We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nelligan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nelligan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nelligan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Directly - 10% OFF
Ranked #3 of 168 hotels in Montreal
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Myself my wife and 2 friends enjoyed a 1 night stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and the accomodations were clean, beautiful and huge. We had been asked when we checked in if we would like to upgrade to a premium room, for a cost of $25.00 which we happily agreed to. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked out that the extra charges had been waved. Not necessary but greatly appreciated. We had dinner reservations elsewhere so we didn't get a chance to try the restaurant but it sure smelled good when we passed through the lobby. I guess we will have to return if for no other reason than to try the food which we will be happy to do. Also the hotel is in a great location and there is lots to see within walking distance. I'm looking forward to our return.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade. The rooms a really spacious and will cost you little or nothing if you're l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    818
    217
    42
    32
    12
See reviews for
96
655
32
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

In reading other reviews, I have to laugh: One reviewer said their back room was noisy because of garbage trucks and such in the morning, another said their interior-facing room was noisy because of bar music and conversation at night—and our room, facing the street, was also incredibly noisy! People were shouting and talking outside the bar across the street till 4 am; I tried to sleep with a pillow over my head. To be sure, it was a nice, soft pillow. And the room was huge and comfortable; the bathroom very nice, with a 2-person jacuzzi. We thought the restaurant was good for dinner, if pricey; and we did enjoy a drink on the rooftop terrace. But I can't recommend this hotel if you like to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are sincerely sorry that you did not live the experience that you were expecting. The Old Montreal area is always full of activity during the summer and it can easily become noisy due to our cobblestone streets and all the visitors wandering by. We try to inform all guests of the noise possibility and I can assure you that we do our best to assign the quietest rooms. However, it is sometimes complex due to the high occupancy of the hotel.

We sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you once again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can make sure that there is no repetition of your experience.

Regards,

Guillermo Coronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The location of this hotel is perfect - right in the heart of Old Montreal and close walking distance to everything in that area as well as the Metro. We had a larger room with a gas fireplace and spa, and took advantage of a special running for those staying a minimum of three nights. The concierge, front desk staff and front door staff were all helpful and very friendly and natural. The building is very unassuming from the outside and has exposed brick, a lovely atrium with comfy leather chairs. We'd definitely return!

Room Tip: Our room was spacious with a fireplace facing Rue St Paul. They had warned us it might be noisy lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Fantastic hotel, not unlike the Hotel du Vin/Malmaison chain in the UK.

Front desk staff Nathalia and Mathieu very fantastic and made our stay very enjoyable with their general demeanour and advice. The room was large and well appointed as was the bathroom. We didn't eat in the restaurant but the bar service was amusingly French.

We would stay there again and would recommend it to anyone wishing to stay for a couple of nights in Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Ah, we have the highly touted Hotel Nelligan--rated in the top 15 of all Hotels in Montreal. But don't believe it!! The location is superb and the decor rather well done--but that is truly just a superficial ploy. Checked into the room with no problems, did notice that our room was dimly lit--lighting must be costly. Since it was in the afternoon, decided to go to the roof top and have a few drinks. Well that ambience is something to behold! The aluminum chairs are from the 50's, there is hardly any view (probably only 3 to 5 seated couples could actually see the St.
Lawrence River), and the drinks are costly.
That evening we decided to eat at a nearby restaurant rather than consuming Nellie's food. I decided we could use their restaurant lthe next day in order to have a decent breakfast. However I discovered that its buffet costs over $20 per person-- that surely did seem excessive. So I missed out on their food. Upon refIection, I did notice that the restaurant in the evening was fairly empty and the breakfast line was pretty sparse.
Checking out is pure "sticker shock." The room was not inexpensive and then added to my cost was a 20% tax. The US is bad enough, but not that bad! To add cost upon cost, I wanted to pay part of my bill with cash--an American $100 bill--but at ole Nellie it is worth only $95. (I had an extra $5 Canadian bill so I just paid the extra amount.) I would have rather used the Canadian note to tip the Valet instead of giving it away to Nellie's management team.
Overall a nice hotel but not worthy of the high ratings it receives. Just remember Ole Nellie costs a lot for its few services and even fewer amenities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-Nelligan, General Manager at Hotel Nelligan, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Flint,

After discussing your disappointment regarding the effective exchange rate with our management team, your comments were taken seriously and made us question whether we are surcharging our American guests.

We therefore looked to see how much it costs our hotel to exchange US dollars into Canadian at our CIBC bank branch. Buying 100 CAD on July 30th would have cost us 103 USD with CIBC; we charge 105 USD for 100 CAD in order to cover administration costs related to foreign currency transactions. The purpose of the additional 2% administration charge is not to make profit, but to cover the cost of administering the currency exchanges.

We also questioned ourselves whether for high-end hotels, it is normal practice to charge a small administration fee or instead absorb any such costs. To find out, we looked at similar properties to ours as well as American operated hotels in Montreal. We were reassured to find out that we charge the same or less than our competitors who typically charge a 5% administration fee on these transactions. The same holds true for Canadian dollar transactions at hotels in the US.

We hope you understand that it is in no way our intention to be condescending towards American money; the administration fee applied is the same on all foreign currency as they are subject to specific costs. We also cannot do anything concerning our taxes even though we wish we could.


I would like to thank you for having taken the time to express your disappointment, and I hope that I have managed to give you a clear and honest explanation of our currency exchange practices.

Sincerely,

Guillermo Coronel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

For context, we have lived in 5 countries on 4 contients and travelled in approx 70 others on 5 continents.

Anyone who knows Canada, knows that its greatest asset is its people. The Nelligan has taken the cream of those great people as its staff. Add to this, a perfect location and a superb, characterfull, evocative design, at a value-for-money price and you dont need to look at any other location in Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewell, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Large comfortable bed, clean rooms, modern feel and a great location in Old Montreal. But the best part about Hotel Nellgian is the staff....they were amazing. I especially recommend speaking with Nathalia, she was incredible. Typically, most hotel staff give spotty recommendations but Nathalia was 4-4, she was spot on every time. Following her suggestions landed me the best lamb I've ever eaten while listening to live jazz,...and have you ever heard of a Beaver tail dessert? Neither did I until she recommended it....and it did not disappoint! In short, if your thinking of staying here do it, you will not be disappointed! And if you are lucky enough to speak with Nathalia, it will be just that much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nelligan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nelligan

Address: 106 Saint Paul St W, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#3 Family Hotel in Montreal
#5 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nelligan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Europe at your doorstep. A building that’s over a hundred years old, traditional brick walls, French cuisine, Hôtel Nelligan exudes European elegance. 105 luxurious rooms, incomparable charm and a unique experience await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nelligan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nelligan Hotel Montreal
Hotel Nelligan Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nelligan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.