We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed in the petite suite for 2 nights. The room was wonderful - well decorated and cozy, fireplace and jacuzzi tub were a nice touch. The staff really made the stay special - they were extremely friendly and helpful all around - from the valet to the front desk staff, concierge, and bar/restaurant staff. We are looking forward to coming back! The location (in the center of the old town) can't be beat, and the attention to detail shows throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    915
    260
    49
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
751
37
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I visited the Nelligan in October 2013 for an overnight jaunt from Ottawa. When we arrived (a little earlier than planned) the friendly desk clerk stated that she had some "bad news" for us -- I feared the worst because the hotel was hosting two weddings (!) that weekend. Turns out the "bad news" was that we couldn't yet check in (we weren't expecting to since we were early) but to compensate us, we were upgraded to the penthouse suite! Wow!

Later that afternoon, we went up to the room ("room" - it was larger than my first apartment!) and were delighted at the space, which included a full kitchen (with dishwasher and full-sized fridge), private balcony and two bathrooms. Wonderful! Also, the staff was attentive without being intrusive, which can sometimes be the case in smaller hotels. We asked the concierge where she recommended we eat because we were in the mood for italian; she not only recommended a wonderful restaurant, but called ahead to get us a reservation on a very busy Saturday night. And it should be said that even with the hustle and bustle of the extensive other parties in the hotel over the weekend, we never felt neglected, nor was noise an issue.

I would definitely recommend this to friends and family, and will visit again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river can be a little breezy, which we enjoyed but others might find the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldoboro, Maine, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My parents and I recently spent three wonderful nights at this charming boutique hotel in the heart of Old Montreal. The staff were always smiling and very extremely helpful. They were always ready to answer any question -- even where to find fresh croissants for breakfast. The location is a perfect base for walking around the old port.. We would definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side may be a bit quieter.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here for only one night, but I wish we could have stayed longer. When we checked in they told us that we had been upgraded to a penthouse, which is always a great surprise! The room was more like a loft style apartment. It had a full kitchen, large dining room table, living room, separate bedroom and huge outdoor terrace with enough seating for a party. Too bad it was just the two of us and only one night. It's an excellent location if you're looking to be in the Old Port area and everything is walking distance from this hotel. I'd recommend staying here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We booked a petit suite and were upgraded to a Penthouse suite. I think all of the rooms are great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay and highly recommend it. I am a big fan of modern hotels but lots of times get disappointed because in a lot of places modern means lack of space and poor service. Definitely not the case here.

Rooms are extremely well decorated (modern and very elegantly) and staff is top notch. They gave me only great suggestions and always made sure to keep me happy.

Location is sensational, in the heart of old Montreal, steps away from the old port, Norte dame church and lots of galleries and restaurants. This was only my first visit to Montreal, so westmount and the museum mile could be good neighborhoods to try, but anyway, I really enjoyed to be in the old town.

Food was good, although I did not find breakfast to be very exciting (but not bad at all). Not a big issue since one can find great breakfast spots 5 minutes away, Had lunch twice in Verses restaurant, and food was very good.

Worth noticing that they gave complimentary bottle of water every night alongside a couple of Swiss chocolates. And wifi is free,

Overall, extremely satisfied with the hotel. Highly recommend it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Excellent hotel in the old part of Montreal. Fantastic location amidst plenty of restaurants and bars. Comfy and welcoming design and very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean with large comfortable beds. Great amenities and minibar. Had a couple of nice lunches in the restaurant. Thoroughly recommend!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Awesome hotel. We booked the petite suite. Love the fireplace in the room. The people were super friendly and very helpful. I would suggest that you book the valet parking and the breakfast as part of your package. Parking is a pain in the back end down there. Im glad we did it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#7 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.