We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience! Well worth the stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Suite Retreat
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience! Well worth the stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The front desk and valet staff provided excellent service. We were upgraded to a suite facing St-Paul street. It had an enhanced old world setting. Thank you Dan, the view and the ambiance was extraordinary. There are also rooms in another section of the hotel that offer a modern decor. This is a charming hotel with comfortable and well appointed common areas. The continental breakfast was very good. It had a good selection to satisfy most individuals and families alike.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    916
    260
    49
    33
    14
See reviews for
111
751
37
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed one night for business in December 2012. Because of my flight schedule, arrived quite early on a Saturday morning, about 5 hours early for my meetings. The staff were quite accommodating and had a room available early so I could get some rest before the meetings started. The a la carte breakfast was excellent and the servers quite attentive. The food was excellent throughout the weekend. The room was large and exceeded my expectation. The only thing to be aware of is that the street noise due to the adjacent club during the early hours on the weekend was pronounced (as the staff advised me), but overall didn't bother me too bad. It is a big city after all. If you're a light sleeper, you shouldn't seek a room fronting the street, but the staff were great about giving me the choice to stay in this room or not. Continental breakfast and lunch the next day continued to exceed expectations. The staff appeared to have attention to detail and genuine concern and care for their clientele.

Room Tip: If street noise is a problem for you, request a room that doesn't front the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Fantastic hotel with a wonderful staff. Terrific location with easy access to shopping, restaurants, and all of the architecture of Old Montreal. I cannot say enough about how great our stay was, and to top it off, it was incredibly romantic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was at the property for 1 night and was lucky to recieve a upgrade from the standard room. The cost was reasonable and the service amazing. If you stay at this property please eat at thier restaurant.

The rooms are specious and of all my stays around Canada I think this is one of the best properties I have ever stayed

Room Tip: take the suites if the difference is not much as the experience is amazing. especially the jet spa b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

The Hotel Nelligan is wonderfully smallish but not too small a boutique hotel. It is situated right in the heart of Old Montreal, so if you are there on business or pleasure you are well located. (we were there for both) The lobby and restaurant are very plush and charming. You are loured to sit by the fire and enjoy a drink or snacks any time of day. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful. Because of the location you can walk almost anywhere you would like to go. The food in the restaurant was excellent and so was the service and you are only a few blocks from Marche' La Villette, a local and tourist favorite bakery, cafe'. Great place to eat. And steps from many other great places to eat or have a drink.

The atmosphere at the Nelli is very comfortable and the rooms are large enough. (standard room) Not much of a view in our room, but we didn't spend all that much time in it. Internet was free and worked great anywhere. The bed would give the Weston's a run for their money. Extremely comfortable and the room well laid out. My only complaint was the washroom. For some inexplicable reason the toilet was right across from the shower door which did not allow for the class shower door to fully open. In fact it kept smashing into it. I thought I was going to break it one time. Yet there is this very large space right beside the shower where it looks like the toilet should have gone? I'm not sure if this was just in my room, or standard in the standard rooms, but it looks like the plumbers made a mistake. We also assumed there would be a tub, but alas there was none. My wife prefers the tub in a hotel. But other then that, I would highly recommend the Hotel Nelligan to anyone who graves a smaller but elegant hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed a Hotel Nelligan for a night in the middle of November based on trip advisor reviews and my wife's previous stay on a business trip. Excellent service. Beautiful hotel.

My only recommendation would be to plan out parking beforehand. The hotel was on a very narrow street with parallel parked cars. There is a reserved spot for the hotel directly across from the front door - they will run out and valet your vehicle (just wish I knew beforehand so I could have avoided going around the block trying to figure it out).

Overall excellent. Great location, right in old Montreal - very close to many great restaurants and walking distance to great attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Great Hotel, excellent location, beautiful interior spaces, great rooms and other amenities. Just the right size hotel and a memorable experience. The staff was professional and very helpful. Helping us plot a walking trip to see Habitat and the Expo '67 grounds was a treat. It was a wonderful trip to Montreal, though cold and rainy, we had a wonderful time and ran back to the hotel each evening to a great room and other hotel amenities. Will certainly go back there the next time we are in Montreal.
Doug & Pat Z (Seattle, WA) Give the experience and hotel a 5 star.

Room Tip: 4th floor in the newer section. Must be ambulatory as there are steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Business Hotel in Montreal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.