We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big In Japan

Big In Japan
3723 St-Laurent, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #805 of 4,562 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Irricana, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Not an easy place to find, which is why I love it! Have had many business drinks and snacks here. The Japanese whiskey is not my absolute favorite, but with Blanton's bourbon and a wide range of cocktails this is a top notch place to have a drink! Highly recommended if you can find it :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    14
    6
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hidden spot for a unique time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This place is hard to find!! But that added to the fun and speakeasy feel the place had to offer.

I thought I was entering the backdoor of a restaurant kitchen but was surprised by a sweet little spot with very nice decor!

Cocktails were proper. Aperol spritz and negroni were particularly delicious. Staff were welcoming and personable.

I'll be back and would suggest a visit to anyone looking for a place to have a drink someplace other than your cookie-cutter bar!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“VERY BAD”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

first of all, the wait was very long. the dishes are way overpriced. ramen nuddles with some ground meat and salad is 21$. the wine is very highly priced, even compared to other montreal's upscale restaurants. the Crispy pork ordered is not crispy pork, but simply breaded pork which was so dry it was impossible to chew. I got to say, i was excited to try it, because i heard some good reviews, but what i got was horrible experience. On top of that my boyfrind got sick after eating there. not comming back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fun bar on St laurent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Came with couple of friend. very casual spot.. fun bar with a nice decor! on st laurent street near all the other bar and restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

What a fun bar after dinner. We were recommended to come by our restaurant. It is a fun and unique bar.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big In Japan also viewed

Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to Big In Japan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big In Japan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.