We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bricks/green apples/Character all in one!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
New York, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Bricks/green apples/Character all in one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

Overall an excellent hotel. Upon my arrival, the bellman took my luggage and the hotel reception was ready to give me my room. As always, there are pros/cons.

PROS- Location is in Old Montreal. Close proximity to most tourist attractions in Montreal. Room is quite big. Loved the bricks (added character I think). SERVICE -- the employees were always so very helpful. Rooms/bathrooms were very CLEAN. Loved the added classical music on the radio.

CONS- Very small gym/fitness room. Got my bill wrong (told me I had a diet coke but I didn't...so check your bill before paying!) Breakfast was too continental (croissants/chocolate croissants/cereal). Since this was a boutique hotel, I was hoping they'd at least serve some traditional Quebecois food like the pork spread (forgot the name)...

Overall, my stay was great. If you have time, check out the terrace on the roof. Very nice.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    260
    49
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
751
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2006

My wife and I spent three lovely nights in June at the Nelligan. Our room was modern and quiet. The morning breakfast was perfect.

The location in the middle of Old Montreal is great for walking and the staff was very helpful with all of our questions. And the high speed internet service worked without a hitch.

I recommend it highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We booked a King Loft room, before our cruise, and it was wonderful. One of the best hotels we have stayed in. Very comfortable, the room faced the the street, but very quite. Jeanne, the Chef Concierge was delightful and very helpful. She helped picking a restaurant, the Modavie, which was about 2 blocks from the hotel and made the reservations for us.
She also set up a tour with Grayline and had them pick us up at the hotel and took care of our luggage.
A wonderful breakfast is included and a wine and cheese happy hour.
The hotel is right behind Notre Dame Cathederal and a good location for tourist.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2006

We stayed at the Hotel Nelligan for several days in May this year. It was cold and rainy outside, and the Nelligan was a welcome sanctuary. The room (we had a Loft King) was large and so comfortable it was a struggle to face the jetlag and weather and force ourselves to leave it. I loved the fireplace and chairs around it... and the armchair and ottoman by the bed was perfect to read in. It was cosy and homey and warm and welcoming - didn't feel like a hotel room, but was way more luxurious than our room at home!

The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a problem in the bathroom - returned from dinner one night to find drips coming through the ceiling. We were moved to another room immediately. This room was very slightly smaller, and on the river side of the building - which was noisy in the early morning with delivery vans/rubbish collectors. When we pointed this out to the front desk, we were promptly shifted back to the Rue St Paul side, in a room identical to that we were first in. We could not complain about the service we received. And the irony is that if we had been in the second room from the beginning, we would have been more than happy!

We thoroughly appreciated the wine and cheese every evening from 5-7 pm in the courtyard bar. The glasses were large and cheese was unlimited - quite frankly one was enough if we were going on to have a bottle of wine with dinner! The only problem we had were the smokers - but that seemed to be a Montreal problem.

The location of the hotel is perfect for tourists. Its on the main street of the old town, very close to the Cathedral, and lots of good restaurants around. Don't miss Verses, where we had an excellent meal, with very good service.

I heartily recommend using this hotel. Its not a glitzy 5 star chain hotel. But that is its charm. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2006

Just back from a three night stay at the Nelligan. The staff is quick, friendly and courteous from the friendly and charming valet parking boys to the desk clerks and wait staff. The room was lovely! I could move in. King bed, tons of pillows, great duvet, soothing lighting. Bathroom was wonderful except for somewhat poor lighting over the sink. Great bathtub with tons of hot, hot water. I could have used some bubble bath. Room on the alley was generally quiet except for some early morning garbage pickup that was annoying. Breakfast was fine, again with quick efficient and friendly staff. Wine and cheese was also very nice with a nice selection of cheeses and a good red!. Too bad they only offer one glass on the house. The design and feeling of the hotel is soothing and peaceful. Good selection of papers in both French and English and staff fluctuates between French and English with ease and comfort. Will definitely stay here on my next visit. Excellent value in Old Montreal. I hope it stays that way! Run down the street to Bouchees Gourmandes and enjoy some lovely hot chocolate and a delicious morning crepe. Bienvenue!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

I loved my stay at the Nelligan. It's a wonderful hotel, the rooms are extremely nice designed, the staff is very helpful and the bar is a great place to have a drink before heading back to the room after a long day of sightseeing and shopping.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2006

Just a short taxi ride from the Trudeau airport (about 15 minutes) delivered us to the front steps of Hotel Nelligan at 106, Rue Saint-Paul (--). Don’t be discourage by the unassuming façade of the old building without any grand canopied entrance, for inside you will discover a nest of luxury where North American generosity meets European style. The room was large enough to accommodate a sumptuous king-size bed with luxurious down comforter and pillows and still leave the space to move around without knocking down furniture. The bathroom was in the back of the room (not right at the entrance as it is typically in other hotels), and that made it feel more private, more like home. Let me now rave about the size of the bath tub for it was enormous and enormously comfortable: a real soaking tub to relax and rejuvenate. It called for some Provencal soaps and bath oils (sold in a smart little shop further down Rue Saint-Paul). The exposed brick wall added unexpected grace to this elegant abode. Artwork was tastefully understated. The only tiny little minus was that our room overlooked the hotel’s narrow atrium and therefore received no day light or fresh air. Be mindful of that if you need to request specific accommodations. Hotel staff was polite, efficient and polished without being too bubbly in the worst cheerleading fashion. Their lightly accented English was charming, their French – disarmingly attractive. In my professional life, I’ve stayed in some top hotel properties in the United States and beyond, and this little gem is not inferior to some of the best of them. Its superior location in Vieux Montreal (just steps away from Notre Dame and a short walking distance from Place Jacques-Cartier) adds more stars to its overall rating. A truly inspired choice!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.