We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #52 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Delhi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Just an average stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I was on a business trip to Montreal and stayed in this hotel for around 7 nights.

Pros:

1. Great breakfast. Just loved it
2. Rooms were quite clean
3. Location: quite near to Atwater metro station
4
. Courteous hotel staff

Cons:

1. Sometimes, service is sloppy. They delivered someone else's laundry to me ;)
2. Staff is less in number, so expect delays in service
3. Not so great balcony
4. Just an ordinary washroom, although it was quite clean
5. Markets are quite-a-walk away. Nearest is St.Catherine St., which is about 10 mins walk. In -38*C, it is terrible.
6. Internet had looooadddss of issues during my stay
7. Noisy air conditioner/heater

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear rohan_thunderbolt,

First of all we would like to thank you for your feedback about your experience at the Residence Inn Montreal - Westmount! We are sorry our service wasn’t to your satisfaction, as it is in our standards to provide every of our guest with an experience above expectation. Your review has been shared with the department heads who will take the appropriate measures to make sure those downfall in the service are rectified. However, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your room, your breakfast, and hotel location. Please make sure to visit us again, -38 degrees is very rare in Montreal, spring and summer are quite enjoyable!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    133
    54
    26
    9
See reviews for
66
83
36
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We wanted to use up some Marriot points so stayed for two nights before going to the Ice Hotel in Montreal.
Overall impressions of the hotel were good. Reception staff were efficient, polite and very friendly both at check-in/out and one morning when we were asking about getting around Montreal.
The suite we had was very nice and had all the amenities we needed except one: an in-room safe - something that as an international traveler I do miss!
The hotel is walking distance to the metro which is efficient and a one-day pass made sense for us.
Good variety of food on offer at breakfast.
Would I recommend? Can't think of a reason not to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on the Family Day weekend, and we were very happy. Our room was clean and spacious with a kitchen. The free breakfast buffet was definitely one of the key elements to making our stay so memorable and satisfying - delicious and a great variety! Close proximity to the subway, and close enough to walk to the main things on Rue St. Catherine. The front desk was very helpful and gave good pointers on attractions we planned to see. The only added expense (that we were prepared for) was the cost of parking ($20/day) which adds up very quickly, but great if you want you car in an underground sage parking (however most SUVs and vans may have a hard time fitting in). Overall a great experience for our first time in Montreal and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Liz D,

Thank you for your nice review about your stay with us! We are always happy to read such positive comments about client experiences at the Residence Inn Westmount. We look forward to welcome you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

located in a residencial area in downtown Montreal. the rooms are comfortable, subway stop 2 blocks away, very good price, breakfast had good variety.

I was in montreal for 36 hours on last minute business trip and did not have enough time to check out options. overall no complaints, would recommend it for short trips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Hsmx,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at the Residence Inn Westmount on Trip Advisor. We are glad to read you had a relaxing stay with us while in Montreal. Come back to visit us soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley Goose Bay, NL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

good helpful staff, clean, awesome location right next to the atwater metro station, only a walk away from resturants, coffee shops and clothes shops. We stayed for 3 nights, if we could have stayed longer we would have, they had good free breakfasts and a few days had free snacks at supper time. We didnt get the chance to take advantage of the pool and gym because we were touring and shopping so much. I would highly recommend this place, it's not high class but it's clean and an awesome location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Labradorian87,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us! We hope the shopping was good and we hope to welcoming you again soon at Residence Inn Montreal Westmount!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel i.e. Feb. 4th & 5th, 2013. For starters we were impressed with the friendly efficient lady at the reception desk who greeted us upon arrival, checked us in and within minutes we had the key to our room #1012 which had an awesome view of Montreal. A great feature is you can park in front of the hotel for 15 minutes while you checkin which gives you time to take your luggage to the room and return to park the car in the underground garage.

We were very pleased with our exceptionally clean accomodation we had a living room, a dining area, a well equipped kitchen but did not use it, a separate bedroom and a nice bathroom. The suite had been newly renovated and was tastefully decorated.

Because the temperature was -15c when we were there it was lovely not to have to go out in the early morning to find a place for breakfast. Breakfast is complimentary the selection is endless and includes everything you could possibly want.

The location is ideal just a short walk to St. Catharine Street and there are many fine restaurants in the area.

We can't say enough about the staff everyone we encountered whether it was those at the front desk,the attendants who clean the room, those who work in the breakfast area or those who wash the floors of the common area never missed an opportunity to say hello which made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view and are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear 1000Hedy,

Thank you for your nice review about your experience at Residence Inn Montreal - Westmount! What a pleasure to read you were entirely satisfied with our staff, accommodation, location and breakfast. Make sure you contact us upon your next visit, we would be delighted to welcome you again in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on a business trip, and was surprised that for the price, this hotel was quite nice. Recently renovated, you could tell that this is an old building but they've taken care to update it with modern furnishings.

The breakfast is pretty standard for a Residence Inn, but the mid-week dinner/snacks available were a nice touch. They had some mini hamburgers and fries out one of the nights I was there, along with fruit and tea and drinks.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in the midst of a particularly cold spell in calling cabs and recommending restaurants. There are some options nearby within walking distance (unless it's -16 degrees, like it was when I went).

I didn't get to check out the pool or gym but I hear it's fine from my coworker. It felt a bit cold when I was there, but again ,the outside temperature was very cold. The thermostat has a limit to how much you can pump it. My coworker had an issue with the heater in his room, two of the baseboard heaters weren't working and his room wouldn't get warm enough. He fiddled with it after being cold the first night and they started heating up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear ChristinaP588,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with Trip Advisor's travellers! We are so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you're visiting, make sure to check out our penthouse floor (pool, sauna, gym) the panorama over Mount Royal and downtown Montreal is very impressive!
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Address: 2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.