We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique hotel in Old Montreal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
New York
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Boutique hotel in Old Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

First off, this hotel is in a prime location in Old Montreal. We were able to walk around and see so much without needing a car. As previous reviewers have said, it's about a block or two away from the Notre Dame Basilica and many other noteworthy attractions as well. Old Montreal is like a trip to Europe and this hotel definitely makes you feel as though you've crossed the Atlantic. It has a boutique feel and charm, and the rooms are comfortable, clean and well appointed. We loved the look of the room (the brick wall was a nice touch), but most importantly we appreciated the good bed (nice linens, pillows and the bed itself wasn't too hard or soft), the bathroom (spacious with good bath products, but just watch the slight step in the tub) and the overall service. The concierge hooked us up with a reservation at Gibby's (a famous steakhouse a couple of blocks away) on a busy Saturday night so we were certainly grateful for that as we were worried we wouldn't be able to get in. By the way, Gibby's is fantastic--I had the steak encrusted in bread crumbs and cracked peppercorns and double baked potato; to die for.

There were just a couple of things we were lukewarm about, though. It was difficult to get ice for the room. My husband had to go down to the bar to get it as there were no ice machines on the floor. It wasn't easy to channel surf on the TV--instead you have to go to a 'menu' and decide which channel you wanted to watch. If you didn't like that channel you had to go back to the menu and try again. As a result we just ended up staying on one channel indefinitely. We did hear noise from another room one morning--a gentleman was coughing and sneezing and we heard every bit of it. Oh, and we also heard a bit of street noise at night but nothing too over the top. Lastly, we had cocktails and appetizers in the bar/restaurant and they were just OK. Thankfully we got $11 vouchers for drinks when we checked in otherwise the bill would have been outrageous. Let's just say prices aren't low here (and in Montreal in general, by the way). We had breakfast on our last day there and it was above average--order the eggs or the crepes with fruit and you should be satisfied. I will say the coffee in Montreal is amazing, so if you're a fan of espresso drinks you'll be in heaven. Also, you should note that there are not a lot of places open for lunch (a European attribute for sure), so plan your meals accordingly. Generally it's just cafes and diners in the mornings/afternoons before places begin opening for dinner in the evenings.

All in all a nice stay with everything you'd want in a boutique hotel. Should we come back another time, though, we will probably stay somewhere a little less expensive now that we've stayed at this hotel and being armed with the knowledge that Montreal isn't necessarily a cheap date overall. Stay here if you want to splurge on a charming hotel in the heart of Old Montreal.

Room Tip: Higher floors would be better to avoid street noise below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    261
    49
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
752
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The hotel is a couple of streets down the Notre Dame Basilica. Our room was very nice and spacious. The hotel personnel was very friendly and welcoming. Because of it's location there are a lot of restaurants, cafes, and galleries nearby. The only caution is that because of these many locations and narrow street, the rooms on the main surety do get noticeable street noise.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Had a recent trip to Montreal for four nights. Stayed at the Ritz Carlton for two nights and moved to Hotel Nelligan for the next two nights. We had intended to stay at the Ritz for all four nights but we are so glad that we changed. The athmosphere at Hotel Nelligan is very friendly and homey. Our room was excellent, the bedding couldn't have been better, and the staff were pleasant and welcoming, particularly the concierges Melissa and Maud, their recommendations were excellent. If you plan to stay during the weekend we would recommend booking a room that is not overlooking the street. Bottom line, we highly recommend Hotel Nelligan and will stay there on our next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked us into a room here for our anniversary and it was perfect! The location is amazing, the building itself has lots of charm and the staff were nothing short of exceptional. When we checked in they told us they had upgraded us into the penthouse which gorgeous and had a huge deck that overlooked the harbour. We loved every minute of our stay here :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located between Notre Dame Cathedral and the river which was our chief criteria for it's selection. It is also walking distance from downtown with many nearby restaurants. The room was clean and well furnished. The desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful and friendly. The price was a higher than I would have liked, but that is the cost of wanting a prime location in a city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the petite suite for 2 nights. The room was wonderful - well decorated and cozy, fireplace and jacuzzi tub were a nice touch. The staff really made the stay special - they were extremely friendly and helpful all around - from the valet to the front desk staff, concierge, and bar/restaurant staff. We are looking forward to coming back! The location (in the center of the old town) can't be beat, and the attention to detail shows throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I visited the Nelligan in October 2013 for an overnight jaunt from Ottawa. When we arrived (a little earlier than planned) the friendly desk clerk stated that she had some "bad news" for us -- I feared the worst because the hotel was hosting two weddings (!) that weekend. Turns out the "bad news" was that we couldn't yet check in (we weren't expecting to since we were early) but to compensate us, we were upgraded to the penthouse suite! Wow!

Later that afternoon, we went up to the room ("room" - it was larger than my first apartment!) and were delighted at the space, which included a full kitchen (with dishwasher and full-sized fridge), private balcony and two bathrooms. Wonderful! Also, the staff was attentive without being intrusive, which can sometimes be the case in smaller hotels. We asked the concierge where she recommended we eat because we were in the mood for italian; she not only recommended a wonderful restaurant, but called ahead to get us a reservation on a very busy Saturday night. And it should be said that even with the hustle and bustle of the extensive other parties in the hotel over the weekend, we never felt neglected, nor was noise an issue.

I would definitely recommend this to friends and family, and will visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river can be a little breezy, which we enjoyed but others might find the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.