We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT TIME - GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 162 Hotels in Montreal
savannah, ga
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT TIME - GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Came in from Savannah, GA - very similar cities - old history! Had a wonderful time and the hotel is LOVELY! LOTS of places to sit and have a drink in the afternoons - even around a great fireplace. Room was confortable and roomy. No complaints! Wonderful to get away for a long weekend and relax in a welcoming city that loves tourists! Highly recommend - a location you can walk around and have a blast!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    983
    278
    52
    35
    14
See reviews for
118
799
39
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent a weekend at Nelligan's, booking a junior suite. The hotel is located in several interconnected old blocks, giving it a great atmosphere. Blended with old walls all amenities we expected for a city hotel, from Jacuzzi to free (low bandwidth) wifi and king size bed.
Pre booked crib was ready for our daughter, baby sitting service was great and competent.
Also enjoyable the bar/restaurant with a great selection of drinks and fine bar food.

Hopefully not the last time to be there!

Room Tip: Look for special offers on junior suites -- definitely worth the extra $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carp, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really nice, smaller hotel with very friendly, professional staff. The room was well-decorated with everything we needed and more. Great location too in the old port area, with all the shopping, art galleries and restaurants. This hotel is ideal for couples or business travelers. I would definitely stay there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main street may be a little noisier than the interior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

After reading the reviews om TA, we chose Hotel Nelligan for our 3 night stay in Montreal.

From my pre trip communication with Maude at the concierge desk and all through our trip, it is her service with a smile and excellent recommendations that made this hotel and our trip so amazing. She exemplifies what a concierge position is all about and greets you with a warm and wonderful smile each and every time you see her!

The hotel is situated on rue St Paul and is perfectly located near Notre Dame and in the center of Old Montreal. The metro is a very short walk and offers great access to the entire city.

The lobby is beautiful as was the king superior that my wife and I stayed in. Brick walls surround the hotel providing a very old world European feel. Cocktails in the lounge area is a wonderful way to start your evening before venturing out to one if Montreals many wonderful restaurants.

I can't say enough about the incredible staff here and the comfort of this world class hotel. I can not wait to return!

Room Tip: Any if the rooms are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

All the positives started from the minute we drove up. This is a hotel on a fairly narrow street in a quaint section of Montreal. As we were about to do a quick temporary parking on the side of the street, we were flagged down by the bellman. He came to the car and greeted us and took care of everything.. Grabbed the bags, got the car set for valet, and took us to the front desk. Check in was smooth and everyone was friendly, informative and helpful.

Room very spacious and nice with amenities. King bed very comfortable. Shower had great pressure that will keep you in there far too long and make you late for dinner.

Nice bar in hotel, and easy walking distance to other food, drink, shopping and attractions.

Will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

What we loved about this Hotel is that it provided us with everything we needed and wanted to ensure that we had a great experience and a comfortable stay. First we had asked for a Quiet Room facing the street and we got exactly that. Those windows must be soundproof because we did not hear anything that was going on in the streets. They have free wi-fi in the rooms, complimentary coffee they served by the lobby was pretty amazing, and they provide complimentary bottle of water in the room and also a drink at the bar upon arrival. These things really added up in making us feel welcomed. Maude, the concierge really took care us by arranging last minute dinner reservations and the housekeeping staff delivered anything we needed within a couple of minutes. We initially chose this hotel because of the location and the look of the hotel, but definitely will return because of the service and staff. They also have couple of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Been meaning to write a review for some time as I believe it is one of the best place I've ever stayed at. I stayed there in July 2012.

The hotel itself is on a lovely street of the old Montreal. Great spot for a romantic getaway. Walking distance to heaps of restaurants and local attractions.

The room we stayed in was grand, featuring original stone walls but with all the modern amenities you would expect from a top class hotel.

The bed was very comfortable and the large bathroom had a corner spa.

There are many lovely hotels in the old Montreal (I know, I used to work at one of them) but you can't go wrong with this one! Top notch!

Room Tip: Splurge a little bit and try their mini suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#6 Family Hotel in Montreal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.