We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Great location right behind Notre Dame and in the middle of the Old Montreal scene. The concierge was extremely helpful and all the staff were very excellent. We were upgraded as they were completely full to a suite which was extremely nice but I'm sure the regular rooms were lovely. Definitely prefer to stay here rather than downtown and would recommend highly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    918
    261
    49
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
752
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed this hotel. The hotel is perfectly located right in Old Montreal. There are many excellent restaurants with walking distance. Notre Dame is one block away and the port area is on block in the other direction. All of the personnel were very friendly and went right from French to English without hesitation. The concierge were all wonderful. They gave suggestions on things to do, gave us directions , made dinner suggestions and then reservations. Our room was very pretty. You can hear everything outside but we were on a side street so it was not bad. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: make sure that you ask for a quiet room. Some rooms face a street with a club that closes at 3AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisville,ky
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Nelligan for four nights and could not have been more pleased. The staff is friendly and quick to respond to any request. Our room was lovely with an incredibly comfortable bed, two person Jacuzzi, and light blocking shades that allowed us to sleep until 11:00 one day! The lobby bar was a real bonus and we made use of it at the end of a long day as we planned our next adventure. There are wonderful restaurants close by: Olive and Gourmand, Mondavie, Quattro and Les Pyranees to name a few. We had to leave early to get back to Manchester Airport for a flight and the staff was so helpful, insuring a painless departure. We would absolutely return to the Nelligan.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Very nice hotel, close to the cruise port so you can walk to the ship. Quieter than I expected even though we were only two floors above the bar/night club. Loved being so close to Notre Dame Basilica. Check out Gourmand and Olive for breakfast--a nearby bakery. Desk clerk was very informative. Great place to stay!! Huge bathroom with big jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower. This was a King Superior room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Trip Adviser's comments on hotels in Montreal caused me to reserve a room for our 2 night stay in Montreal and we could not be more pleased. The staff are totally friendly, the concierge has outstanding suggestions, the rooms are large and well appointed and the included continental breakfast was excellent. We arrived by Cruise ship and, not knowing the location of the hotel waited more than 45 minutes for a taxi, for the 8 minute ride to the hotel. Had we known the location, and not had as much luggage as we did, the walk to the hotel was less than the 8 minute taxi ride. So, if you want to avoid the taxi line and are able to handle your luggage, just walk. However you arrive you will be greeted by bellmen at the door and a very efficient and friendly reception. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent for lunch. I pass along the recommendation that caused me to stay at Hotel Nelligan.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is terrific
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed here at the end of a long bicycle trip through Vermont and thoroughly enjoyed the place. It is a visually stunning, but amusingly quirky rehabilitation of an old warehouse located a block away from Notre Dame Cathedral. The rooms are luxurious and the lobby is beautiful. The staff was helpful and courteous. I want to return here with my wife, and street clothes, for a longer stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Kudos to the hotel for their incredible staff for making you feel right at home. From the moment we walked into the lobby we were greeted with a smile and a helpful hand in figuring out where to eat, how to get around, the best sites to see. The experience was amazing. The room was lovely with an exposed brick wall, fireplace, large room. We were in Montreal for 3 days but the room was only available for 2. We spent the 3rd night at a downtown hotel. A totally different experience. Much preferred staying in the quaint Old Town compared to the noisy downtown which looks like very downtown I have ever seen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.