We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Nelligan back in August and I must say, it was THE best service I have ever received at a hotel. Dan and Mathieu at the front desk handled any and every issue issue I had while staying there. Overall the staff was extremely professional. The accommodations were quite comfortable and the location is just about perfect. It is very close to both the water front and the subway. I hoping to go back to Montreal sometime in the future and I can tell you this is the only place I will stay. Great Value for the rooms and terrific service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    244
    46
    32
    13
See reviews for
106
703
36
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had the most amazing weekend here visiting Montreal for the first time; I wouldn't have wanted to stay in any other hotel. The ambience was nothing short of perfection. It is cozy yet sophisticated and romantic. The exposed brick was my favorite detail of their beautiful decor and paired with a roaring fire, creates a perfect atmosphere. The staff was so friendly and accommodating which, made all the difference in a new place and unfamiliar language. They made wonderful reccommendations and were so attentive, could not have asked for more. The hotel is also in the best location, surrounded by great restaurants and shops. I cannot wait to revist this beautiful city, especially to stay in this amazing hotel!
Katie & Chris

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Wonderful ambiance, Friendly helpful staff. Thanks Daniel & Natalie. Your we're always there to help out. A terrific location in the heart of old Montreal surrounded with a remarkable range of Restuarants offering a range of cuisine. A block from Notre Dame and the Waterfront.
The Hotel's three heritage buildings have been skillfully interconnected to offer a rich variety of beautifully decorated interiors. A lovely hotel, with a wonderful range of extraordinary room, shapes types and sizes.Each room is unique with furnishings that are sumptuous and warm. Simple room heating controls and operable heritage windows allow the guest to have the room temperature to their personal taste.
The heritage buildings add to the uniqueness. Room locations offer views to the West, North and East. A rare treat! A home away from home. The compliment of both warm welcoming, intimate lobby combined with the lovely bar lounge provides lots of opportunity to relax away from the room. The restaurant is a beautiful addition and again offers choices.
Well done Hotel Nelligan and it's owners and your team. It's obvious that the staff are equally proud to have such a wonderful hotel to share with their guests.
Suggestions. Great time between seasons to check all fittings and furnitures for lose door latches, furniture feet, lightbulbs. Also found the pillows while great for the big king beds for reading too big , or springy plump to use for sleeping.
Keep up the excellent work. Enjoy your staff party. You deserve it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

After reviewing online reviews for hotels in Montreal we selected Hotel Nelligan due to it's location and value. It is a perfect spot in the middle of all the Old Montreal activities and restaurants. If you are going to Montreal with friends or your spouse I recommend this hotel because it is a perfect blend of style, location, vibe and amenities. Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor which helped with any concern over street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night only while on a business trip to Montreal and wish I could have extended my stay. The rooms were lovely with exposed brick walls and the most comfortable bed ever! Really amazing small hotel in the old Montreal. Great rooftop bar! Close to all the tourist spots and some really great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london england
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

For our last two nights in Montreal, we booked a room at Hotel Nelligan choosing a special deal which offered a 2nd night at half price.

When we arrived, the receptionist asked if we would like a much larger room for an extra $ 25 a night + tax which seemed reasonable so we agreed. The room was huge (406) with a king size bed, fireplace, writing desk, cd/radio, large flat screen tv, comfortable sofa and chairs and being on a corner, a view over Rue Saint Paul (but high enough not to be bothered by any street/traffic noise).

The bathroom has a separate walk in shower and a jacuzzi bath (and this is where our only problem started). We couldn't get the tap to work and could only fill the bath slowly through the hand held shower that was attached.

We complained to the front desk and within a few minutes one of the repair staff arrived, but couldn't manage a repair that evening. Reception offered to move us to a different room but on considering this option, we decided to stay where we were as we didn't feel like re-packing clothes etc. A few minutes after telling Reception of our decision, a bell boy arrived with a beautifully packaged tray of cookies and a note of apology from the management.

We weren't expecting this as we had declined a perfectly reasonable offer of room change. However, this problem resolution got better than we could have imagined. When we checked out, I queried why we hadn't been charged for breakfasts and was told that they had decided to waive the charge due to our being inconvenienced - they even apologised for not telling us before checking out.

This little incident was handled in a really professional way and with great charm and courtesy and my wife and I would like to thank everyone involved especially Virginie and Maude the concierge.

Everyone we came into contact at Hotel Nelligan smiled, offered help and advice and seemed to be there for the guests - as a hotel should be, but not always the case.

We received a free welcoming drink in the bar and the buffet breakfast was pretty good although the standard coffee was a bit weak for my wife's taste.

We had a great time in Quebec and the two days at Hotel Nelligan ended our holiday o a very high note. We can highly recommend this hotel for business and holiday stays and I'm sure that the bath tap in 406 was repaired very quickly. Stay here when in Montreal, we will if we go back.

Room Tip: We saw one of the smaller cheaper rooms and it looked fine, but if you can get a good deal on the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I are from Montreal but now live in Ontario. We go back to our hometown at least twice a year and choose Hotel Nelligan to stay. It offers the best location, service, rate for your money and best overall services we can dream of. On our last two visits, we were upgraded to a nicer room but they are all fabulous. Hotel Nelligan is a home away from home.

Hélène & Simon, Orleans, ON

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#9 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.