We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #4 of 164 hotels in Montreal
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night only while on a business trip to Montreal and wish I could have extended my stay. The rooms were lovely with exposed brick walls and the most comfortable bed ever! Really amazing small hotel in the old Montreal. Great rooftop bar! Close to all the tourist spots and some really great restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    846
    236
    46
    32
    13
See reviews for
106
690
34
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london england
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

For our last two nights in Montreal, we booked a room at Hotel Nelligan choosing a special deal which offered a 2nd night at half price.

When we arrived, the receptionist asked if we would like a much larger room for an extra $ 25 a night + tax which seemed reasonable so we agreed. The room was huge (406) with a king size bed, fireplace, writing desk, cd/radio, large flat screen tv, comfortable sofa and chairs and being on a corner, a view over Rue Saint Paul (but high enough not to be bothered by any street/traffic noise).

The bathroom has a separate walk in shower and a jacuzzi bath (and this is where our only problem started). We couldn't get the tap to work and could only fill the bath slowly through the hand held shower that was attached.

We complained to the front desk and within a few minutes one of the repair staff arrived, but couldn't manage a repair that evening. Reception offered to move us to a different room but on considering this option, we decided to stay where we were as we didn't feel like re-packing clothes etc. A few minutes after telling Reception of our decision, a bell boy arrived with a beautifully packaged tray of cookies and a note of apology from the management.

We weren't expecting this as we had declined a perfectly reasonable offer of room change. However, this problem resolution got better than we could have imagined. When we checked out, I queried why we hadn't been charged for breakfasts and was told that they had decided to waive the charge due to our being inconvenienced - they even apologised for not telling us before checking out.

This little incident was handled in a really professional way and with great charm and courtesy and my wife and I would like to thank everyone involved especially Virginie and Maude the concierge.

Everyone we came into contact at Hotel Nelligan smiled, offered help and advice and seemed to be there for the guests - as a hotel should be, but not always the case.

We received a free welcoming drink in the bar and the buffet breakfast was pretty good although the standard coffee was a bit weak for my wife's taste.

We had a great time in Quebec and the two days at Hotel Nelligan ended our holiday o a very high note. We can highly recommend this hotel for business and holiday stays and I'm sure that the bath tap in 406 was repaired very quickly. Stay here when in Montreal, we will if we go back.

Room Tip: We saw one of the smaller cheaper rooms and it looked fine, but if you can get a good deal on the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans, Ont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I are from Montreal but now live in Ontario. We go back to our hometown at least twice a year and choose Hotel Nelligan to stay. It offers the best location, service, rate for your money and best overall services we can dream of. On our last two visits, we were upgraded to a nicer room but they are all fabulous. Hotel Nelligan is a home away from home.

Hélène & Simon, Orleans, ON

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The front desk team was very knowledgable, pleasant, genuine and helpful. Restaurant suggestions were exactly what we had hoped to find. We dined at Verses our first night and thoroughly enjoyed it – the wine suggested was lovely and not too pricey. The complementary arrival cocktail is a welcoming touch. We appreciated the room décor and spaciousness. We haven't had the opportunity to spend much time in Montreal but are looking forward to returning soon and will plan on staying at the Nelligan again.

Room Tip: Our room had a fireplace - a nice touch for a November stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a great stay, great location, beautiful room, nice roof top restaurant w beautiful view.
Can't get better location- wise.
We stayed in one of their smaller suites. think all rooms are good, but their smaller rooms they call "suites" however, it's not typical "suite" meaning there is no living area and bedroom. It's like a very upgraded studio.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are good, but their smaller rooms they call "suites" however, it's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Hotel Nelligan was a wonderful find and the perfect place to celebrate my wife's "notable" birthday. From arrival to second departure (we had to return to retrieve our passports that were securely locked in the safety deposit box- sigh), it was one of the friendliest, clean, comfortable, most customer-service oriented places we've ever visited. The room was wonderful with its stone wall and subtle art nouveau appointments. Maude, the concierge, was extremely helpful and delightful. And the surprise champagne in celebration of my wife's birthday in addition to the welcome cocktail was very thoughtful. If there was any advice I might offer other than to feel most assured you'll love it, it would be to avoid the street-side rooms on weekends when noise may travel upward.

Room Tip: If there was any advice I might offer other than to feel most assured you'll love it, it would b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I attended a conference being held at the Nelligan and brought my wife and 3 year old son along with me over 4 days in Montreal. The room was beautiful and very conveniently arranged for a business traveller, and the hotel itself is cozy but surprisingly large considering its location in old Montreal. It actually seems larger on the inside than it appears from the outside. The staff was universally friendly and helpful, and all three of us felt at home. According to my wife, the breakfast buffet is not to be missed. The Nelligan is a higher-end hotel than one we would normally stay at if I wasn't traveling on business, and the indulgence was quite a treat. I hope that the conference is here again next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nelligan's elegant accommodations pair century-old stone walls with a chic, modern decor. Natural light flows through the 44 rooms, 59 suites and 2 penthouses, while stately furnishings and high-end amenities punctuate the ambiance. The hotel perfectly accommodates groups with its expansive ballroom (fits up to 400) and 4 modern conference spaces. In the lobby, a regal, four-story atrium provides the perfect respite for an afternoon drink while adjoining Verses Restaurant offers a market-fresh menu. And for a taste of Montreal's mischievous side, Mechant Boeuf serves up delicious cocktails and great music nightly! Room service is also available. Finally, situated atop the elegant property, Terrasse Nelligan delivers unmatched city views! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.