We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Lugano, Switzerland
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When I go to Montreal I have no doubt, I go directly to Nelligan. It's a small boutique hotel right in the heart of the old town, very cozy atmosphere, service is excellent, rooms are very spacious and beautiful. The bar next door is always packed. Absolutely a fantastic choice. Rooftop during summer is also great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    251
    48
    33
    13
See reviews for
107
729
36
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just stayed one night here only wish I could have stayed longer. This will now be our go to hotel for Montreal. We had a petite suite facing the old port. The room was beautiful with fireplace incredible bathroom and fabulous views of old Montreal rooftops the ships in dock and habitat 67. Our room price including a cocktail at happy hour in the the lovely bar and continental breakfast. Both were just perfect. The service is spot on friendly and super professional. You can walk from here to many fantastic restaurants. Can't wait to go again this place definitely fits the bill for a wonderful weekend away in a beautiful city.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got room 421 it was silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire, USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We planned a long weekend in the old city and found this place on trip advisor . It was all we expected and more. The staff was great and the place was very nice. Dead center in the old city. We could walked to most everything we did. Glad to too have followed our fellow trip advisors recommendations. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersville, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

There are not very many hotels I have stayed at that leave a long lasting positive impression at the Nelligan. The Nelligan is unique and the restaurant is excellent and it offers impeccable service. I first visited the Nelligan some 2 years ago while working for a company based in Montreal. It doesn't manner if you are going to the Nelligan for work or pleasure. I entertained a company quest who is in the food business and the Nelligan left a positive impression.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savannah, ga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Came in from Savannah, GA - very similar cities - old history! Had a wonderful time and the hotel is LOVELY! LOTS of places to sit and have a drink in the afternoons - even around a great fireplace. Room was confortable and roomy. No complaints! Wonderful to get away for a long weekend and relax in a welcoming city that loves tourists! Highly recommend - a location you can walk around and have a blast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a weekend at Nelligan's, booking a junior suite. The hotel is located in several interconnected old blocks, giving it a great atmosphere. Blended with old walls all amenities we expected for a city hotel, from Jacuzzi to free (low bandwidth) wifi and king size bed.
Pre booked crib was ready for our daughter, baby sitting service was great and competent.
Also enjoyable the bar/restaurant with a great selection of drinks and fine bar food.

Hopefully not the last time to be there!

Room Tip: Look for special offers on junior suites -- definitely worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really nice, smaller hotel with very friendly, professional staff. The room was well-decorated with everything we needed and more. Great location too in the old port area, with all the shopping, art galleries and restaurants. This hotel is ideal for couples or business travelers. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street may be a little noisier than the interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.