We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary in Montreal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gault to your Saves list
Hotel Gault
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary in Montreal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Wonderful hotel, most welcoming and helpful staff. Very clean, great beds and linen. Excellent breakfast in bed, beautifully presented. A short walk to many great places to eat, shop and see. Pauline (guest relations) gave us some great recommendations, including dinner at Accords just around the corner. Good wifi and hifi in the room, take your own iPod or CDs. Two nights there felt like a week's holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you sincerely for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and for commending our service team at the Gault in this regard. Your kind recognition has been very well received and will be share with our all the departments involved as well as the rest of our team. Pauline is great with places to visit and wine and dine and I will let her know your great comments.

You are a valued patron of the Gault Hotel and I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on future occasions.

Sincerely,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    110
    18
    10
    3
See reviews for
48
352
46
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Group of us went to celebrate my friend's 40th B-day in Montreal. Hotel Gault was a delightful part of our stay. I prefer sleek contemporary design and Hotel Gault is exactly that.

The staff was great and couldn't be more helpful. My room was impeccably clean and the bed was very comfortable. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on the culinary offerings. The hotel has a great location in the middle of Old Montreal.

The only complaint I have is that the wifi service was very spotty in the lobby area. Wifi in the room worked well.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at the Gault Hotel, I hope you and your friends had a great time in Montreal celebrating his 40th birthday. I will pass along your comments about the cleanness of your room to our housekeeping associates who take great pride in what they do and they are extremely important towards achieving great guest satisfaction. I apologize for any inconvenience that our Wi-Fi connection might have given you in our Lobby area; I can assure you that issue has been corrected.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Wonderful boutique hotel. Extremely helpful staff. Great location for walking most places in the city. I changed our booking to this hotel after reading the good reviews on TripAdvisor so my thanks to past reviewers. Can't think of anything negative to say.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. I'm glad that you changed your mind and stayed with us at the Gault were our guests come first, we are always looking for ways not only to meet but to exceed our guests expectations in service and accommodations. Again, thank you for kind comments and I will share them with the rest of the team as we all love to read our guests feedback.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here for few days recently and were very pleased with all aspects of the hotel. The hotel is located in an older building that has been renovated with the interior being very contemporary, (which we quite liked). The staff was most helpful, friendly and always cheerful. The heated floor and large free standing tub in the bath were simply wonderful and much appreciated in our junior suite. The hotel's location is ideal, only a block away from Rue Saint-Paul and a short walk to the subway at Victoria Square. Can't comment on the spa or the gym as we didn't use them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your comments about the Gault with the rest of our valued guest's such as yourself, our bathtubs & our Jr.Suites are very well liked by all our guest's, the space that it offers is unique and I am glad the you got to enjoy it first-hand. I will share your kind words towards the staff and thank you for taking the time to write about them.

Until you give us the honor to welcome you once again,

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlevoix, Michigan
Top Contributor
235 reviews 235 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

liked staying here a lot. staff super friendly and accomodating. rooms are modern, minimalist and comfortable. would visit again. staff even parked my car for me and delivered it early in the morning. great coffee and bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience at the Gault with the TripAdvisor community, your feedback is extremely important to us and I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team.

Regards,

Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The location is great, the service is excellent, and the quality of the accommodation is superb. The hotel has a very nice wine collection and the lobby/lounge is extremely trendy and cozy. Makes you feel right at home, especially with the young but very professional staff. Dining-in is slightly expensive, but the food is good - especially breakfast.
Highly recommended, and I would not hesitate to book this hotel again.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your comments with the TripAdvisor community about the Gault Hotel, It is our goal to provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. I will share your kind comments towards the hotel's associates and I thank you once again.

Sincerely,
Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was in MTL for meetings and traveled with my husband - Excellent service as per usual - can't wait to go back!

Bonus: Olive et Gourmando is very very close and highly recommend you go for coffee, sandwiches and for people watching. Go and expect to wait, worth it!

Room 130, October 16.

Nice!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francisco G, Front Office Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your recent feedback about the Gault Hotel, indeed we are located very close to many great places in and around Montreal and Olive & Gourmando being one of them, every comment is extremely important to us and I will share your comments with the rest of the team.

Regards,
Francisco Gonzalez Gil
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.