We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #2 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Philadelphia, PA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our family of three stayed here over Christmas and loved everything about the hotel, from the spacious room, to the courteous and helpful staff, to the fact that it's named after Montreal poet Emile Nelligan. The hotel atrium was a comfortable place to relax by the fireplace with drinks and a cheese plate. (Best after a 2 hour walking tour in 16 degree weather.) We stayed in room 306, not having read the warnings in time about the street noise. It did get a little noisy around midnight or so but the revelry didn't last long and we all got a good night's sleep. We highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    842
    232
    44
    32
    13
See reviews for
104
683
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
northeast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was my second visit to the Nelligan and it will be the last. When I booked the room for my December holiday , I spoke to the front desk about wanting a quieter room than the last visit, away from the street as Montreal is certainly a city that never sleeps( which is great, but I wanted some shut eye). I opted out of a suite because the only available suite was on the street side , so I reserved a smaller room, but I knew it would be quieter. Two days prior to my arrival, I received an email from the manager saying that I had been " upgraded" to a suite as their had been an "incident" in my reserved room and I would not be able to stay there. I assumed that because I had given the hotel specific instructions regarding not wanting to be street side that this would not be an issue. The room that they assigned us was precisely the very one that the reservations person and I had spoken of when I was making my initial reservation and I had opted out of this room (corner suite, street side).
the first night that I was there We got about 4 hours sleep and the second night about 3. The final night of our stay we were awakened so many times by street cleaners, partiers and cars and trucks honking that we decided to get up after trying to fall asleep and checked out without any sleep whatsoever! I have never not been able to sleep in a hotel my whole adult life! One can certainly expect, from time to time that you end up with a noisy neighbor or even street traffic noise until the wee hours, but this experience was the worst by far of any hotel that we have ever stayed in.
Be warned - hotel Nelligan is in the old port on rue St. Paul ( which is why we chose this hotel the first time) but we lucked out with the room assignment the first stay. The hotel lobby and restaurant and bar are pleasant and the rooms are clean, but make certain that you reserve a room away from the street and if they email you with a "free upgrade", beware you may not wish to take it for it may be one of the fabulous suites on the street!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sincerely sorry to hear that your experience with us was not up to your expectations and that you did not get the restful stay that you were hoping for.

I agree with you that we should have been more cautious when we assigned your room and verify if the possibility of honoring your request of a quiet room away from the street was available. I have not read in your review that you had addressed the issue to the Front desk after your first night. I am convinced that the team would have done anything to accommodate you and you wouldn’t have to endure the street noise during the entire stay.

I understand that we cannot change what already happened but the team and myself hope to have the opportunity to welcome you once again.

Sincerely,

Guillermo Coronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in a nearby, and much more expensive hotel, that we found disappointing. We switched to the Nelligan for our last two nights and had a wonderful time.

The overall feel of the Petite Suite is significantly nicer than a nearby room costing 2x more. Between the bellman, reception, bar, restaurant, and room service, we interacted with at least eight or nine people. Everyone was wonderful.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days (split into two halves) in October, and loved it. We had a petite suite because I had recently had a hip replacement, and wanted a walk-in shower. The shower was the best we have ever had--the controls at one end, the showerhead at the other, so you did not get doused in cold water while adjusting it. A large grab handle, somewhere to put the soap, and a *non-slip floor*!--small details, but how rare to find them attended to. This attention to detail was characteristic--the hotel has been beautifully designed and is a pleasure to live in. The bedroom was huge, well furnished, and well lit (though another light by the armchairs would have been welcome to those of us who read rather than watch TV). Bed was supremely comfy. The downstairs lounge, with huge leather sofas and open fire, was a great place to read after breakfast. The staff were extraordinarily helpful and welcoming (especially Dan).
The downside was the restaurants--we asked the first night to be booked into the 'brasserie', and if that was not available, into the main restaurant. When we came down at 7.30, the young female receptionist told us, with some fluster, that the brasserie was full, but for some unexplained reason she had *not* booked us into the restaurant, which was full as well, and the result was we had to pile out on to a rainy street looking for dinner at a time when most of the local restaurants were already full. When we did eventually eat in the hotel, we found the main restaurant pretentious and, frankly, not very good--too many 'dishes for two' on the menu (and could you eat a whole roast duck between two people?), which limits choice, too much foie gras (which we don't eat, on animal welfare grounds--and who could eat foie gras with poutine?). As for the 'brasserie', it was more like a disco: the music was absolutely deafening, whether it was recorded rock or live country and western. We saw four (young) people arrive and leave withitn three minutes, apparently because of the noise. Food was adequate but not special. Never again.
So, if you bypass the restaurants (and there are lots of alternatives on this street alone), this is *the* place to stay in Old Montreal; we'll certainly stay there on a return visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing outward to the street will probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I had only a day and 1/2 to spend in Montreal and we chose Hotel Nelligan based on TripAdvisor reviews. We were so pleased. From the moment we drove up to the very last doorman opening the door when we left. Everyone was very nice, with the perfect combo of professionalism, efficiency and courteousness. Our room was in the 'old' section and we loved the brick walls, jacuzzi bath and comfortable bed. Our view was of the Notre Dame tower. It was snowing some of the time. Really gorgeous and romantic. We ate at the restaurant and had one of the best dining experiences that we can remember.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My wife and I had taken a few days for a romantic weekend- left our son at home with his grandparents. We chose this place because of the reviews on Tripadvisor and its inclusion in T&L's list of great hotels. It did not disappoint.

We had a petite suite- and enjoyed it thoroughly. The room was spacious with a large King and a fake fireplace. At the recommendation of other people on Tripadvisor, we stayed on the 4th floor looking out- which was a great suggestion. You could see the river and above the rooftops.

The shower was great- full spa bathtub. The room is stylish and warm.

Staff was helpful across the board from checkin to check out. The concierge recommended both a good spa and a great restaurant (L'Original).

Great location- we walked everywhere for 3 days and didn't leave Old Montreal.

We did not eat at the hotel so I can't speak to it. The only bad aspect of the hotel was getting there. There had been 2' of snow the previous few days and the entire Old Montreal area was a mess - snowplows everywhere.

Room Tip: go with the fourth floor- looking towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

A very sweet hotel, staff is excellent - the concierge couldn't have been more helpful.
Our room on the 3rd floor had a king bed, jacuzzi and (fake) fireplace.
We did face the atrium - very noisy from the disco below - thumping music until 2 am.
Nice cozy lounge area on the main floor with big chairs and couches to relax in.
There are two restaurants - and bar service can be slow if it's busy.
Fantastic location for walking to attractions, restaurants and museums.
Lots of art galleries up and down the street - feels just like a little european city.

Room Tip: Stay away from the atrium rooms at the weekend - disco fever will keep you awake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.