We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Montreal.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gault to your Saves list
Hotel Gault
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Stratford, Canada
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Montreal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

This is the place to stay in Old Montréal. Trust me, there are many other “boutique” hotels in my most favourite region of Montréal, but, such made-to-look-like designer knock-off hotels just don’t come close to the historical, architectural, and minimal rare gem that is Hotel Gault.

Hotel Gault has set the highest design standard in Montréal.

The affordable nightly room rate is of great value, considering this masterfully designed small hotel with wonderfully minimalist guest rooms is appointed with very expensive European designer furnishings, such as Artemide bedside lamps, Ingo Maurer light fixtures, and so on. Attention to details matter most at Hotel Gault, especially, when one notices a lot of the in room furnishings were custom made for this propertly.

Really, one must love modern design and architecture to get the most out of a stay at Hotel Gault, as the reconstruction of this historic space into something that is truly modern is nothing short of magical: when it comes to a small hotel, one cannot find a better example of architectural reconstruction in Canada, if not, North America, than Hotel Gault. (From a plaque outside the front entrance, I read about the building being the first Y.M.C.A. on the continent…)

Lastly, from a hospitality angle, Hotel Gault has an extremely helpful concierge and service team, and they always make sure our stay in Montréal is the best possible (they know the restaurant scene there inside and out, and will easily get you into the best restaurants possible, sometimes, with little or no notice).

I’ll definitely be back!

Sincerely,

Richard Maloney

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    97
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
43
309
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

We arrived at the Hotel Gault at the tail end of our trip to Canada. The good service started at the door, and we were shown to our rooms even though we were early. The rooms are as advertised - minimalist and clean and spacious. We would have liked carpet throughout rather than concrete floor (chilly in bare feet!), but we liked the classical music playing, the DVD player, and the free internet. All very good.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Hotel Gault in Montréal in July 2008 following very favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and we like so many others were massively impressed. Hotel Gault is a very chic boutique hotel which combines the best of contemporary style with friendly and professional service. Our room was spacious and wonderfully decorated. There were many nice touches such as a complimentary cocktail on arrival, gourmet crisps and snacks in room and an eclectic book and DVD library. I could not recommend Hotel Gault highly enough and hope to stay there again in the near future.

Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

Our stay at Hotel Gault was fantastic. Striking minimalism is the aesthetic here. The rooms are like lofts: high ceilings, large windows, polished concrete floors, modern fixtures. They accomplish this clean, modern look without being cold and uninviting.

We had absolutely no complaints about the service. Everyone was kind, genuine and eager to help. They weren't pushy or intrusive. They all seem to truly enjoy their work. While everyone did a wonderful job, Andre from the front desk made our trip so easy and enjoyable: recommending restaurants, providing maps and directions, telling cab drivers where to take us, etc. As we were about to drive away from the hotel this morning, he even ran outside in the frigid cold just to say goodbye to us.

There is a lovely cafe/bar in the lobby with a fireplace. It's open until 3am everyday. They make the best coffee I've ever had...be sure to order it with warm milk!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in September. The first thing I am going to comment on is the staff. As other reviews have stated they really are an asset to this hotel, exceptionally friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Next the room. We were on a second floor room which was really spacious and minimalist in design. The bed was really comfortable and had quality sheets on it. The floor was getting a bit scuffed and marked but that was the only negative thing I would say about it.

Location wise it took us about 15 minutes to walk to it from the train station. It is about 5 minutes from a metro line. There are plenty of restaurants around it as it is just on the edge of the old town.

We hadn't realised that breakfast was included in the price we paid so that was a nice surprise. It was just a simple continental style buffet but was more than adequate (the juice jugs could have done with some sort of label so you knew what you were getting before you poured)

All in all we would certainly return if we ever go back to quebec.

One final thing to note is that the "city view" that was listed when we booked wasn't as expected. I expect a city view to be of a skyline, whereas in this case I think it just meant on to a street rather than an internal view

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2009

Some associates suggested we consider this small hotel as they had heard great things. Well we will add to these good comments. Remi one of their staff advised us before we booked, and did he understand what we wanted! We run an award winning B & B in Woodstock VT and wanted a get-away that would allow us to sleep, eat good food and potter in the city. 100% hit rate was achieved. Our room was one of their bigger rooms and the $200 inc tax. deal was fair value. Another reviewer thought the hotel was looking tired...well we thought it was more than acceptable. Maybe the odd mark on a carpet, but even whilst we were there they were touching up and cleaning all the time. Our room was QUIET and we slept for over 12 hours. It is modern in a wonderfully simple way, no clutter, no heavy wood and has good lighting with a sound system. Are only two comments that could improve the stay are 1) If you have a CD player in the room put a CD in there for clients to use, 2) Why charge $5.00 for a DVD disc hire? Minor points but we felt they should be mentioned.

Breakfast is a simple affair, but the breads were fresh, fruit sliced and not out of a tin and the tea hot. It is also served until the civilised time of 11.00 and on Saturday & Sunday goes until 14.00! Now that is what we wanted, no hurry....we could sit and watch and chat.

We dined one night at DNA and the next at Holder both good, see separate reviews posted under 'restaurants'. We will certainly be back!

We thought of staying at Hotel Nelligan, and took a look around whilst we were there. The staff seemed very attentive (would match the Gault in this respect) and happily showed us their hotel. But with 106 rooms it seemed too big to us. The style of the hotel is intimate but when full, the central open atrium would allow noise to spread to many rooms. The standard of room design was high, but we felt the simplicity of the Gault was more impressive. If you like the more traditional dark wood look of a room then pick the Nelligan. If like a high degree of personality and fewer guests with more space to spread out, the the Gault is for you.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

I am a former travel editor at one of the most upscale American magazines. I have travelled the globe and am never unduly impressed... and can't bear pretension. But I was totally taken with the Hotel Gault. Small, exceptionally gracious staff, stunning and chic, superb location on quiet side street on the edge of Old Town. Two minute walk to metro. Totally stylish and original hotel... marvel at how they took an old warehouse, made it cutting edge modern in appointments and kept it at the same time warm and welcoming. Not hard edge like a Shrager hotel. Really magical. In the a.m. they bring you wake up coffee... when you're ready. Lovely to return to a hotel where they know your name.... and yet you are in a big city.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.