We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Van Gogh to Kadinsky
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days in August 2013. Place was in a great location and the rooms were very nice.
After we had stayed at a marvellous location in Vancouver the week prior we were thinking we may be due for a let down, but not so.

The staff were very nice and could not find fault with this great hotel.
Made our stay in Montreal so much nicer.

Reg Claybrook

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    884
    378
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
536
306
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here for about 10 days two years ago and loved it, so this is really an update. We spent two nights this time, one at each end of a trip to QC, and both times it was like coming home. The location is just fabulous. We lucked out again with Place des Spectacles - this time there was the World Film Festival and we walked down for ice cream and watched Hitchcock's Rear Window (free - sitting on the ground). The hotel is clean and comfortable, and the pool on the roof is just so lovely.
They knew we had stayed with them before when we checked in the first time and welcomed us back, asked if we remembered about the pool and the breakfast. The second time we had a room with a sleeper sofa and teen guy said he'd prefer a bed. They very kindly changed us to a room with two double beds.
I saw the concierge in action this time and if you need anything do go and ask. He was so patient and willing to explain to folks about how to use the metro and how long to spend seeing the sights.
Reminder for those of you who like to make your own lunch: there's an IGA in the Complexe Desjardins on Rene Levesque a few blocks east. We got cheese, rolls, wine...
I'm so glad to be able to recommend Le Square Phillips again!

Room Tip: Well, if you can figure out how to get a room on the west side, you will have a view of the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My husband and I recently went to Montreal for vacation and stayed in this great hotel. First of all, the location is perfect! Right in downtown but close enough to walk to Old Montreal and Mont Royal. Near plenty of shopping and restaurants. Near the Metro as well. The front desk and valet are very nice and helpful. You do pay for parking but it is a decent price and there is valet. We did not use our car the entire time due to the convenient location.
The room is huge and clean. We stayed in a room with a king sized bed, comfy chair and ottoman, table and chairs, full kitchen, and large bathroom. There is also a safe in the room.
The top floor has an indoor pool and an outside rooftop deck. There is a decent size exercise room and laundry room. The second floor has the cafe that serves a free breakfast every morning. The breakfast is continental but serves its purpose.

Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My family just returned from a week long stay in the Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites in Montreal. This hotel was not listed in our Fodor's book so we were a little hesitant when we booked. We scored on this hotel. The location is between 2 subway stations, a 15 minute walk to the Old Town and close enough to Mont Royale park to make it part of your morning exercise routine. The staff was really helpful and friendly. 24 hour concierge, onsite coin operated laundry, exercise room and rooftop pool with patio. The glass-enclosed pool and outdoor roof-top lounge chairs were really very nice for unwinding at the end of a day of sightseeing. We had a suite with a reasonably functional kitchen, including oven, stove, microwave, pots and pans. I ran to the Fou D'Ici (~ 4 blocks away) for marinated steaks and pre-made salads and produce for eating in the suite at night. The SAQ is next door to Fou D'ici where I picked up a $18 bottle of burgundy wine. Two doors down there is a 2nd Cup for lattes and a pizza place with an awesome grilled salad. The guys in the restaurant were really nice. It just worked very well for my family. We like to explore during the day, eat a nice lunch out but then have a simple meal in the hotel if we have a kitchen. It was very easy to do here. The included breakfast is mostly carbs but they did have some whole wheat toast and some fruit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed 1 night on a business trip. Room was spacious and comfortable bed with full kitchen and dining table. Close to US Consulate. Do NOT park overnight at the parking lot behind the hotel (safeway parking). Our car was broken into and the window was shattered.
Use the hotel valet parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was there for a conference and this hotel was great. It was very close to the convention center. The concierge desk was very helpful and gave us some great recommendations for places to eat. The rooms are spacious and I loved having access to a refrigerator during my stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We booked for 2 nights while visiting as part of a tour.
Room was upgraded from Junior to Family suite & was MASSIVE !
Two bedrooms / lounge area / full kitchen with dining table & large bathroom.
Used pool on both days - no changing rooms & water was on the chilly side but high up & nice views with a terrace. Complimentary continental breakfast was OK Ideal for our needs
Short walk to old town / Rue Catherine . Highly recommend for those who need space.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
#11 Business Hotel in Montreal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.