We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Highly Recommend This Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada (Centre-Ville (Downtown))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #62 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“We Highly Recommend This Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at this hotel i.e. Feb. 4th & 5th, 2013. For starters we were impressed with the friendly efficient lady at the reception desk who greeted us upon arrival, checked us in and within minutes we had the key to our room #1012 which had an awesome view of Montreal. A great feature is you can park in front of the hotel for 15 minutes while you checkin which gives you time to take your luggage to the room and return to park the car in the underground garage.

We were very pleased with our exceptionally clean accomodation we had a living room, a dining area, a well equipped kitchen but did not use it, a separate bedroom and a nice bathroom. The suite had been newly renovated and was tastefully decorated.

Because the temperature was -15c when we were there it was lovely not to have to go out in the early morning to find a place for breakfast. Breakfast is complimentary the selection is endless and includes everything you could possibly want.

The location is ideal just a short walk to St. Catharine Street and there are many fine restaurants in the area.

We can't say enough about the staff everyone we encountered whether it was those at the front desk,the attendants who clean the room, those who work in the breakfast area or those who wash the floors of the common area never missed an opportunity to say hello which made us feel welcome.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view and are less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear 1000Hedy,

Thank you for your nice review about your experience at Residence Inn Montreal - Westmount! What a pleasure to read you were entirely satisfied with our staff, accommodation, location and breakfast. Make sure you contact us upon your next visit, we would be delighted to welcome you again in Montreal!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    172
    65
    30
    13
See reviews for
95
98
40
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights on a business trip, and was surprised that for the price, this hotel was quite nice. Recently renovated, you could tell that this is an old building but they've taken care to update it with modern furnishings.

The breakfast is pretty standard for a Residence Inn, but the mid-week dinner/snacks available were a nice touch. They had some mini hamburgers and fries out one of the nights I was there, along with fruit and tea and drinks.

The staff was very friendly and helpful in the midst of a particularly cold spell in calling cabs and recommending restaurants. There are some options nearby within walking distance (unless it's -16 degrees, like it was when I went).

I didn't get to check out the pool or gym but I hear it's fine from my coworker. It felt a bit cold when I was there, but again ,the outside temperature was very cold. The thermostat has a limit to how much you can pump it. My coworker had an issue with the heater in his room, two of the baseboard heaters weren't working and his room wouldn't get warm enough. He fiddled with it after being cold the first night and they started heating up.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear ChristinaP588,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property with Trip Advisor's travellers! We are so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Next time you're visiting, make sure to check out our penthouse floor (pool, sauna, gym) the panorama over Mount Royal and downtown Montreal is very impressive!
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Marriot and we really enjoyed our stay!
The staff at the reception was very helpful and cordial. Our room was really clean and quite comfortable and the little kitchen was perfect.
The included breakfast was good and the pool and gym on the penthouse level were very nice and well kept.
The location is good, near the Atwater subway station and St Catherine street.
My only complaint is about the shower. The bathtub kept filling up with water as I was taking a shower. I guess the drain needed a little work.
Overall, I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear danaevc,
Thank you for your feedback! What a pleasure to read you enjoyed your stay with us. You comments about the shower will be forwarded to the maintenance.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Residence Inn Westmount!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Except the noisy heating system and aging plumbing in the wc, the rest is A+ excellent and very well situated. Close to st catherine yet away from the noise. Universities, shopping mall and cinemas, museum are all a walking distance even in winter.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarieLoevenbruck, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Webstain,
Thank you for your review. It's important for us to receive feedback from our valued guests! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Residence Inn Westmount, and look forward to welcoming you again soon !

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Montreal as the mid-point in a two week road trip. The hotel itself is easy to find as you enter Montreal and as we had a car we'd booked into the hotel's car park for the two nights.

And here-in comes my first tip! You need to check-in first before you can access the garage. There are waiting spaces (15 minutes) outside the hotel where you can leave your vehicle whilst you complete the check-in process as you will need your room key to gain entry to the garage. The garage is underground and has low headroom (5' 6") and the spaces are very tight! Parking charges are CAD$20 per night.

Check-in process itself smooth and efficient handled by friendly, helpful staff (we got maps and loads of tips - for good places to go within easy walking distance - from the young man who helped us).
Our room was large, with a fully equiped kitchenette. The bathroom was on the small side with complimentery toiletries but the towels were on the small side. One observation is that there was no in-room safe. Again there was free wi-fi available in room. Bed was comfortable; one thing I found strange was that the duvet was placed between two sheets rather than inserted in a duvet cover. Not sure how I felt about this as I wasn't sure if the duvets themselves were changed at each guest change or just the linens. Either way a good nights sleep was had, and there was no external (or internal) noise intrusion.
We were booked in on the bed & breakfast rate. The breakfast was so-so nothing to rave about with limited choice - but ok for a coffee and pastry before heading out for the day.

When checking out, if you've parked your car in the garage, you'll need to remove it first as again you need the room key to exit the garage and there is no release mechanism from reception!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sunny636,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our propery with Trip Advisor travellers! We are glad to read you had a good time in Montreal while staying with us. Please be informed that all information about our parking is displayed on our website and on each reservation channel. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We reached the hotel pretty late on Christmas eve and the attendant at the reception was extremely cordial and even gave my niece a little candy. Small things like this make you feel so welcome. She also gave us some tips for sightseeing for the next day.
After this we went to the room which was very clean and comfortable. The reception recommended a restaurant that was very good and delivered food to our room. The next day breakfast was very good with a nice spread of items. The metro stop is only a block away which was very convenient.
Pros- Awesome staff, clean, great location, onsite parking, close to the metro
Cons- Parking might not be convenient for SUVs. The height is very low.

The also let us keep the car till end of day the next day. Infact we left for quebec city at 10pm, so it was almost 24hrs for us which was great.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, which is newly renovated. Ask for rooms on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Veer26,

Thank you for your nice review. We are honoured that you chose Residence Inn Westmount for your stay in Montreal, and happy to read your Christmas Eve with us was memorable!

Happy New Year, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
45 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I booked two nights at this hotel this week.
Pro's -
location is great, steps from the Alexis Nihon mall, two blocks from st catherine, atwater station
breakfast is included, decent enough to satisfy most travelers for sure
onsite parking (the marriot champlain has but its less convenient, the downtown marriot does not so you must source this offsite)
staff - cudo's to mgt for the reception staff, arnaud was great
Gym was small but nicely outfitted with a penthouse view of the immediate area
Neg's -
Really not much, slightly removed, but I walked to the heart of st catherines in less than 10 mins
Parking is provided, but it is the lowest overhead I've seen in North American. Beware if you have an SUV, 5'6" I think. Charge was reasonable
good luck finding your car too, the elevator only shows P2 but there are 5 levels or so, so you will have to pull your bag along for a ride... bit odd.. but better than sourcing parking offsite

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear maltyone,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Residence Inn Westmount. We will forward your kind comment to the concerned staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Address: 2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Marriott, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.