We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Bargain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #58 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Bargain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I was surprisingly impressed by the Residence Inn Westmont. The hotel was clean and stylish with sizable rooms, a kitchenette, and great views. The staff was friendly and attentive, and there was a well-stocked, complimentary hot breakfast. The neighborhood doesn't look that interesting at first, but it's only a couple of blocks from the Metro. For a budget hotel, I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    147
    62
    26
    10
See reviews for
81
91
38
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Carolima
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in the middle of great areas for food and things to do. The rooms are old, small and dark. The perimeter of the carpet in the rooms was dusty dirty, carpet had spots, bathrooms are small. Shower water pressure was low one day and ok the next, hot water was not consistent, sometimes you had it sometime you did not. Had a problem with the iton in the room, 4 calls and no fix, took it to the front desk and it still took them several hours to replace it. As a Platinum traveler trying to work and get home, find another place, you don't get a good feeling from the place. Parking is difficult, $20 a day and you must have a small car, 5'6" is all the higher that fits. Breakfast was marginal, you get what you pay for in a free breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Jimmy McFly,

Thank you for choosing a Marriott property for your recent stay. We were glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and we hope you had the time to discover the neighbourhood’s shops and activities. As for all the other points you mentioned, we are looking into each one of them with our team leaders. Thank you for taking the time to report to us your likes and dislikes of the hotel and to have shared your experience with us. Comments like yours are very important to us as they allow us to improve ourselves and service our guest better. Should the occasion arise for you to be in Montreal again it would please us greatly to have the opportunity of welcoming you again and make certain you have a vey pleasant stay with us.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at dozens of Marriott's and Residence Inn's over the years (being a former platinum member and current gold member) and I have to say this is the worst, far below the standard I ave come to expect from a Residence Inn.The only thing going for this place is it is in a great location, within steps of the Atwater subway station and an endless amount of restaurants, bars and shops. Close to nice parks, grocery stores and a movie theatre The view off the north side of the building above the 10th or so floor is very nice.

The condition of the hotel is deplorable, completely falling apart, It is quite obvious in the parking garage or balconies. The building appears to be an ancient apartment building with a fresh clumpy coat of paint slapped on it (this is speculation), which would be fine but it obviously was not designed to be a hotel. This is extremely apparent while waiting 10+minutes (not an exaggeration) for one of the two tiny elevators in this high rise. The guests and staff seem to be constantly battling each other for an elevator and sometimes even after waiting 10+ minutes, the elevator will finally arrive completely filled with a cleaning cart or through riders so you are forced to wait again (I have climbed the stairs 10 stories a number of times). Honestly no joke I am writing these words as I wait for the elevator in the lobby! Sometimes there is a large crowd piled up in the lobby waiting for a turn in the elevator. The car park is like a dungeon, which is fine but the key card access is failing and I often end up waiting for a staff member to come out and open the door.

Contrary to most Residence Inn's I've stayed in the fridge is about the size of a shoebox, making an extended stay very difficult. The kitchen appears to be freshly remodeled and overall nice, not so much for the rest of the room, ratty carpet, failing fixtures and a lack of light make the room uncomfortable to stay in. Cleaning personnel seem to be doing a good job for what they are up against, although I did wake up one morning with vomit on my balcony (from above I suspect) and it wasn't cleaned my entire stay. Some of the air conditioners seemed to be working ok, while others were making noises I've only heard in bowling alleys (I was here with a group so I was in a few different rooms throughout my stay).

The wireless Internet is a joke (as is most Marriott's) forget streaming or making video calls home on Skype. Even with a strong wireless signal, the service is too slow for anything more than very basic duties. I suggest bringing a travel router with and using the hard line connection provided, it is better.

Although they offer a morning breakfast with plenty of options I would stay away from the eggs and meat, I don't know where they get them but they are most certainly not real and taste disgusting. The breads and muffins are hard and taste like shoe leather which is unfortunate since there are some very good bakeries closeby. I would recommend eating breakfast elsewhere but this seems to be the norm in the Canadian Marriott's I've stayed in.

The staff is friendly and helpful, I just feel bad for them as they have to deal with this repulsive property.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear CheapAssTraveler,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience during your recent stay with us. We appreciate your comments as we are constantly striving to improve the level of quality offered by the hotel. We were sorry to read your disappointment about your stay and please be aware that we have shared your remarks with our Team Leaders in order to take the appropriate actions to improve ourselves wherever possible.

Should you decide to return to Montreal and give us another try, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey, US
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our family stayed in an one bedroom suite for 2 days in the end of August. We booked hotel using my company's discount rate, so it is a good value. However, the property needs some update. The carpet is suspicious dark red color that made it difficult to assess the cleanness of the room. In-room wifi is very slow and unreliable. During breakfast hours, it is very difficult to get an elevator ride. The elevator is slow and often packed. We used stairs even we stayed on the forth floor in several occasions. The breakfast selection is very standard.
Overall the hotel is a nice budget hotel but needs some improvement.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Laopu,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments regarding our accommodations & services are important to us, they allow us to develop and service our guest better. We shared your comments with our Team Leaders in order to take the appropriate actions to improve ourselves. Please contact us on your next trip to Montreal and we will make certain that your stay be pleasant one.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband, daughter and I really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms and common areas were very clean and well maintained. The service was friendly and efficient. The in-room bathrooms could use a little updating, but otherwise all was good. The complimentary breakfast was decent as well. Lots of options to choose from, even for the pickiest of eaters. The free wi-fi was a big plus. A couple downsides: the pool was 4ft at it's shallowest, so this is obviously a no-go for very young kids or new swimmers. The fitness center was very small (as they are in many hotels), with 4 or 5 cardio machines and a few weights.

Room Tip: A one BR suite could accomodate 2 adults in the bedroom and 2 kids in the living room on the foldout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Trae N,

We at the Residence Inn Montreal Westmount would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. It’s a pleasure to read that we have met your expectations, and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you and your family again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

This was a great hotel for me - and I have stayed in several recently in Montreal. The room was good with a nice little balcony, the suite is ideal for long term residents and the kitchenette was in a separate room so the noise of the fridge doesn't keep you awake. The location is good being minutes away from the Metro and also with easy access to the Ville-Marie. The parking was good and much easier than some downtown hotels. The staff were great. The price is good, especially if you are staying for an extended time.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Helen3333,

Thank you for rating us 5/5 on Trip Advisor! It was a pleasure to read your comments. As stated in your review, our hotel is perfect for extended stays: all of our rooms come with fully-equipped kitchens, helping you make your stay with us a little more cost effective and convenient. We hope to welcome you back in Montreal real soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several times over the past 5 years. While they have been renovating, if you are used to modern conveniences like fast elevators, new appliances and open concept living, then you will be in for a bit of a surprise. If you are familiar with Montreal, you might be a little less shocked. The parking is terrible~ there is not a lot available and it is costly, at $20 a day. The staff is great though, and while the price used to be very good, it has jumped recently. The bottom line is that it is clean and the staff is friendly. The free breakfast and managers special are good. There is a small pool on the top floor, with a fantastic view of Montreal, but no hot tub, but be prepared to wait awhile for the elevator to get you there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Evelyn W,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Montreal Westmount. Guests feedback is very important to us especially from returning guests. We look forward to welcoming you again in Montreal.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Address: 2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.