have shared your comments with our team leaders and made certain that corrective measures be taken whenever possible. We are happy that you enjoyed the bedroom, kitchen, internet and staff.

Sincerely,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We knew in advance where the hotel was and what was around in the area, so we didn't have any complaints in that regard like some others did. I also didn't mind that the hotel was cautious about not damaging my vehicle and suggested we park in the outside lot only one block away (the cost was $20 a day with in and out privileges either way so I'm not sure what others are complaining about). The room was spacious with a full kitchen and large balcony with a great view of the mountain. Everything was clean and stocked (they even have a coffee maker in the room). the fitness room was very simple, but it all worked and was clean. The breakfast buffet had a good variety. I had no issues with internet access (we have several devices on the go and all worked fine). Front desk staff was friendly and helpful. Overall, this was a good value and pleasant stay.
The hotel is a couple of blocks up from the main strip, but all within walking distance of a number of restaurants. It was a comfortable walk to Crescent Street where there are lots of venues to chose from.

Room Tip: Both sides of the hall offer good views - either of the mountain or downtown, so you can't go wr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otis Orchards, Washington
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The Residence Inn Westmount is in a bit of an unusual neighborhood. Actually we never really did figure out quite where we were. It was a 20 minute walk to a very good group of restaurants, and 20 minutes to the closest Hop on Bus. The staff was friendly, the room as very nice and the breakfast was excellent. It is $40 from the Airport as I remember

Room Tip: Need to do some scouting of the area. On the second night we found c-store and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Address: 2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.