We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gault

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gault to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Gault
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Woodbridge, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Absolutely amazing boutique hotel!!! Cool vibe, generous & friendly staff, up to date and spot on decor and architecture: perfect mix of old and new! Felt like we could live there! Located on a quiet street but only a short walk from a lot of action. Looking forward to returning with my family soon!!

Room Tip: We got upgraded to a corner suite with beautiful european windows, stone wall and stand alone tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful time at the Gault!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience on Trip Advisor,

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    87
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
36
259
38
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Gault shows what can be done when an historic building is converted into a hotel. The room we had was modern and funky, with a large, comfortable bed; the bathroom was a delight, with a deep tub as well as a large walk-in shower. But the staff were what really made our stay so delightful, from the moment we pulled up out front to, literally the moment we drove away (it was a hot day and as we finished up loading the car the concierge came out with two bottles of chilled mineral water for the drive - that kind of attention is above and beyond the usual call of duty).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent stay at The Hotel Gault. It’s always great to read your appraisal of our team efforts to personalize our service for our guests. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Refreshing concept, beautifully executed. The lobby space is designed well. Check out the lounge/library in the back. Room layout and furniture were perfect; we could see ourselves living there. Wonderful bed -- A great night's sleep after a day exploring Montreal.

Great location -- Close to the Victoria Square metro station (use the Saint Jacques exit) and near the edge of Old Montreal. Restaurants nearby.

Friendly, helpful staff.

We're already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Gault! Your feedback is helpful and appreciated.Looking forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front desk and F&B manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My husband I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and LOVED every minute of it. The hotel is beautiful, clean, romantic, and very modern. Our room was quiet and well decorated. The nightly turn down service was amazing (incluing new bottles of water on each of the nightstands and slippers by the bed). The front desk staff were helpful and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was wonderful. We did have a problem with a running toilet and they fixed the problem and put a bowl of fresh fruit and bottle of water to thank us for our patience.
The hotel restaurant, although pricey, was delicious for breakfast. My husband LOVED the coffee!
My only negative is that the room needed room darkening shades. The room was very sunny and it tended to wake us up earlier than necessary in the morning.
I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel. Location was amazing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We pride ourselves on always trying to anticipate guest’s needs and are truly gratified to be able to serve you. We look forward to your next visit with us again.

Warm Regards.

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We choose this hotel because of the reviews on-line. We were not disappointed. The customer service was outstanding. The location was beautiful. I would recommend getting a room with a terrace as it was beautiful to sit outside and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind comments on the staff and the hotel! We use feedback such as yours to evaluate the achievement of our service and we are glad that the comments on TripAdvisor made you come at the Hotel Gault.
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Comfortable and modern design. The service from their staff was beyond great. They were always willing and ready to help with info and pampered us with attention to detail. The hotel was the icing on the cake for a wonderful experience in Montreal!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Gault during your recent stay in Montreal! We appreciate your extremely kind comments and looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We love boutique hotels and we've not been disappointed at all when we discovered the Gault. It is, by far, one of the best places we've stayed at in Montreal. It does not come cheap, but it is definitely worth spending a bit of money. The bigger rooms are just so relaxing after a day in the city: simple design, great amenities, even if a few items now show a bit of age. The location is just ideal: great restaurants are just round the corner. The staff is really friendly and efficient. They'll take the time it takes to find the perfect answer to any of your needs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your praise and feedback. I am proud to learn that our team was successful in providing you with a truly memorable experience and that we made you feel warm and welcome.
We sincerely appreciate your recognition as an upscale hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sarah Mahu
Front Desk and F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Venere, Jetsetter and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.