We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary hotel despite the good reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada (Ville-Marie)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sweet Deal
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Ordinary hotel despite the good reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We've stayed in this hotel for a couple of days. The GPS has some problems getting you to the correct place since it is located near a square with the same name, but it is easy to find when you are close to the square. The rooms are good, ordinary rooms and clean (very important). The lobby has not much to see. The location is really in the middle of Montreal hub, just in the downtown, so for business men it will be ideal and a good value for money. For couples like us, it is as mentioned just an ordinary hotel but does provide all you need.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    371
    35
    9
    7
See reviews for
525
296
41
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I spent a couple of nights in Montréal, first at the Embassy Suites and then at the Square Phillips. I booked the latter because of it's high score on Tripadvisor (#4 at this point) and was very disappointed. The room was dull, the building old, and I had a view on a parking lot... It seemed like management wants to save where possible. Breakfast was also disappointing, with a large queue for the buffet and even the food was not tasty. Only nice thing was the pool and the view from the rooftop terrasse.
As said, I would rather recommend the Embassy Suites, which has the same rates and far bigger and more modern rooms, friendlier staff and better overall quality.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This hotel is a perfect base to explore Montreal with a subway stop on the Orange line about a block and half away. The room was large and spacious and the kitchen fully equipped. Nice tub in the bathroom and minimal noise -- usually I only heard someone when they were literally walking by the door, and that was it. Great rooftop views and being in the lap pool while the sun was setting was gorgeous. Front desk reception service was excellent, and every member of the staff was polite and professional. Old Montreal is about a 20 minute walk downhill -- it's the uphill that might exhaust you a bit on a hot day, especially coming up McGill. Great shopping in area, though honestly, I didn't do any of it -- too excited to get on the train and explore. Would definitely stay again, without hesitation!

Room Tip: While breakfast is adequate, there's a Tim Horton's across the street. If you want groceries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Selected this property based on TA reviews and was not disappointed. It is modern, clean and has a very large room/s. Breakfast was a bit of a struggle at times with the queue for the toaster and no hot food. Very close to shopping precinct.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights with my wife. Spotless, modern, extremely comfortable. Every employee I met was friendly and kind. Breakfast was high quality but simple. Lots of nice restaurants nearby. Great rooftop pool, gym and outdoor seating area. Excellent bedding and A/C. Ideal location for exploring the city by foot or Metro.

Room Tip: Junior Suite was really, really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

Very convenient hotel for people arriving by train. We stayed here with our baby and found the facilities well-suited to a young family. The kitchen was well-equipped, but we had trouble finding a grocery store nearby, and our wine came from a sketchy depanneur -- next time I would come better prepared. The included breakfast was more than adequate. The hotel is located in a converted building (used to be a warehouse, I think). It would be interesting to see more of this featured in the design, beyond the few architectural drawings in the halls.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park Ridge, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Our family of five stayed at the Le Square Phillips for three nights. We were upgraded to a corner two-bedroom suite. It was beyond perfect. Plenty of space just steps away from Rue Saint Catherine shops and the Metro, yet just a short walk to Vieux Montreal. There is even an indoor pool/gym area and an outdoor rooftop sundeck for relaxing after walking throughout the city. Definitely where I'll stay on my next visit to Montreal!

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites

Address: 1193 Place Phillips, Montreal, Quebec H3B 3C9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
#9 Business Hotel in Montreal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Square Phillips Hotel Montreal
Le Square Phillips Hotel And Suites
Le Square Phillips Montreal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.