We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly "Home Away from Home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gault

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gault to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Gault
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #7 of 170 hotels in Montreal
Hudson, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Truly "Home Away from Home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel is one of our all time favorites now - everyone there was always super alert to our every need and request. When our internet Wi-Fi connection was taking time to work, the hotel clerk offered us her personal I-pad for our stay of 3 nights; our tablet did work though. Terrific dinner recommendations were suggested and made quickly. The room was huge and comfortable and the breakfasts were great. The Gault is also perfectly located in Old Montreal for easy access to walk the wonderful surrounding areas. They simply will not rest until you are completely at ease. Loved it. Oh, and we never heard a peep once inside our rooms - the interior quiet was wonderful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the positive review of the Hotel Gault on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased to learn that we became your choice hotel and that we are still able to maintain our level of service. It is certainly with great pleasure that we take every opportunity to exceed our guest’s expectations; your comments are well appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Montreal.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    369
    80
    15
    8
    2
See reviews for
28
228
36
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Gault in Montreal for 3 nights and enjoyed every part of it. The location, the service, the quiet, as relaxing environment, and the great size of the rooms. The hotel offer charm and modernity, with a rock touch. As I strongly believe in energy, Hotel Gault is an inspiring location for people like me. Thanks to the great team
JD

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at the Hotel Gault.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback about our team and the ambiance.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel Gault!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healdsburg, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel offered the best location, service, great room and excellent food. We checked in early and the concierge, Yannick, was able to give us great suggestions for lunch. We also were upgraded to a very large room with a lounge area. I love it when the windows open and you can still enjoy peace and quiet. The concierge staff was very willing to reserve our dinner reservations every night and make suggestions. The soft music playing in our room, the heated floors, the lush bedding, the great staff makes this hotel and EXCELLENT choice. I will stay here for sure next time!

Room Tip: Travel during the week when less crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your kind comments,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Gault and that you enjoyed our facilities and the service of our team, especially Yanick, our concierge. Your comments are very important to us and we thank you for taking the time to share them.

We look forward in welcoming you in the near future.

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk Manager and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The room is beautiful, very comfortable and also charming. The staff is polite. The hotel is well locate, is close to St. Catherine St and Saint Paul St, two very interesting streets in montreal! I would stay there again without hesitate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments. It is very much appreciated. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The fantastic location and chic spacious rooms were somewhat eclipsed by the amazing service we enjoyed at Hotel Gault. From the moment we arrived, our bags were whisked into the hotel, and dinner reservations for the weekend were underway. When it was difficult to get Saturday reservations for the time and location we wanted, Yanick and John persisted, even sending us text messages with suggestions, until we found the perfect spot. For breakfast, we preferred the two spots right down the street to the hotel. One potential concern for future travelers - in the winter our cement floors will be cold!! But for our summer travelling, we were very pleased with all the amenities, huge windows, ipod docking station, ample closet space, and on!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner panoramic room - we loved ours!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a real pleasure to read good comments like yours about our staff and facilities. We appreciate it and we will make sure to share them with the entire team, and especially Yanick and Jonathan! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a three night stay at the Hotel Gault. We joined the iPrefer club so this gave us free internet (as others have mentioned as well). They also "upgraded" us from a corner loft to a king-size bed loft. But, it was a room on the first floor right by the elevator (room 130). Still, with probably the worst location, the room was very quiet and comfortable. The location of the hotel is great; it's in Old Montreal, but a nice, quiet, non-touristy part. We found several great restaurants nearby. My wife and I both like to run; there is a trail (the Lachine canal that starts about 1/2 mi from the hotel and goes uninterrupted for 14km in one direction). I really enjoyed running that. The only thing I wouldn't recommend is the hotel breakfast. It wasn't any more expensive than nearby places, but service was slow, the food was average, and there was a hair in my yogurt parfait. There are a couple wonderful breakfast/coffee places within walking distance that we much preferred... All in all we had a fabulous stay in Hotel Gault. We loved Montreal, and will chose Hotel Gault if/when we return.

Room Tip: try to get on the fifth floor where the rooms have balconies. Though i think all rooms (even our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciated that you are taking the time to bring these matters to our attention and we apologies for any inconvenience you may have experience during your stay at the Hotel Gault. It is our goal to consistently exceed our guest expectations and we are sorry to hear that this was not felt to you during your stay, especially at our restaurant. Each of the concerns you mention in your comment have been shared with the appropriate department in order to avoid each details. We are proud to provide each of our client unique experience when staying with us and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to demonstrate our commitment to guest satisfaction.

Sincerly,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolutely amazing boutique hotel!!! Cool vibe, generous & friendly staff, up to date and spot on decor and architecture: perfect mix of old and new! Felt like we could live there! Located on a quiet street but only a short walk from a lot of action. Looking forward to returning with my family soon!!

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a corner suite with beautiful european windows, stone wall and stand alone tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Gault!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal
Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#13 Family Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#17 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Tablet Hotels, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.