We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but read notes about parking!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #56 of 170 hotels in Montreal
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good location, but read notes about parking!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for two nights in Montreal as the mid-point in a two week road trip. The hotel itself is easy to find as you enter Montreal and as we had a car we'd booked into the hotel's car park for the two nights.

And here-in comes my first tip! You need to check-in first before you can access the garage. There are waiting spaces (15 minutes) outside the hotel where you can leave your vehicle whilst you complete the check-in process as you will need your room key to gain entry to the garage. The garage is underground and has low headroom (5' 6") and the spaces are very tight! Parking charges are CAD$20 per night.

Check-in process itself smooth and efficient handled by friendly, helpful staff (we got maps and loads of tips - for good places to go within easy walking distance - from the young man who helped us).
Our room was large, with a fully equiped kitchenette. The bathroom was on the small side with complimentery toiletries but the towels were on the small side. One observation is that there was no in-room safe. Again there was free wi-fi available in room. Bed was comfortable; one thing I found strange was that the duvet was placed between two sheets rather than inserted in a duvet cover. Not sure how I felt about this as I wasn't sure if the duvets themselves were changed at each guest change or just the linens. Either way a good nights sleep was had, and there was no external (or internal) noise intrusion.
We were booked in on the bed & breakfast rate. The breakfast was so-so nothing to rave about with limited choice - but ok for a coffee and pastry before heading out for the day.

When checking out, if you've parked your car in the garage, you'll need to remove it first as again you need the room key to exit the garage and there is no release mechanism from reception!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sunny636,
Thank you for sharing your experience at our propery with Trip Advisor travellers! We are glad to read you had a good time in Montreal while staying with us. Please be informed that all information about our parking is displayed on our website and on each reservation channel. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    126
    50
    26
    9
See reviews for
64
78
34
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We reached the hotel pretty late on Christmas eve and the attendant at the reception was extremely cordial and even gave my niece a little candy. Small things like this make you feel so welcome. She also gave us some tips for sightseeing for the next day.
After this we went to the room which was very clean and comfortable. The reception recommended a restaurant that was very good and delivered food to our room. The next day breakfast was very good with a nice spread of items. The metro stop is only a block away which was very convenient.
Pros- Awesome staff, clean, great location, onsite parking, close to the metro
Cons- Parking might not be convenient for SUVs. The height is very low.

The also let us keep the car till end of day the next day. Infact we left for quebec city at 10pm, so it was almost 24hrs for us which was great.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, which is newly renovated. Ask for rooms on that floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Veer26,

Thank you for your nice review. We are honoured that you chose Residence Inn Westmount for your stay in Montreal, and happy to read your Christmas Eve with us was memorable!

Happy New Year, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I booked two nights at this hotel this week.
Pro's -
location is great, steps from the Alexis Nihon mall, two blocks from st catherine, atwater station
breakfast is included, decent enough to satisfy most travelers for sure
onsite parking (the marriot champlain has but its less convenient, the downtown marriot does not so you must source this offsite)
staff - cudo's to mgt for the reception staff, arnaud was great
Gym was small but nicely outfitted with a penthouse view of the immediate area
Neg's -
Really not much, slightly removed, but I walked to the heart of st catherines in less than 10 mins
Parking is provided, but it is the lowest overhead I've seen in North American. Beware if you have an SUV, 5'6" I think. Charge was reasonable
good luck finding your car too, the elevator only shows P2 but there are 5 levels or so, so you will have to pull your bag along for a ride... bit odd.. but better than sourcing parking offsite

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear maltyone,
Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in Residence Inn Westmount. We will forward your kind comment to the concerned staff.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
374 helpful votes 374 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Hubs and I picked this hotel based on its proximity to the Museum of Modern Art, and on price. It was priced well below other similar hotels in that neighbourhood, so we booked it. We were extremely pleased with our choice! While this hotel won't bowl you over with its exterior looks, don't be put off by that. The location is fantastic! Ste Catherine street is just a few blocks walk, as is Concordia, McGill and the Museum. There are lots of depanneurs and grocery stores if you want to stock up on food and/or drinks. All sorts of restaurants are nearby. You can just park your car and never need to use it for the duration of your stay. And while you are right downtown, the street is actually nice and quiet with very little street noise.
Our room was very clean and had all the amenities we needed; a lovely kitchenette (with granite countertop, convection oven, full fridge, dishwasher and of course, dishes), a big flat screen TV, free wi-wifi, a generous balcony with lovely views, a really comfy bed with lots of pillows, and windows that open! (this is a must for me!).
The service was perfect. Checkin was quick and easy as was the checkout. When we first checked in, the front desk staff phoned us to make sure we were satisfied with our room. What a nice touch!
There is convenient underground parking available (for a fee, of course) which was really handy. Please be warned though that it will only accomodate vehicles up to 5'6" in height!
I have very little to complain about with this hotel. The only improvements I can think of would be to have recycling bins in the rooms and also to accomodate adult only times at the pool. Unfortunately their pool, while nice, is quite small and of course very popular with families. All it takes is 2 or more families with young children to use the pool at once and well, it's just mayhem with kids screaming and jumping in and out of the pool. It was not very pleasant.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel so I cannot comment on that.
All in all, the Marriott R.I. made our last stay in Montreal very pleasant and I would not hesitate to return to this hotel for any future visits to this marvellous city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I like cmpfigueroa's description "Respectable option"
Good location. Comfortable rooms. Not your Westin or Ritz Carlton but an OK place to stay for a couple of nights. Rooms clean and tidy. Breakfast very good. Good location . No complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear scozzer,

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy to read you enjoyed hotel's accommodation, service and location. Hope to welcome you again soon!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. I used my Marriott points and this one was the cheapest option among all Marriotts in Montreal (minus the one by the airport, which wasn't an option). Just outside of DT of Montreal, 2 blocks from St. Catherine Street. Service was nice, but room needed some renovation. Breakfast was average. First day I had a major issue with a cigarette smoke coming from bathroom's air duct. I complained to front desk and it was taken care of. Overall, not bad if you are on budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear cool-al,

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed our hotel's location & service. We look forward to welcoming you again!

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Residence Inn Westmount is on a residential and quiet street a few hundred meters from Westmount Mall and Atwater station of the Montreal metro. It is considered to be just right outside Montreal's downtown. If you're fine with that, then the Residence Inn is a nice option.

Location: 5 minute walk to Atwater station, and to a mall that has several restaurants, a huge supermarket, and the usual shops;

Room: A typical serviced apartment with kitchen facilities
Breakfast was free and respectable.

Service was topnotch.

Room Tip: Get rooms on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelStPaul, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear cmpfigueroa,
Thank you for sharing your experience at Residence Inn Westmount with Trip Advisor travellers! What a pleasure to read you were entirely satisfied with our accommodation, service, location.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount

Also Known As:
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel
Residence Inn Montreal Westmount Hotel Montreal
Residence Inn Montreal
Montreal Residence Inn
Address: 2170 Lincoln Ave., Montreal, Quebec H3H 2N5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn by Marriott - Montreal Westmount to your Saves list