We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Montreal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gault

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gault to your Saves list
Hotel Gault
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #2 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Montreal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been visiting Montreal 2-5 times per year since 1989, and have stayed at many of the hotels downtown. Some years ago I discovered the Gault. Since then I have not considered any other options. The rooms are great and the service is excellent. I spend 150+ night per year in various hotel rooms and know a good one when I get there. The rooms at the Gault has everything I need: An excellent bed, a good workspace and a good shower. The decor and design is very nice and I really feel at home there. The staff are very (but not overly) friendly and help you out with anything you need without hestiaton.

There are few hotels where I think "I look forward to come back" but the Gault is really one of them!

Room Tip: If you need a good working space, you may need to ask for it. I have not had a room without one, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    97
    17
    9
    2
See reviews for
43
309
41
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012 via mobile

Had an amazing time at Gault for my friend's wedding. Thoroughly reccomend the place to anyone going to Montreal. The rooms are stunning...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Gault!
We are all looking forward to welcome you back!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a two-day business trip. I liked the modern spacious style of the hotel. The hotel is very clean and quiet and It's location is very convenient. The staff was top notch, they were super friendly, especially the concierge Andre and the barmaid (whose name I can't remember unfortunately) was incredibly warm and friendly; very impressed.

Our schedule was tight and could not spend time in this warm atmosphere but I'd definitely want to stay here again in my next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, March 6, 2012
Dear guest,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and the hotel design during your last stay!
It was a pleasure having you stay with us during your business trip and we truly appreciate your kind comments! We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Andre and the staff at Hotel Gault were terrific. They provided great recommendations for what to do and see in Montreal and made the trip that much better.

Room Tip: Note there is no desk for the business traveler. Wide open spaces however and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is chic, clean, spacious and the service is excellent. I was very impressed with our room. Concierge really go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear guest,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Gault, especially the room, the service and our concierge André! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

I stayed for one night and i must say i was truly impressed with the peoperty overall. Everything from the style to the service was top notch! Definately the place to stay in Old Montreal. It is so close to shopping, restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGault, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Gault, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay, it will be a pleasure for me to share them with the entire team!
We are looking forward to welcoming you very soon !
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed in the Gault for 2 nights in April 2011. We booked a loft room, which was decorated in a very clean, modern style. This is definitely a place for people who would appreciate something a bit different - concrete floors (but heated and very warm), and very clean lines and high ceilings - a great, uncluttered environment in which to relax.

The bar and lounge were very comfortable, and the staff very helpful. Unlike other super chic and fashionable hotels, these guys don't seem to be trying overly hard to maintain an 'image', and we still received great service despite our scruffy, jet-lagged appearance.

Room Tip: Can't fault our loft room - it was big and airy, with plenty of cleverly-designed storage space...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gault? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gault

Address: 449 Sainte-Helene, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2K9 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gault 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gault is a boutique hotel housed in an historic building built in 1871. The hotel lies in the heart of Old Montreal, just steps away from the downtown and the convention centre. In contrast to the exterior of this landmark building, inside, The Gault features a minimalist style. Together, they create an incomparable communion of old-world comfort and luxurious contemporary design. Furnished with classic 20th-century pieces, The Gault experience is enhanced by huge French windows that flood each of the 30 suites with natural light and create a radiant atmosphere. All the rooms are open-plan and equipped with Mondrian custom oak cabinetry, an LED flat-screen television, and Blu-ray technology. Some suites feature 3D televisions. All guests enjoy HDTV, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and free local calls. iPads are available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gault reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gault Hotel Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gault, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.