We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Character, courtesy, exceptional personalised service from the whole Nelligan team, excellent rooms , first class breakfast arrangement and perfect location . Could not fault and was ideal for our four night stay and first holiday visit to Montreal. Could not recommend more highly for travellers on holiday or business.

Room Tip: Stayed on 3rd floor. Slept soundly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    260
    49
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
751
38
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Location: Indeed it's a good location in the heart of Old Montreal if this is where you want to be. 2 blocks from the main plaza and one from Place D'Armes. The hotel is an old Bldg but the inside has been refurbished and it's quite nice.. The architecture is beautiful and furnishing is luxurious.. But this is No Shangrilla or Four seasons (yes I understand it's a boutique hotel and not a chain, but if the chain is worth my money I'd rather stick to the chain; volume sometimes implies quality)..

Parking; Valet charges 28$ per night, they say includig in/out but I left my car there for 2 days.

Rooms: our suite was very nice, nicely furnished, spacious with gorgeous exposed brick/stones. There is no view to speak off, we overlooked a shady looking alley. The BR is big with a Jaccuzzi and a shower. Toiletries are cheap, for a hotel that charges that much, they could have offered Damana or Occitane, not that cheap stuff they have. Beside they don't replenish them! Just like they did not replenish the coffee for the Nespresso after servicing the room in the morning ( I had to call and request it)! The houskeeper did not even empty the trash that was full (we had eaten Lychees and stuff, and everything was still there in the afternoon). Of course there is an overpriced mini-bar.

Bkfast is served in a weird location, it might be hard to find a place to sit and they don't allow you to sit in the restaurant.. so you have to eat as if you were in your living room, on a low table or on a high table with stools (there are few regular tables, but not enough for everyone). The food for Bkfast is just OK; again I am judging based on the price; if it was a Hampton Inn this Bkfast would be amazing, but this is a ~~500$/night hotel!!! (including tax and parking)..

The gym is tiny and there is no Steam room or Sauna (they refer you to the Place D'armes hotel for the Spa and Hammam)..

Finally, it seems that the hotel is hot spot for weddings and we fell on one. We had to wait for minutes to get an elevator and all the guests were climbing up the stairs and it got really loud!

The roof top bar is reviewed in a different place, it's a good one for an evening drink. they shut down @ 11pm & the crowd is fancy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I do not know what else I can add to all the wonderful reviews of this hotel and its staff. After speaking by phone with Nancy at Reception, who answered all my questions, we finally met her face to face upon our arrival. My only regret is that I did not get her picture. She remembered our frequent conversations about our pending stay at the Nelligan. With a smile, she told us the Petite Suite (505) was ready and waiting for us. We had wanted a "view" of the river. This was one of two petite suites I had requested ( following the advice of a fellow TA member). WOW! That was our impression when we entered the suite. The pictures on TA really do not do justice to how lovely these suites are. Because the hotel is five stories high, there are other buildings that block a complete view of the river, however, we were able to see parts of the harbor. The windows opened to a lovely breeze. The location of this hotel is absolutely perfect. Everything was within easy walking distance. Everyone at the hotel went out of their way to make sure we had a great stay. When I was having difficulty connecting to the Wi-Fi, Mathieu, at Reception, had me bring down my Ipad. After several tries, he was successful in getting us online! Nathalia, the concierge, was extremely helpful looking over my ideas, and adding some more suggestions of what might interest us. She took care of making dinner reservations and an English-speaking hour long tour (English offered Tues and Fridays) of the Notre Dame Basilica. We had a wonderful time in Montreal. For outstanding service and location, this is definitely the place to stay in Old Montreal!

Room Tip: Top floor rooms facing harbor, but away from Terrace , offer partial views of the harbor. 505 was q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

There are not enough positive adjectives to describe this flawless hotel. The location, the staff, the service, the restaurants, the architectural design, the comfort, ...all make a stay in it a memorable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Nelligan is perfectly placed in the centre of the old port district, very close to the water and within a 10 min walk of downtown. From valet check in to checking out the level of service from the staff was exceptional. The rooms are modern, well furnished and extremely comfortable. I cannot rate this hotel highly enough!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Nelligan is a charming hotel in an excellent location. We regret we only had one night there. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were also very accommodating with our early arrival, and we were able to get one of our rooms. We ate lunch in their rooftop restaurant which was convenience with a great view. The restaurant is probably better suited for couples or adults only but our children enjoyed the experience. The restaurant staff was also very flexible with our children's preferences for basic meals. The hotel itself was a relaxing but beautiful environment to be in. There was a small lobby area and a larger area to sit and have a drink. We spent some time there and played cards with our children. The comfy sitting area had wait staff to take orders for drinks or appetizers. It seemed connected to a restaurant. Our room was on the street but it wasn't noisy. In fact, the room itself was a bit set off from the main hallway; it was accessed off a small hallway which stemmed off the main hallway. Our other room was on the main hallway near the open atrium area and all the noise from the lobby seemed to come right through our door. Our beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious enough for four of us. There were even two closets! Unfortunately, a family of five would have a hard time being accommodated in one room. The location of the hotel was perfect -- walking distance from shops and restaurants. The only complaint we might have had with our stay was the incredibly slow elevator. Fortunately, we were only on the third floor and could access the stairs easily. If we return Montreal, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a wonderful 4 days at Hotel Nelligan which was highly recommended to us by our wonderful travel agent. The concierge helped us with scheduling cooking classes, dinner reservations and any other questions we had. The hotel location in the heart of the Old Montreal was so convenient and our room overlooked the port and beautiful waterway walking area. We walked most places and the metro was about 2 blocks away for any other outings.
The best meal we had was right at the Hotel in the the lovely restaurant. And they have their own pastry chef - dessert is not to be missed.
The hotel was perfect for our holiday and of all the hotel staff were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.