We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gault to your Saves list
Hotel Gault
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a couple of days over the Montreal Jazz Festival. We had a very pleasant stay. The room was large and well appointed. We had room 540 with the large wrap around terrace which was very nice. The staff was very helpful. The concierge booked our dinner reservations for both nights and his selections were very good. He even ordered us a complimentary desert on the first night. I would stay at the Gault again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

It is our mission to have guests leave happy and amazed thinking about their next trip back. We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    96
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
308
40
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Spent a week here and found every aspect superb. The staff were very polite and helpful and the loft-like room was extremely comfortable. The hotel is also very well located -- close to Vieux Montreal and a short walk to St Catherine. Overall, highly recommend this property for charm, convenience and comfort and there was nothing whatsoever that was grounds for complaining..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

Also, I would like to thank you for complimenting our staff and for recommending our hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved our product and location.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Montréal.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I have been staying at this hotel for the last 10 years every time we have business in Montreal. The Hotel is almost perfect. The only thing missing is a "black out" for the window. They are only closed by wooden shutters and yesterday at 5:00 on the sunny side of the hotel it was to bright in the room to sleep….The main reason for being there…..The situation is the same in all rooms only the direction of the sun has a small effect. To the Hotel management: Please make the investment.

Room Tip: Do not choose the side where the sun comes up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear guest,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write about your recent experience at Hotel Gault and provide us with feedback. This is how we get better! Be assure that your comment has been addressed.

We already placed an order for some black curtains that permit to have black outs in most of our rooms. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again and we will make sure to assign you one of those rooms.

Thank you for your continuous loyalty, we look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Well, if this hotel is number 4, than what to expect from others? The staff we rather polite, but not enough efficient. All hotels today except cash as a deposit (the room was paid), this one doesn't, or doesn't give the receipt and tells the guest it's a question of trust, and no receipt can be given to you.
The room was a little dark and dull, though the design was alright. The amenities were too small. The breakfast waiter was polite, but the breakfast was not tasty.
At the arrival night I was requested the voucher as well, even though the room was paid, nobody asks these days for E-ticket, if your ticket is paid for.
The location is good for the old town, but a little far from shopping. Ogilvy mall was the best by the way. It also takes around 20 min by cab to the party area.
The hotel has promised my travel agent a 2 pm checkout, then they told me only 1 pm is possible, finally at 12:30 they have called me and asked my why am I still in the room.
I guess since it's number 4, there are not many other options, but try to look around for smth better for 350 eur/day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Hotel Gault.

Every day we strive to deliver better service and it is your feedback that allow us to improve. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered.

I hope you will concider staying with us again and if you do, please contact me directly for your next visit at abakir@hotelgault.com and I will ensure you experience all that Hotel Gault has to offer.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Gault for 4 nights on our first visit to Montreal. Location is at edge of Old Montreal and business district. Easy access to subway and bus system. Hotel staff was very gracious and helpful during our entire stay. Room was very spacious and clean. Easy to walk to Old Montreal and port area. Would highly recommend for anyone traveling to Montreal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you kindly for recommending the Hotel Gault and for mentioning our very convenient location.

I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

we had a great stay there for business and pleasure, great location and the whole team are dedicated to making your stay a great one. I highly recommend this hotel no negatives at all. The food at breakfast is also a plus, located in old Montreal.

Alex Sanchez

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Mr. Sanchez

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Hotel Gault with the TripAdvisor community.

We are very delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive on providing memorable experiences and personalized service. We were also glad to know that our team were able to satisfy your needs, and always ensure a wonderful stay for our valued guests such as yourself.

Once agian, thank you for your kind review and I look forward to welcoming you back in a near future.

Kindest regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Gault and would definitely stay there again if I am fortunate enough to have the chance to return to Montreal. I loved the location and could run down on the waterfront, walk to Mass at Notre Dame and I could even walk to all my business meetings in downtown Montreal. The hotel room was awesome and I loved the heated bathroom floor, big shower and big, deep bathtub. The weather was amazing during our stay and I could open my windows for fresh air and enjoy the beautiful geranium flowers in the planters along the windows. The staff, especially Yanick, who seemed to play the role of concierge, bellman and valet, was incredibly thoughtful, friendly and committed to ensuring we enjoyed our stay. I wouldn't change anything about my stay at the Hotel Gault (except I would have liked to stay longer!). Thank you for everything.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 440, which was either on, or near a corner and it was nice and roomy, had a big bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah M, Front Office Assistant Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Gault.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and our team lived to your expectations. It is without a doubt that our location is a valuable asset as it gives access to Montréal's beautiful venues and to the city's top destinations.

I have passed on your kind workds to our associates and they were very thrilled to learn the news; especially Yanick.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stop to Montéal.

Kind regards,

Amir Bakir
Front Office Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.