We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely room and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
landsick
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely room and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were fortunate enough to stay at the Hotel Nelligan recently and we were very pleased with our choice. Located near the Notre Dame cathedral in old city, we valeted our car and walked everywhere we wanted to go.

The room was a junior suite with a fire place and when we entered they had beautiful classical music playing, the room was very clean and we sat in front of the gas fireplace and read for a while.

They have a large jacuzzi tub which was very relaxing. They also have a large separate shower.

The bed was very comfortable and the staff were all very accomodating.

We had drinks in the lounge and enjoyed the atmosphere. We also ate at the Mechant Boeuf which was quite good. All in all, a wonderful 2 night stay.

The only thing that was lacking was a coffee maker in the room. I hate having to get up and dressed in the morning to go in search of coffee.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,065
    293
    56
    35
    14
See reviews for
132
859
41
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The front desk and valet staff provided excellent service. We were upgraded to a suite facing St-Paul street. It had an enhanced old world setting. Thank you Dan, the view and the ambiance was extraordinary. There are also rooms in another section of the hotel that offer a modern decor. This is a charming hotel with comfortable and well appointed common areas. The continental breakfast was very good. It had a good selection to satisfy most individuals and families alike.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed one night for business in December 2012. Because of my flight schedule, arrived quite early on a Saturday morning, about 5 hours early for my meetings. The staff were quite accommodating and had a room available early so I could get some rest before the meetings started. The a la carte breakfast was excellent and the servers quite attentive. The food was excellent throughout the weekend. The room was large and exceeded my expectation. The only thing to be aware of is that the street noise due to the adjacent club during the early hours on the weekend was pronounced (as the staff advised me), but overall didn't bother me too bad. It is a big city after all. If you're a light sleeper, you shouldn't seek a room fronting the street, but the staff were great about giving me the choice to stay in this room or not. Continental breakfast and lunch the next day continued to exceed expectations. The staff appeared to have attention to detail and genuine concern and care for their clientele.

Room Tip: If street noise is a problem for you, request a room that doesn't front the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fantastic hotel with a wonderful staff. Terrific location with easy access to shopping, restaurants, and all of the architecture of Old Montreal. I cannot say enough about how great our stay was, and to top it off, it was incredibly romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was at the property for 1 night and was lucky to recieve a upgrade from the standard room. The cost was reasonable and the service amazing. If you stay at this property please eat at thier restaurant.

The rooms are specious and of all my stays around Canada I think this is one of the best properties I have ever stayed

Room Tip: take the suites if the difference is not much as the experience is amazing. especially the jet spa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Hotel Nelligan is wonderfully smallish but not too small a boutique hotel. It is situated right in the heart of Old Montreal, so if you are there on business or pleasure you are well located. (we were there for both) The lobby and restaurant are very plush and charming. You are loured to sit by the fire and enjoy a drink or snacks any time of day. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Because of the location you can walk almost anywhere you would like to go. The food in the restaurant was excellent and so was the service and you are only a few blocks from Marche' La Villette, a local and tourist favorite bakery, cafe'. Great place to eat. And steps from many other great places to eat or have a drink.

The atmosphere at the Nelli is very comfortable and the rooms are large enough. (standard room) Not much of a view in our room, but we didn't spend all that much time in it. Internet was free and worked great anywhere. The bed would give the Weston's a run for their money. Extremely comfortable and the room well laid out. My only complaint was the washroom. For some inexplicable reason the toilet was right across from the shower door which did not allow for the class shower door to fully open. In fact it kept smashing into it. I thought I was going to break it one time. Yet there is this very large space right beside the shower where it looks like the toilet should have gone? I'm not sure if this was just in my room, or standard in the standard rooms, but it looks like the plumbers made a mistake. We also assumed there would be a tub, but alas there was none. My wife prefers the tub in a hotel. But other then that, I would highly recommend the Hotel Nelligan to anyone who graves a smaller but elegant hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed a Hotel Nelligan for a night in the middle of November based on trip advisor reviews and my wife's previous stay on a business trip. Excellent service. Beautiful hotel.

My only recommendation would be to plan out parking beforehand. The hotel was on a very narrow street with parallel parked cars. There is a reserved spot for the hotel directly across from the front door - they will run out and valet your vehicle (just wish I knew beforehand so I could have avoided going around the block trying to figure it out).

Overall excellent. Great location, right in old Montreal - very close to many great restaurants and walking distance to great attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 780 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#6 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 stars 656 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#6 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.