We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected too much from the room description...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Versailles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Versailles to your Saves list
Le Meridien Versailles
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1808, Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E5, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
L'Assomption, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expected too much from the room description...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

As a Starwood Gold preferred guest, I had access to rent a superior room with a jacuzzi bath and marble bathroom at a low rate. We decided to give it a try to celebrate St-Valentine's day during the weekend instead of monday night.

The exterior of the hotel is not too impressive. The interior is less impressive. I felt cramped in the small elevators and narrow corridors. It smelled like old carpet and the color scheme is depressing.

The room was big and confortable but the marble bathroom was a deception... a bit small and no space for 2 in the jacuzzi. The week before, we had stayed at superior room in the Four Points by Sheraton of Levis and it had a magnificent marble bathroom with a sliding wall that allowed to watch TV in the room while taking a relaxing bath. I guess we imagine something similar. The bath worked fine and was relaxing, but we could not enjoy it as a couple.

The front desk seems a little confused about Starwood promos and practices but was very friendly and polite. I had prepaid and reserved the jacuzzi room but pretended that they had already gave me an upgrade and could not come up with my original reservation to prove his claims. I was in a hurry to go to the restaurant so I let it slide.

Overall, it was ok but there are better options not far from there... like the Sheraton center.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Our property is definitely on the smaller side, European style. Unfortunately, we cannot cannot do much about that. On the other hand, your comments about front desk being confused are definitely something we will address.

We would prefer to have you stay with us again, but we are glad you to hear about our sister Starwood properties in your comments.

YB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    146
    87
    43
    10
See reviews for
61
137
41
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

We arrive the day after the snow storm,our plans had changed,so we were there at 9am
Our room was on the 5th Floor 2 double beds pretty spacious room,very small bathroom, & a TV from the 70's ( which was acceptable 2/3yrs ago but even Motels have upgraded to flat screen. It was great to get a shower after a Red Eye from Vancouver
We parken just around the corner for 1 hr in a parking Lot $4 because we were leaving for the day.But on return we ask about their alternative parking ( therte is $26 per Day Valet ) we were sent to a College a couple of plocks away it was 9pm at night we seached the college for this Special Parking ........Coundnt be found so back to the hotel to ask again to be told it was the 3rd entrance there are 3 entrances to identical building's...........Finally we found it..........OK for other exhausted people let me explain the deal ...there is a little hut with envelopes ( take a pen ) you write the the envelope the time you arrive put $15 inside write on the outside part of the evelope tear of and put on windscreen easy when you know $15 for 24hrs & $9 for 12hrs
We had lunch just by luck around the corner at a tiny Bistro Goumet Set Price $10.99 it was fantastic highly recommended ........We found a great breakfast place "Universel" on Peel ( next to Omni Hotel )serves great breakfast all day their prices include Tea/Coffeee.Toast.Etc between $8-$10 per person inc Fantastic Value we went a Sat & Sunday both days were amazing very busy nice atmosphere
Hotel recommended L'Acadame on Cresent (bring your own wine or beer) very busy fantastic atmosphere good prices Entres $16-$25
On St Catherines of course lots of high end and local boutiques and the Shopping Mall is just Enormous miles and miles of underground shopping
We also went to a restaurant that was highly recommended on trip advisor called Le Grain de Sel 514.522.5105 www.restolegraindesel.ca
This was a fantastic restaurant small at the very end of St Catherine's not walking distance a quick taxi ..The food & Menu were amazing 3 of us ate with 2 beers & a Coke 2 Appetizers 3 Entres 2 Desserts for $100
Le Meridian Versailles is about 15 mins walk from the main St Catherines shopping Mall etc .............TERRIBLE CONSTRUCTION on the road outside .........but a very nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

It sounds like you were able to make your stay in Montreal a positive one, despite the snowstorm!

I am glad to announce that the 70s TVs are (almost) all gone. Flat screen plasmas have arrived and are being installed right now.

It is great to hear that some places we suggest to our guest were well appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon (hopefully construction will be over).

YB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We were in Montreal to attend to the affairs of my recently deceased relative. Our days were stressful and tiring. So we were very appreciative of the very quiet, dark and comfortable room each night. The proximity of the subway was very convenient. We stayed ten days and would return to this hotel anytime we are in Montreal again!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
Dear Guests,

The entire LM Versailles team would like to extend their condolences. We are glad to have been of some comfort during those though times.

We look forward to having you stay with us under happier circumstances.

YB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

I went with a friend to shop and relax. As I checked in, I asked where I could park. The clerk said there was no parking, that I could park on the street for free overnight in 10 minutes or I could pay 26$/night for valet parking. The problem is Sherbrooke O is under construction and it was a hockey night. It took us 20 minutes to park and we had to walk for 10 minutes with all of our luggage after a big day of shoppin. I took for granted parking was included when I called, the clerk said I should have asked when I made the reservation! Although I wasn't happy with the parking situation, the staff was courteous. Our room was clean but the beds need new matresses, they sank in the middle. For the price I paid I was expecting more comfortable beds and better parking. Ridi Restaurant, (high end) was delicious and the service was attentive, professional... wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

We apologize for our response and our handling of the parking situation. The issue has been addressed. With the construction on Sherbrooke street, we should have dealt better with the situation.

We will also look into the bed situation, as we are proud of offering Le Méridien Signature beds to our guests, if bedding is in need of changing, we will do so. The confort of our beds is usually a strong point of ours.

Glad you enjoyed Ridi (and the Montreal shopping experience).

YB
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010 via mobile

Loved my stay at this hotel. Stayed on the 10th floor with a view of the mountain and overlooking Sherbrooke St.

The deco of the recently reno'ed rm was modern, tasteful, classy, cozy and welcoming.

It was perhaps one of the smallest hotel rm Ive stayed in but the decor was so well done it made the small size irrelevent because it translated into an intimate environment.

Thus hotel is close to a number of attractions (look up google maps) and is a 5min cab ride to the business core (St-Carherine St. + McGill College Ave. area).

Would love to stay at this hotel again.

One of the nice touches us the friendly greetings from the doorman and frontdesk staff... makes you feel welcome.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are delighted that you had a great experience at LM Versailles!

Our team works very hard, and hearing great comments like your is certainly rewarding for us.

YB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

I was recently traveling with my daughter for a shopping weekend. We booked all our travel on points and had purchased travel vouchers for the hotel. We had lots of trouble with the booking (which had to be done through the cooperate site) Upon calling the hotel direct the person on the phone made all the adjustments necessary for our stay. Imagine corporate had me move rooms each night...........not going to happen.I was able to also get a an upgrade for all three nights. I would definitely stay here again .Also as a foot note there is the best
French Bakery " Premiere Moisson" unreal croissants and olive bread to die for.Very friendly staff great for coffee au lait. Also the area is full of great restaurants and art galleries and the museum of art, as well as Holt Renfrew all with in walking distance , can life be any better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

It's great to hear that we were able to help with the room move issue. Calling us to let us know that we can make things better is heaven sent for us. Thanks for giving us an opportunity to shine!

Glad you were able to live the full LM experience while staying with us. You are right, life is great, isn't it!

See you again soon in Montreal.

YB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Located on the edge of the Montreal business district and within easy walking distance to most meeting venues, this hotel is a Montreal gem. It is a morning treat to walk past art galleries, interesting boutiques and restaurants on the way to meetings. The property is really a small boutique hotel with plenty of charm and a wonderful staff. I have stayed here many times over the years and I have never been disappointed. I always look forward to my return stays. Highly recommended for business travellers and holidayers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YanickB, Director of Sales at Le Meridien Versailles, responded to this review, February 18, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being loyal to LM Versailles. We truly appreciate your business.

We also believe our location is unique and offers a lot. Glad to see that guests agree with us.

YB.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Versailles

Address: 1808, Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Meridien Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on elegant Sherbrooke Street West in the heart of the historic Golden Square Mile, Le Meridien Versailles is just a few steps from trendy Montreal boutiques, art galleries and eminent museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Versailles Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Hotel Montreal
Le Meridien Montreal
Montreal Le Meridien

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Versailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.